WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nestor Carbonell is Rumored to Play Khan in "Star Trek" Sequel

Posted: November 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nestor Carbonell is Rumored to Play Khan in "Star Trek" SequelSubmit Comment
Now that "Star Trek" has been released on DVD/Blu-ray, JJ Abrams has been forced to answer many questions about the sequel, mostly about whether fans will see Khan as the villain. Abrams loves the idea of bringing back Khan, but never confirmed that the character will appear in the sequel.

Now, ComingSoon has learned that Abrams has been talking to his writers and producers about which actor could replace Ricardo Montalban, who portrayed the character in the 1982 film "Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan." The name that's at the top of the list is Nestor Carbonell, who plays Richard Alpert on the Abrams-produced ABC series "Lost."

The site added that while Carbonell's name is being thrown around, there is no guarantee that Khan will even be used in Abrams' second installment.

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Eben1277 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:15:12 AM

Don't f*ck with a classic!!!!
burman writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:18:02 AM

Montalban = Legend
m5dmb28 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:20:15 AM

definitely agree with you eben1277, however if they did go through with this i would love to see carbonell play it. he's awesome on lost and would be a great fit for khan
nope.com writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:32:12 AM

why not.. dude was gay enough to play 'Batmanuel' in the Tick
nope.com writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:32:29 AM

KHAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:44:23 AM

they CAAAAAAAANNNNN'T!!!!

nah, seriosuly i don't give the sh*t, do whatever, i trust JJ!
rabid writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:54:00 AM

The moment I heard Khan would be in this I knew they'd pick Nestor.
Better him than Antonio Sabato Jr.
wonderBOY writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 6:20:23 AM

why not the lizard croc in that arena episode or the planet full of nazis or the mafia they were good eps
atn5022 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 7:19:42 AM

nestor is awesome, id love to see him as khan
lawman writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 8:33:44 AM

I dont remember Khan wearing Guy-liner!!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 8:52:30 AM

The pic is a before and after shot of having sex with Lohan.

Kids be warned!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:17:48 AM

I want to see that college humour parody of "starfleet acadamy" happen.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:28:07 AM

I have only one word for this:

- WHOGIVESAf*ck?
warlord writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:37:41 AM

you gots to be kiding
lost_addict writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:44:30 AM

someone on this site suggested once Javier Bardam-best choice imo.

I like Nestor but he is not crazy enough to play khan
SACdaddy writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:55:42 AM

This guy would be a good pick for a young Khan if he can manage to portray some emotions on camera for once. Too bad they already used Bana, he would have been perfect for the part.

Regardless of who plays the role, I'm glad to see JJ floating the idea around. A retelling of how Kirk stranded Khan on City Alpha 6 (or 5) could be really interesting. They may even be able to get 2 good films out of it.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 10:21:13 AM

I am with peter. WHOGIVESAf*ck!

damn trekie nerds need go back to your moms basement and shut the f*ck up.
i3u7n5 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 10:22:20 AM

"Seti" Alpha 5, not city. :)

As far as not messing wit ha classic...I'm prrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrretty sure JJ did just fine revamping characters that were more well known and iconic than Khan, although, he is one of my favorites.
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 10:53:10 AM

Awesome choice..
Bold Wrecks writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:32:34 AM

@Lost_Addict

I think he could be crazy enough to play Khan.

We all didn't think Heath would crazy enough to be able to play the Joker, and he killed it.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:53:57 AM

will nestor be wearing that same wig in this movie?
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 2:11:10 PM

So let's see...

Khan was in the 2nd Star Trek movie...

And they're re:booted,tooled,started (ugh!) this franchise again... new actors, SHOULD BE new stories... and yet...

Khan is to be in this 2nd. movie as well.

Wow. Original Hollywood. Really f*cking original!

3rd. movie... let me guess... LOOKING FOR SPOCK?!?!? 4th... whales (great movie though!)?

I KNOW they say Khan here is just a possibility... but Jesus man... GO DOWN A NEW PATH FOR ONCE AND MAKE YOUR OWN/NEW DESTINY!

How about actually, really, finally going where NO episode or movies has gone before!?
Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 2:14:22 PM

Is that the actor who wore faggity eye liner in The Dark Knight?
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 3:02:28 PM

It was probably fermented man-shot instead of eye-liner.
TheHundreds writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 3:18:30 PM

The first movie made a pretty strong statement that this franchise was going in its own direction, don't think Kahn will be in anything. But Richard would probably be amazing as a different villian in the next.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:14:21 PM

@Ranger- don't forget, Khan made his first appearance on the TV show back in '67. "Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan" was in '82. I get what you're saying about taking the story in a new direction and not just repeating the same outline as the originals, but Khan's first appearance was when the crew was still relatively new, so it could definitely work in the new series. Also, I think Nestor's a good choice, but yeah, leave the eyeliner out
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:40:26 PM

@eViL - yes... the episode 'Space Seed' - and you're right... they have WAY MORE options to explore... it's space, sci-fi, right?

They REALLY need to start thinking outside of the box. Do something 'Matrix'-like (even though The Matrix ripped off Johnny Mnemonic - they still made a lot of stuff... original).

Original Hollywood... ORIGINAL! GET OFF YOUR LAZY ASS AND LOOK THE WORD UP (God knows we fans pay you enough to do so)!
Dre-EL writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 5:47:03 PM

There are so many charaters and stories to choose from why limit it to Kahn.

Its been done move on people.
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 6:13:57 PM

EXACTLY!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 6:38:51 PM

I doubt JJ would kill the goodwill he has built up with the 1st film by simply having the second be a remake of Wrath of Kahn. I bet that JJ will tell a new story that involves the Kahn character as the big baddie, as simply telling the same story over agaiin doesn't seem like JJ's method of operation. Plus, remember that JJ's Trek universe is based upon the idea of alternate realities, so Kahn and his encounters with the Trek gang could be very different. It's not like The Dark Knight was close to being the same story-wise with the original Batman because they both had Joker in them.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 6:39:31 PM

I doubt JJ would kill the goodwill he has built up with the 1st film by simply having the second be a remake of Wrath of Kahn. I bet that JJ will tell a new story that involves the Kahn character as the big baddie, as simply telling the same story over again doesn't seem like JJ's method of operation. Plus, remember that JJ's Trek universe is based upon the idea of alternate realities, so Kahn and his encounters with the Trek gang could be very different. It's not like The Dark Knight was close to being the same story-wise with the original Batman because they both had Joker in them.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 6:40:50 PM

Damn phone! Sorry, double post.
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 7:32:47 PM

Triple post really Douche.

lol.
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 7:33:13 PM

But who's counting?

Whoops... double post!
SACdaddy writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 8:20:27 PM

Hwood is about money. We're all crazy if we think that in rebooting ST Hwood would bypass bring back the most successful plotline in the series. Everybody obviously loved that film the most. Rebooting ST without a Khan would be like rebooting Batman without the Joker. Hey, I've got another shocker for yall, (spoiler alert) there may be Klingons in the next installment. Hope I didn't ruin it for everyone:)
SACdaddy writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 8:24:35 PM

As for the "guyliner" (lol Lawman) the original Khan had man boobs and a perm. Can't get much fruitier than that.
blinkbomber writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:32:28 PM

@DoucheNozzle - thank you. i was about to say the exact same thing. good point.
dhkenobi writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:24:15 PM

You can replace an actor, but you cannot replace a legend.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 11:53:28 PM

I think he could play Khan. But I kinda hope they don't have him in it, they started with the first one so well, trying to put too much that was in the first series of movies messes with classics.
Eben1277 writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 2:50:28 AM

When I say don't f*ck with a classic, I I'm not doubting that something interesting can be done, I'm just say that Wrath of Khan was the only good Star Trek movie until Nemesis came out, and even then it was probably still the best one until the "reboot" happened. Making it better you take away any good the original star trek cast ever accomplished. That and Ricardo Montalban is a legend and cannot be replaced. There can only be one Quentin Papsmear, and only one Khan.
lostwarrior writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 6:14:13 PM

ranger how the f*ck was the 4th star trek film great david f*cked that up beyound belief. im just surprised they didnt go with his script for the reboot of star trek.. wtf man,,
lol
rabid writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 10:05:08 PM

Just like the first one, I'm sure this won't be a straight remake. The premise of the first allows them to rewrite all the old stories. And that doesn't erase those stories. They just exist in an alternate timeline (you can still go rent it at the video store).
Anyway, if it's their first meeting with Khan, then it won't be a reboot of Star Trek 2. They first met Khan when he tried to steal the Enterprise in the original series. Khan is actually from our time. He was frozen in suspended animation a la Simon Phoenix.
Spankfish writes:
on November 20th, 2009 at 2:00:14 PM

Ricardo as Khan was awesome. I watch that film every couple of months(sad, i know).

Maybe they will make him a different type of bad guy this time, as he cant be out for revenge as he wont have met them yet.

It will be interesting to see what happens, as so far a pretty good job has been done of re-booting the Star Trek universe. And lets face it, it can be as bad as Lucus f*cking up everyones childhood memories by releasing The Phantom Menace.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved