WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James McTeigue on "Superman" Reboot

Posted: November 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James McTeigue on "Superman" RebootSubmit Comment
Back in August, director James McTeigue (V for Vendetta, Ninja Assassin) hinted that he might helm the next "Superman" movie and even had some ideas for it that didn't include any of the character's origins.

Unfortunately, Warner Bros has stated several times that it will likely not move forward with a new "Superman" flick anytime soon. And when MTV News caught up with McTeigue, he confirmed that there are no concrete plans for the franchise.

"It's in a weird place at the moment," he said. "They're trying to work out what they're doing. Warner Brothers is trying to figure out their next move on it. There's some things you can do with the 'Superman' franchise, there's other things you can't do. So it hasn't gone anywhere."

McTeigue added that as much as he would love to reboot the franchise, he is not going to sit around waiting for the studio heads to make up their minds. "I think it's ripe for a retooling," he said. "I would love to if it happened, I would at least start a conversation about it."

For now, McTeigue is moving on to his next project, which is "The Raven," a fictionalized take on the last days of Edgar Allen Poe.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 5:46:58 AM

Stop asking this guy about the S project.. it's clear he doesn't know anything more than you and I, damn media
Ari Gold writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 6:34:07 AM

'retooling' these Hollywood types are so clever when it comes to making new words for 'remake.'
Im kinda sleepy but I swear Routh looks like Adrien Brody in that pic, if you look at it like an optical illusion, like start focus on the nose then pan out.
lost_addict writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 10:00:22 AM

god...superman looks so gay in this photo...
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 10:43:59 AM

So this is about nothing then.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 12:28:26 PM

You know I can't figure out why all you guys hate Superman Returns. I seems the same reason some people didn't like Spider-Man. Now I'm a big superhero fan and I think Superman has been getting crap for being emotional. I see how the whole "I have a kid thing" was a bit of a reach but Singer was trying to follow-up the first two Superman films (Superman is seen in bed with Lois in the second one back in 1980 = Lois getting knocked up). SO Singer actually made it great. Besides, if everyone would have stopped bitching about it Singer would have already made another one. I think it would have been how he did X2 after x-Men. He starts out introducing the characters in the first one (In Superman's case, reintroducing him to the audience)and then the second one is amazing after he's gotten that out of the way. And I get Brandon Routh beign cast. He captures the original Superman of Christopher Reeve which was the whole point anyway. The new movie was meant to honor the original man in suit and it did. Give Singer another chance and he'll give the fans his "X2" of Superman!
rabid writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 12:44:50 PM

WB should just adapt their Smallville DC universe to the movies. There's no need to set up two competing comic universes with the same characters, one on tv, the other in the theatre. Because that recent judgement doesn't allow them to use his origin tale anymore, a movie based on Smallville could go someplace completely new, because this Clark has nine, soon ten seasons of origin story. The show has already introduced maybe fifty characters from the comics.
Anything would be better than Singer returning to Superman.
Ranger writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 3:37:24 PM

@Sleuth - I'm with you. I've posted several times on here my defense of Supes Returns. And to further your point (I believe you're being overly-kind as compensation for the disgust others on here have posted slamming Singer's and Routh's version to the big screen) - the Supes kid thing was a HUGE waste of time. Where can that POSSIBLY go?!

As for this article...

HOLLYWOOD - pull the f*cking pickle out of your ego-laden, disorganized, litigious-battle weary ass's and get on with making Superman! Jesus... he's been in the comics since 1938! People WANT to see Supes MOVE FORWARD, EVOLVE with EVERY generation.

Dump, drop, FORGET his f*cking origin already... it's been DONE TO f*ckING DEATH!!!! Drop Luthor... again, DONE TO f*ckING DEATH!!!!

Have Routh make a cameo appearance in the new Green Lantern... as a guest speaker on OA at a Corps. Conference.

Get onto that HUGE 3 movies story that sees Supes being the last man standing on Earth!

Or get a BATTLE on with SOMETHING f*ckING NEW ALREADY... Doomsday or Solomon Grundy!

Have Supes move plants! Fly through suns... etc.

Lose wet spot for Lois, puppy-dog, Lois sh*ts on Clark for 90 minutes not-so-merry-go-round we've had to endure for f*ckING DECADES!!!

The ONLY thing to remain from the original movies... is John Williams' music.

GET MOVING!!!

Oh... and Lohan is a skank, and Gary Coleman a suicidal loser.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 5:00:29 PM

Well Said...

Move on and a cameo in green lantern would be kick ass. ( not the movie kick ass)
Ranger writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 5:47:55 PM

Thx. Jeff.

I've never known WHY these characters don't 'cross-market' themselves from movie to movie.

In any Fantastic Four movie when they were street-side it would have been nice seeing Spidey swinging by in the background from building to building, etc. Even if other people/studios own the rights to different characters other than those they're filming. Call them up and make these cross-marketing deals... everyone benefits.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 7:21:45 PM

Well with in the marvel world they should have no problem cross marketing due to they have their own production studio now. DC maybe a little different.
rabid writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 11:23:26 PM

Because the rights are owned by different studios, Ranger. SONY owns Spidey, FOX owns FF, Daredevil, and X-Men. Paramount leases Iron Man. Marvel still technically owns Iron Man, Punisher, Thor, Cap and Avengers.
DC could potentially crossover since WB produces all their stuff.

But I hear Kirby's grandkids are preparing to file suit against Disney for copyrights, the same way the Siegels just ripped WB a new one.
Ranger writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 11:37:23 PM

@jeff & rabid - I know. That's why I added that bit at the end of my last post. Just contact the other character's owners, tell them you think it would be cool to have their characters zip by in the background... free advertising for their property, cooler movie for you (and believe me... it wouldn't cost a cent... they'd be glad for the free advertising). Done deal.

"Everything in this world is possible (as long as Lohan or Coleman don't have a hand in it)" -- Ranger 2009.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 1:25:07 AM

@Ranger - Thanks for the back-up on Superman Returns. And you are right about the kid story. I guess I give credit to Singer for trying to be consistent with the previous films that everyone loved and also try and go in his own direction. I don't know, maybe the kid represented Superman realizing he isn't alone. Still, definitely agree on the John Williams music, but more action. The reason I respected Superman Returns and its predecessors was that is balanced a character's story with the heroes journey. Now that his initial stories are told, time to take it up a notch, like the "Death of Superman" story. If not, bring in another villain besides Luthor. Back in 1978 when the first Superman movie came out, that was like Superman's only villain. Now he has tons of worthy foes. Braniac has Luthor's intellect AND incredible abilities. He's got my vote! Anyway, on a note to Warner Bros.: STOP WORRYING ABOUT MONEY! MAKE THE MOVIE WORTH SEEING AND THE MONEY WILL FOLLOW! Otherwise, you get some good box office, but nothing years down the line. Movies, especially "out of this world" stories, used to be about being timeless and memorable. Now its all about a quickie, which is not nearly as good as a movie that gets you every time. I can still still watch the old Superman films and be impressed. Make those movies, not crap!
Eben1277 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 3:30:20 AM

Sleuth, you seem so smart, I can't reconcile your apparent intelligence with the fact you have a Van Helsing avatar! Hugh Jackman is GREAT, and Van Helsing looked great, the concept was awesome, but the execution... oh THE HORROR! I think Van Helsing is the reason I liked GI Joe so much, I had such low expectations for it after I was so dissapointed by VH that I ended up feeling like a really mediocre movie was really really good.
Eben1277 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 3:32:02 AM

Oh and Superman Returns was ok, my biggest problem with it was I was hoping for some X-Men style serious sh*t, and got another throwback to the 70's just with better sfx.
rabid writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:58:22 AM

I think they may have had some secret plan for how to deal with the kid in Superman Returns. It can't be a coincidence that the very same year in the comic books, Lois and Clark adopted a kid and later found out he was Zod's son.
Ranger writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 2:05:35 PM

Supes Returns: Clark and Supes BOTH show up at the same time after FIVE years... and no one puts it together.

HUGE +'s: Singer respected Williams' music and Christopher Reeve... still making Supes the walk softly and carry a big stick thing. Plus holding up that Mustang in exactly the same pose as the cover of Action Comics ('38), we finally seeing Supes take a bullet to the eye. take a beating from Luthor and his henchmen... all good stuff.

@Sleuth - I've posted this before... I got to see Reeves in person as Supes fly over traffic during a filming. For a comic collector at the time it was thrilling to see that AND see Hollywood take a comic character seriously.

But admittedly... once the scribing efforts of Puzo for Supes 1&2 were done... 3&4 we should never talk about (one of which Reeves had to do to get another movie deal that he wanted - ahhh extortion Hollywood? Could I love you any more?! XOXO!).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved