WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Independence Day" Sequel Will be Two Films

Posted: November 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Independence Day" Sequel Will be Two FilmsSubmit Comment
About a month ago, director Roland Emmerich revealed that was planning to make a sequel to "Independence Day," the Will Smith blockbuster that grossed over $800 million in worldwide ticket sales.

Now, Emmerich has revealed a bit more about the second installment. "What we want to do in the next it's actually two movies we want to do a bigger arc," he explained. "The idea is just to continue the story, just continue where it ended. The story will stay firmly on the planet. It's always about earth and that earth gets invaded."

And even though there is still no script, Emmerich said that he and writer Dean Devlin are already working on it. "Oh yeah! There's a story. There's a very really good great story, a very cool one," he said.

Regarding Smith, the director said that when the cameras begin rolling, he will be in front of them. Emmerich also mentioned that he already has the titles for the next two films. "ID4-ever,' Part I and II maybe?," he said.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
georgecostanza writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 6:46:58 PM

Independence Day 2: Veteran's Day!
marighand writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 6:58:22 PM

ID4-get about topping the original
gimple writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 7:02:01 PM

I liked Stargate and Independence Day for what they were, but his movies after that have never been nearly as fun. Hopefully 2012 will be, but I highly doubt it.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 7:05:54 PM

So that's two movies that i'll have to avoid
darkraven28 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 7:52:55 PM

ID4TUNE COOKIES? ID4 ALL TIME? I DATE FAT CHICKS? ID4LORN LOVER? ID4ROSARIO DAWSON? ANTIDISESTABLISHMENTARIANISM??? HOLY sh*t! ID4 SCORE AND SEVEN YEARS AGO?

OR, AS I ALWAYS SAY, INDEPENDENCE DAY 2: INDEPEND HARDER! BECAUSE EVERY SEQUEL SHOULD HAVE HARDER IN THE TITLE!

MEET THE PARENTS HARDER!
WALKING TALL HARDER!
BAMBI HARDER!
STEPFATHER HARDER!
MULAN HARDER!
LIVE FREE OR DIE HARD HARDER!
TRANSFORMERS 3: REVENGE OF THOSE WHO FALL HARDER THAN THE FALLEN!


HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!
SeWerin writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 7:54:35 PM

Independence Day 2: Rednecks stay united

and

Independence Day 3: They took our job
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 7:58:59 PM

"And even though there is still no script,"
What Emmerich movie actually HAS a script?
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 8:20:52 PM

I'd be down for ID4 sequels. If Emmerich can make it nearly as gloriously retarded as 2012 (Emmerich's masterpiece, the zenith of mud-childism ), I'll be happy. Oh, bring back Big Willy or I'll pop a cap in yo ass, Emmerich.
Ari Gold writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 8:35:15 PM

"There's a very really good great story, a very cool one"

Emmerich can't piece a sentence together properly and he wants to help write this script..
I'd watch em on DVD if they get made.
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 9:13:59 PM

As long as the President doesn't give another CORNY speech like he did in the first one!!!
UZZIEMAN writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 10:03:28 PM

@darkraven28 id4 i date fat chicks and Transformers 3 revenge of those who fall harder than the fallen that made me laugh out loud for hours!!! good one! Let me make one now ID4 THE DAY AL GORE CAUSED GLOBAL WARMING LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!! ahhaahaha cant stop!
Charlie9 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 10:14:02 PM

Don't you mean as long as the president DOES make a corny speech? That was the kind of cheesy sh*t that everyone loved. Don't 4get the 300 aviator wearing rednecks saluting everone as well.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 11:05:02 PM

"when the cameras begin rolling, (Smith) will be in front of them..."

What, protesting?
Peter Parker writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 11:08:11 PM

Then again, with the Scientology brainwash, he may actually be happy to be in the movie.

... Except this time, he'll be welcoming the aliens with arms wide open!
TeemSelami writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 11:33:15 PM

i thought men in black was the sequel to Independence day.
"There's a very really good great story, a very cool one," what the f*ck kind of english is that he sounds like he's from germany.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 11:51:49 PM

I'm thinking I'll have to pass on these. The first one was okay, but I think trying to make sequals is just stupid for some movies. What kind of a story line could be a sequal for this?
lost_addict writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 1:14:07 AM

i hope this will come true.Independence day was f*cking awesome in cinema...i don't care what the others say.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 10:44:27 AM

Independence Day 2: Freedom Isn't Free
Independence Day 3: It Costs Folks Like You 'n Me
(Buck oh five!)
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 11:04:03 AM

ID-4 Memorial Day!

Maybe they will change it to mexicans running across and invading after all of the space aliens have died. So then it would be

ID4 - The Illegals.
aphid regress writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 11:21:17 AM

ID4: I can still fly; I'm still a pilot
aphid regress writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 11:22:05 AM

I'm all for this, by the way. BRING IT ON!
thedotsays writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 11:39:45 AM

Wow two movies about cleaning up the mess after the invasion? Run Will Run!!!
rabid writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 11:45:14 AM

Why do the aliens always attack us mid-summer? Maybe we can kill them with the galaxy's largest firework display.
jetdog writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 2:17:18 PM

You people are funny "Independence Day 2: Veteran's Day!" or "So that's two movies that i'll have to avoid" haha you guys crack me up.. Then don't see it lames... I will go see the movies and avatar!
swoooop writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 3:10:08 PM

I agree with Ranger, the corny speeches was to much. Whats up with U Americans and patriotism? I love my country as well, but damn, are U guys really that nationalistic?
Ranger writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 3:58:37 PM

It was as bad as Optimus Prime's speech at the end of the first Transformers... ugh!

tolgaboy writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 6:22:11 PM

great news
aarttyst writes:
on November 14th, 2009 at 1:19:45 AM

I have high hopes for this
Ranger writes:
on November 14th, 2009 at 8:20:46 PM


Just what makes that little 'ol ant...
Think he can move that rubber tree plant?

Everyone knows an ant, can't...
MOVE A RUBBER TREE PLANT!

(why?

Because he's got... HIGH HOPES.
he's got...
HIGH HOPES...
Jensama writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 2:36:20 AM

"very really good great story"? Has he heard of grammar? I guess this movie must be AWEsome the way he uses his kiddygrade adjectives..
On another hand: I loved the first one, and looking forward to see a second one.
KatManDu writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 1:22:05 PM

There is no way its going to be as epic. This is one of those, "don't make a sequel dumbass" movies. Look at Mortal Kombat for instance, enjoyed the first. Threw up the second one.
Ranger writes:
on November 16th, 2009 at 6:01:50 PM

Or RoboCop as another example.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved