WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Death Race" Prequel Gets Greenlit

Posted: November 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Death Race" Prequel Gets GreenlitSubmit Comment
Back in August, it was revealed that Impact Pictures started work on the prequel to Paul WS Anderson's "Death Race" by hiring Tony Giglio to write the script, based on a story by Anderson.

Now, comes word from STYD that "Death Race 2" has officially been greenlit by Universal Pictures after reading Giglio's script. Work on the new straight-to-DVD film will begin as soon as Anderson completes "Resident Evil: Afterlife," on which Giglio is serving as a second unit director. Giglio will not direct the prequel.

The script is said to delve into the past of the mangled driver known as Frankenstein, who was original played by the late David Carradine in the 1975 film "Death Race 2000" and voiced by Carradine in Anderson's recent "Death Race."

Last year's "Death Race" wasn't that great of a success. The film earned only $36 million domestically on a $45 million budget. But thanks to foreign markets, it was able to gross a worldwide total of $75 million.

Click here to read our "Death Race" review.

Source: STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BigUnit writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 6:56:09 AM

straight to dvd, weeeeak
BigUnit writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 6:57:26 AM

the only good movie that went straight to dvd in my opinion was Outlander staring Jim Caviezel and Ron Perlman, anyone who hasnt seen it, look it up, its a pretty good movie
BrundleFly writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 7:42:16 AM

I've been wanting to see Outlander for ages, but I don't think it's been released in Australia yet.
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 8:23:02 AM

death movie! straight to CD!
Shan writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 8:23:17 AM

Death race prequel?

What, are they gonna show home made videos of Jane Goody and Patrick Swayze?
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 8:39:36 AM

This will go straight to Betamax. Not worthy for DVD.
billofill writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 9:04:57 AM

yes Bigunit cause Trick R Treat was dog sh*t RIGHTTTTTTTTTT.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 10:05:34 AM

Death Race prequel...

... Birth Race?
NatG83 writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 10:18:02 AM

Outlander also had John Hurt.

My biggest problem with that movie was how everyone was reacting to Caviezel's character throughout the movie. I don't wanna spoil it, but they never gave the guy a break.

But this Death Race prequel sounds like garbage.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 10:54:43 AM

sh*tty.
rabid writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 11:33:59 AM

E njoyed Death Race, but what's the point of watching a prequel if we already know how things turn out for Frankenstein?
autiger10 writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 11:46:52 AM

it was mario-kart'64 on steroids. f*cking retarded
BigUnit writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 2:57:35 PM

yeah outlander was real good, i actually just bought it on dvd, i liked it so much. The alien creature is real tight yet different looking and the acting and over all movie was just well done in my opinion. I have no idea why it went straight to dvd, it looks like a big budget movie...
thegambit72 writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 5:28:34 PM

@BigUnit
Completely agree, Outlander was a great movie, but i think it was sent to some select theaters. but since i am nowhere near a big city i also had to wait for the DVD. best 20 bucks i ever spent.
pomme writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 5:56:15 PM

WHYYYYYY?
vwkombi writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 7:33:28 PM

@ Bigunit

I wouldn't call Outlander great, but it was solid entertainment. I think the great cast really helped, and the monster was pretty awesome. I would recommend action fans check it out.

Back on topic, i didn't hate Death Race, there was some fun to be had. Plus it had Ian McShane, who can make almost anything watchable. But i will never watch it again or speak highly of it. I really can't see this working, except maybe as one of those movies me and my friends watch for laughs.


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved