WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"New Moon" is Outselling "Star Wars" and "Dark Knight"

Posted: November 16th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"New Moon" is Outselling "Star Wars" and "Dark Knight"Submit Comment
Online ticketer Fandango has revealed that "The Twilight Saga: New Moon," the second installment in the sequel, has become #1 advance online ticket seller. That means that "New Moon" has surpassed #2 "Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith," #3 "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince," #4 "The Dark Knight" and #5 "Twilight."

"New Moon" is currently accounting for 86% of weekly ticket sales on Fandango. Thousands of Thursday night midnight showtimes are already sold out across the country. To meet the fan demand, the nation's top theater owners are regularly posting brand new showtimes on additional screens.

"For many fans, it's the year's most anticipated film event," Fandango COO Rick Butler said in a statement. "Ever since tickets went on sale in September, it's been among our top five weekly ticket-sellers, as 'New Moon' has a strong pull on audiences. We're seeing a higher-than-usual number of tickets per transaction for this film, suggesting that moviegoers will show up en masse at theaters this weekend with their friends and family."

Click here to read our exclusive "New Moon" preview.

Source: DeadlineHollywood


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 6:59:48 PM

Hopefully it bombs, this cannot beat Star Wars and Dark Knight!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 7:25:51 PM

This is a sign that 2012 is in fact true and the world is coming to an end.
AshTrey writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 7:26:21 PM

IF THIS OUTSELLS THE DARK KNIGHT I DON'T UNDERSTAND THE WORLD ANYMORE!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 7:26:41 PM

What TH3D4RKKN1GH7 said...
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 7:29:58 PM

I heard the tickets were snapped up by the US government for a new form of torture on terrorists.

Maybe that explains it.
jaz_mayor writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 7:37:06 PM

f*ck you twilight, f*ck you royaly.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 7:53:23 PM

There millions of teen and tween girls including my daughter (who is forcing me to take her to see this sh*t by the way) please kill me now, will see to it outsells at least star wars.
Ari Gold writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 8:14:55 PM

f*ck that! I want this to outsell TDK! I laugh in your face, that your bondage wearing superhero loses to fag vampires who sparkle and sh*t! You guys are already freaking out! Lol.
KirkLazerus writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 8:32:28 PM

The World of Cinema is dead
Randal Graves writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 8:35:23 PM

this movie will do well the first couple of weeks and then slow down. That's how the first one ended up. it won't be able to touch Dark Knight.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 8:40:12 PM

Is this surprising? No. Let this movie make millions. It's popcorn bullsh*t cinema. I for one think these movies are (probably) no worse than half of the movies that make millions (2012, Transformers 2, blah blah).
As long as good movies are still being made for me to watch then I'll be happy.
usualclerk writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 8:41:41 PM

Advance ticket sales are not always indicative of how a film will gross. Just look at how crazy everyone was getting over MJ: This is It. The film only opened to $30mil. New Moon will have a huge opening ($110mil) and then tail off by it's third week. $275mil tops!
lost_addict writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 9:25:53 PM

there are a lot of teenage girls and fagots in the world today
Mighte Migit writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 9:28:53 PM

twilight is gay
Ranger writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 9:32:25 PM

I'd almost rather come back as Lohan's tampon in my next life than watch this (note... I said ALMOST!)!
TeemSelami writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 9:34:45 PM

oh god! the news in LA today was full of all these lame ass i haven't had a d*ck in me for awhile bitches who flew from everywhere to see the premier. it's seems to be the female equivalent to star trek and star wars fags. (except star wars and star trek are f*cking awesome.) why don't terrorist ever blow this sh*t up.
Tampa writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 9:53:39 PM

This whole Twilight series is a pedophiles wet dream. Someone please explain to me why an 80 year old vampire needs to go to high school????
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 9:55:39 PM

If it wasn't for my daughter there is no way in hell I am going to watch this sh*t willfully. I'm with yoy ranger ALMOST
Whitta writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 10:27:31 PM

i hope that the 3rd movie takes the direction that is rumored, in the way they make it as violent and gory as they can so it appeals to te guys and is un-watchable for majority of the f*ckin teenage girls. That'll shut em right up.
takai writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 10:52:19 PM

You guys act like this is a surprise.

It's not like it's selling that many because it's a better movie. If it outsells TDK, which I doubt it will, it just means it has better fans. Hmm, guess you should've gone and seen TDK a few more times.

As much as I would enjoy rubbing it in over the next forever, it's not going to outsell either of those films. It really isn't.
Ranger writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 11:04:30 PM

@Tampa - you have to ask?! When I'm 80 I'm hanging around school yards again! You can bet you ass I will!

@Jeff. Check your email my friend.

JRprime writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 11:22:14 PM

it wont break the dark knight, there are only so many 13 year old girls out there
Ranger writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 11:26:36 PM

I know!!!

I mean... I'll bet there are!!

I mean... sure... there must be.
CCBlev writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 11:52:48 PM

Hell naw, I really have lost all respect now for cinema!! How can the story of an emo slut, beat out star wars and the dark knight? The cgi looks worse than a f*cking Uwe Boll movie with Brett Ratner as the producer, f*ck my life!!
coldplayesence writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 12:32:37 AM

"f*ck me in the beard...."
aarttyst writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 12:43:09 AM

I am not surprised, with all the teenie boopers out there, oh and lets not forget the H-MOS.
vaodsi writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 12:44:32 AM

this is a movie i will nto buy a ticket for... not that it matters. this will be huge the first week and probably have a large fall.
only girls, and girls with very patient boy-friends will se this movie... along with their mothers.
so yeah... half the world and then some will flock to this movie like sharks in feeding frenzy mode
vaodsi writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 12:50:42 AM

OOOOH! and my girlfriend hates twilight so... that's AWESOME!

in other news, i almost ran over an opossum last night and zack efron has been diagnosed with aids......
Ranger writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 1:06:19 AM

@vaodsi - you should marry that woman!

Oh, and this just in. Zax Efron has given an Opossum AIDS!
Gates writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 1:43:16 AM

There is only reason why the ticket sales are as good as they say they are...

....Pedofiles know that this is where all the teen girls...... and boys.... will be. Duh.
Ranger writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 1:58:28 AM

HEY! Shhhhhhh!!!
warrior6 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 8:27:00 AM

New Moon won't outsell The Dak Knight... Not in this lifetime!!!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 8:49:06 AM

are you f*cking kidding me????????

Oh my god...please this cannot happen!
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 9:22:22 AM

You know now that you mention all of the teen girls being there, I guess I don't mind taking my daughter after all.
TheStig writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 10:00:25 AM

okay who cares about online ticket sales...it will make a fair amount of money, but unlike SW and DK the only people who will go back for repeat viewings (which is how you get a good box office overall) are teenage girls...no chance this makes more money overall
KatManDu writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 11:20:43 AM

If twilight does gross over dark knight I expect a crazy psycho path going to one of these movie theater and losing their mind. It will be hte biggest blood spree since satan was born
warlord writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 12:34:35 PM

this movie is worst than the n1hi virus
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 1:41:07 PM

Okay, can somebody please kill me?

By the way, I was looking to get some bad-ass rock-and-roll T-shirts this other day. I decided to go into Hot Topic, because I figured that's where they sold them. NOPE! Instead, I was treated to a disgusting atmosphere. No wonder they spoofed Hot Topic on "South Park". And now we got more of this sh*t in our face, now aimed at shallow tweens. WTF?
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 1:41:44 PM

"IF THIS OUTSELLS THE DARK KNIGHT I DON'T UNDERSTAND THE WORLD ANYMORE!"

That just scared me.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 1:46:41 PM

You know what's really depressing? There's a friend I know who works at this gentlemen's club. Yes, a stripper. And she's a fan of this "Twilight" sh*t. Funny thing is she's one of the brightest, most intelligent girls I've ever talked to, and she invited me to go rock climbing with her friends one day.

Yeah, that's how it starts. You take the book not so seriously, but the time passes, and she becomes a zombie. What a frightening thought, huh?
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 1:48:13 PM

"lame ass i haven't had a d*ck in me for awhile bitches"

Post this on a billboard somewhere. A very smart argument.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 1:50:44 PM

I don't think Zac Efron would even go near this. I haven't even heard of this douche for a while. All I know is that he got rid of the mop head and is starring in some film called "Me and Orson Welles". Guy doesn't bother me, though.
Ranger writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 1:57:21 PM

He would if he gave you AIDS!
stg1264 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 3:24:24 PM

It makes me want to vomit when i think that this peutrid piece of sh*t is actually considered cinema. At least they cast it rite with some of the sh*tiest actors in Hollywood. For christ's sake none of these douche bags can act their way out of a bag of Roman Polanski's sh*t.
Oh well. Long gone are the days of true cinematic genuis. All that Hollywood seems to be able to put out are reboots or movies inspired by video games.
I have yet to see any trilogy to be put out since the mid eighties that is as timeless as the Star Wars movies( the first three ). The last three were somewhat lacking in most area's.

Jesus Christ, am i having a bad day or what.
ian_918 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 5:44:29 PM

Im just surprised people actually spend money on these..
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 5:54:14 PM

well...aside from all the comments...personally...i don't think much of twilight and i'll keep it that way...better yet, as a writer, and movie go-er, entertainment like this just gives me better ideas on how to appeal on a higher level...i just wish there was more of a challenge with better ideas for better movies like in the 80s and 90s...at least nothing's changed...mostly teenage girls will be the only ones amused with twilight...and STILL the only thing that speaks for robert pattinson's success is his hair...somebody shave it already!!...he's no carrot top no matter how hard he tries!...i liked it better when girls couldn't stop talking about leonardo dicaprio in 'romeo & juliet'...or daniel radcliffe in harry potter even...and as for the female lead role, i saw her in this one movie i was watching with my neise, something called 'a cinderella story' or something similar...even brittney spears had better appeal in her songs vs the songs featured in that film....guess this must be a wake up call for any aspiring writers/actors/producers/etc. to make their appearance and be better than a lot of the lower-than-no-talent people in hollywood today....ok i'm done ranting again lol
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 6:07:29 PM

People...as long as there is money to be made from teenage girls, there will be movies like Twilight. I know for damn sure this will NOT surpass TDK in movie ticket sales but any movie studio that didn't make these very profitable movies is just being financially stupid. A few years ago it was Zac Efron and the High School musical movies. Before that, the Harry Potter craze. In a few years we will get some other tweener heart throb movie vechical. To those parents who have to take their kids to see this, bring some booze and a little weed and you'll be able to handle it.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 7:22:36 PM

@ stg1264

And there's no escape at your local supermarket. Holy mother of sh*t, those two I shall not name are on every damn gossip paper on the planet. They're on E!, MTV, everywhere. There's no escape from these guys.

@ HorrorJunky4Life

Sad, but true.
holtlt writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 9:16:26 PM

So many retarded people, why does everyone want to see that piece of sh*t??
Kindlegolas writes:
on November 17th, 2009 at 11:01:12 PM

Like everyone is saying. This movie WILL NOT outsell TDK or even SW RoTS. Twilight does have a huge fan base, but after every one sees it in the first week, no one will go and see it again in theatres (mostly due to ridiculous prices of tickets these days). Do not worry about it, yes this movie will probably go on the top 20 movie grossers of all time list, just as the next two Twlight movies will do the same, MABY combined all four Twilight movies will beat out TDK in ticket sales, but not individually. So all of you need to take your midols and chill the f*ck out
Eben1277 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 4:03:18 AM

@ Ari... With you all the way!

I'll add, too, that SW RotS was garbage. The only redeeming value in it was Obi Wan and his total bad-assery, which was the same unique redeeming value to SW epII. George Lucas took Darth Vader, the Ultimate Badass Villain, and turned him into Darth Vader: Emo Fag. He belongs in gay ass Twilight too.
vagos1268 writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 7:00:56 AM

IF YOU LIKE Twilight THEN YOU DON'T KNOW ABOUT MOVIES AN SURE YOU DON'T KNOW ABOUT MASTERPIECES OF ART LIKE THE DARK KNIGHT AND TRUE LIES
hmmmoksure writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:02:19 PM

haha yall are stupid. This movie looks like its gonna be kick ass and way different than the first, hence why it is selling so well! duh a lot of readers/fans are gonna see it, but ppl who weren't into the book are gonna see it for the action and fight scenes, have you scene the previews? it looks badass, so its no surprise this is gonna sell out stars wars and dark knight... that movie was too long anyways. but i have to admit, joker was portrayed well...
hmmmoksure writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 9:12:34 PM

oh and also - titanic made over 600... look it up. it was number one
Ranger writes:
on November 19th, 2009 at 1:35:28 AM

I hear you get a FREE cup of AIDS with every ticket to this movie.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved