WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"2012" Gets 9th Biggest Opening Ever

Posted: November 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"2012" Gets 9th Biggest Opening EverSubmit Comment
Sony's disaster film "2012," directed by Roland Emmerich (Independence Day, The Day After Tomorrow) has surpassed predictions by grossing an estimated $160 million at the foreign box office and an estimated $65 million domestically for a total haul of $225 million this weekend.

If those numbers hold, "2012" will have scored the 9th best global debut of all time.

Lionsgate's "Precious," which jumped up to No. 4 even though playing in just 174 locations, grossed an estimated $6.1 million in its second week for a location average of $35,000.

Wes Anderson's stop-motion family film "Fantastic Mr. Fox" had a limited run in New York and Los Angeles, but grossed an estimated $260,000, for a per theater average of $65,000.

Focus Features, however, saw a disappointing start for the British pic "Pirate Radio," starring Philip Seymour Hoffman. Film, which cost $50 million to make, grossed just $2.9 million from 882 theaters for a per location average of $3,253.

Other weekend release was "The Messengers," starring Woody Harrelson and Ben Foster. The film grossed $50,000 from 4 locations, for a per theater average of $12,500.

Click here to read our "2012" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
gimple writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 6:18:14 PM

It opened less than Day After Tomorrow in the states and cost twice as much...
Peter Parker writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 7:36:54 PM

It's a sign. We're all gonna die...

... WE'RE ALL GONNA DIIIIIIE!!!! AAAARGH!!



Sooner or later, that is.
Detrimental writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 8:20:32 PM

That picture makes him look like Edward Norton.
solidkryptonite writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 8:39:02 PM

Really? I thought this movie looked kinda lame, but that's just my opinion.
skatemaster62 writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 8:41:36 PM

The only problem With pirate radio was it was poorly advertized. I saw the film last night and was very impressed and entertained.....see the film its worth it
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 8:45:46 PM

This is what you call a slow weekend for premiers. They picked the one weekend with almost no competition.

And if I have my way everyone else will die soon from lohan AIDS
Ranger writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 9:23:11 PM

I figured this would do well, just because it was so over the top.

If we're to go in 2012... I say:
BRING IT ON BITCH!!!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 11:19:29 PM

So then, by studio rules, this means "sequel", right?

"2012-2: 2013"
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 11:22:04 PM

or they could have Danny Boyle collaborate with Roland Emmerich and they can make

"2040: 28 Years Later"
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 11:35:14 PM

No remember they are going to make the AIDS infused TV series.
georgecostanza writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 11:44:35 PM

65 mil?

This really is the apocalypse.....
CAPTIAN CRITICAL writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 11:47:50 PM

I SAW THE FILM ...IT WAS AWESOME!
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 15th, 2009 at 11:59:00 PM

Sigh...
takai writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 12:25:31 AM

Yeah, and ten years from now when movie tickets cost $25 bucks, a Pixar film will beat The Dark Knight.

The way they judge openings and ticket sales is truly hilarious.
Ranger writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 1:12:28 AM

You're quite right. I've said for YEARS, I wish they set up a system based on tickets sold over revenue... then they'd ALSO have to consider population at the time. All to even things out.

But of course... the bigger figures they boast these days get the rest of the cattle believing that a movie must be worth seeing if that much to date has been raised.

Peter Parker writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 1:12:52 AM

It's a sign!!!! We are all to die!!!

It's in the numbers, look:
2012 (the title)
divided by 225 (opening gross)
equals 9 (rounding it up)

The numbers don't lie! It came in 9th for a reason!

WE ARE DOOOOOOMED!!!




(... sooner or later, of course)
Ranger writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 1:17:56 AM

You're pretty quick with the abacus there my friend!
rabid writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 1:21:54 AM

I saw it today and it really wasn't that bad. There was nothing realistic at all about it, but the effects were amazing and the acting was great. The destruction was total! I mean everything and everyone gets obliterated.

What's Emerich going to do for an encore? blow up the universe?
Peter Parker writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 1:25:47 AM

Numbers are my thing.
Next to me, Rain Man is a retard.


... then again, Rain Man is a retard next to anybody!


Heads up, everybody, I'm making a big ass sign as we speak. If you see a very handsome individual, half naked, running around the streets, with a huge sign over his head, warning people about the end of the world... that'd be me!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 1:27:23 AM

... not that I care much about the end of the world, I just like to run around naked and this seems like a damn good excuse!
Ranger writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 1:48:15 AM

'...a very handsome individual, half (NO - ALL) naked, running around the streets, with a huge sign over his head, warning people about the end of the world...' ---- that's just another Saturday night for me.
Ari Gold writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 2:00:42 AM

Tool - Aenima
pjmbdm writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 2:04:03 AM

In reality nothings going to happen in 2012 but my response to people that say something will happen is this, "Well I want to know for sure so that I can stop working out, get fat, party, and have unprotected sex for the next 3 years!" They usually laugh.
Ranger writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 2:47:27 AM

Well, if everything does goes sh*thouse in 2012, no one will be around to say you were wrong!

RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 5:58:23 AM

"2012" Gets 9th Biggest Opening Ever

Lohan was the 8th Biggest Opening Ever.
CCBlev writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 6:28:29 AM

"2012" Gets 9th Biggest Opening Ever

Lohan was the 8th Biggest Opening Ever."

Of course shes got the 8th biggest opening ever, where do you think they hid the Arks in the movie?
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 2:34:39 PM

If they are hiding the arks in lohan, then I would rather die. f*ck that.
Kid_A writes:
on November 18th, 2009 at 5:23:55 PM

Aren't people tired or bored of watching such disaster movies? "2012" = great CGI... so what? The previous disasters didn't have great CGI than "2012"? Hollywood can't even find a great story and screenplay to have on the film, so they only show disaster and disaster. Money is everything after all.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved