WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Punisher is Cast in "Thor"

Posted: November 17th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Punisher is Cast in "Thor"Submit Comment
Last month, Movieline learned that Dominic Cooper (Mamma Mia) was in talks to play Fandral in the upcoming Marvel's "Thor" movie. Fandral is an ally of Thor and a member of the Warriors Three, a trio of Asgardian adventurers consisting of Fandral, Hogun, and Volstagg. They are the supporting cast in the "Thor" comics and usually provided comic relief and side-adventures.

Now, according to Variety, Cooper didn't make the cut, and director Kenneth Branagh has instead cast Stuard Townsend (The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen), Ray Stevenson (Punisher: War Zone) and Japanese actor Tadanobu Asano as the Warriors Three.

In addition, actress Jaimie Alexander ("Kyle XY") just revealed via Twitter that she will play Asgardian warrior woman Sif and has already started her training. "Thor" is scheduled to hit theaters on May 20th, 2011.

Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 5:42:51 AM

Misleading headline... Stuart Townsend.. lucky bloke (look him up to see why)
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 5:57:10 AM

Misleading ahoy indeed!

Looking at the picture I have decided to recast.

Blonde confused gender on the left: Geena Davis
Big ginger fatty: Carrot top on extra steroids
Right sinister fella: Saddam Hussein

CGI costs for Saddam required.
nope.com writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 6:04:40 AM

lol good cast

I'll say...

lower left: Cary Elwes on steroids
lower right: just lift the cgi "han" from Mulan
Upper Center: any fatass
Ari Gold writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 6:27:03 AM

So Dolph isn't reprising his role as The Punisher in Thor? f*ck..

I want to have a crack at casting choices for this picture too!

Blondie: Robin Williams
Ginger: the midget from Lord Of The Rings with appropriate camera angles of course.
Horny on the right: Jackie Chan, if he's not available Charlie Sheen
johnny_boy writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 6:54:00 AM

ray stevenson? i haven't seen him in anything other than punisher war zone but i felt it wasnt a convincing performance. i trust branagh knows what hes doin.
VDODSON writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 7:01:28 AM

Most misleading headline I've read all year, you should be ashamed. I had my hopes up for the actual character, but instead it just list's the casting of Ray Stevenson. No offense against Ray, he was great in Rome, but WE WANT THE PUNISHER!
dandythelion writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 7:07:15 AM

LEARN HOW TO WRITE YOU STUPID MOTHERf*ckERS.

VERY miselading. I assumed there'd be another cute little marvel crossover cameo.. : /
johnny_boy writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 7:25:16 AM

it aint that misleading.we all know lionsgate owns the rights for filming the punisher,not marvel.and what the f*ck would the punisher be doing in a thor movie anyways?
VDODSON writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 7:32:09 AM

Why??? They're both marvel, and the two characters interacting would please many. So, when the headline is first read, expectations are raised until getting to the body of the article.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 8:59:25 AM

This isn't misleading at all.

It follows the great tradition of other accurate headlines such as:

- Batman Is Cast In Terminator Salvation.
- Spiderman Is Cast In Seabiscuit.
- Superman Is Cast In Zack and Miri Make a Porno.

jeffw1978 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 10:16:03 AM

Other great headlines also include:
Efron says lohan gave him aids
Nic cage blew his cash on blow and gay hookers
or even this movie is gonna suck
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 10:17:06 AM

My favorite was:

"Nicolas Cage Eats Live Puppies to Save His Houses From Foreclosure"
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 10:17:19 AM

...til they changed it.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 10:20:20 AM

uh oh, if Ray Stevenson gets cast in another comic book movie, WP's gonna post an article saying that he's playing too many characters like Ryan Reynolds
Peter Parker writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 10:36:21 AM

@ jeffw1978: Good thing you're setting the facts straight, you're the true reporter!

@ eViL.kEv2: "Nicolas Cage Eats Live Puppies to Save His Houses From Foreclosure" lool

I guess that's what happens when they can't tell the difference between "live puppy" and "hot dog"!
defiant1 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 7:14:22 PM

wow, i haven't clicked a link that fast in my life, only to be so disappointed. thanks alot.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 9:20:53 PM

How about leaving the comic relief out of the movie? Worked for the new Batman films. Don't we get enough campy humor from the Spidey and Iron Man movies?

"Asgardian warrior woman" -- sounds like a prude.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 10:07:55 PM

didn't they mean ass-guardian?
Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 12:44:48 AM

WOW!!! This is very exciting news. The fact that the supporting cast is so strong makes me believe that Kenneth Branagh has faith in Chris Hemswrorth. Thus, I have faith in him.

Please watch Tadanobu Asano in Ichi the Killer (craziest character I've ever seen on film), Zatoichi, Last Life in the Universe and Mongol.

Given the director and cast, I feel that Thor will be the most dramatic Marvel movie ever. That isn't necessarily a bad thing.
Eben1277 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 3:08:43 AM

When I saw the headline I was trying to figure out if they were talking about Dolph, Ray Stevenson or Thomas Jane, but I knew there was no way the Punisher would show up as a character in a Thor movie. Truthfully I don't know of those characters ever having any interactionin teh comics, except in possibly one of those huge crossover events.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved