WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King Working on New "Dark Tower" Novel, JJ Abrams Abandons Movie

Posted: November 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen King Working on New "Dark Tower" Novel, JJ Abrams Abandons MovieSubmit Comment
JJ Abrams and his "Lost" producer Damon Lindelof have long been attached to develop a big screen version of Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" series. Unfortunately, it seems that both Abrams and Lindelof are now abandoning the project.

"You'll be hard-pressed to find a huger fan of 'The Dark Tower' than me, but that's probably the reason that I shouldn't be the one to adapt it," Abrams told USA Today. "After working six years on 'Lost,' the last thing I want to do is spend the next seven years adapting one of my favorite books of all time. I'm such a massive Stephen King fan that I'm terrified of screwing it up. I'd do anything to see those movies written by someone else. My guess is they will get made because they're so incredible. But not by me."

This is clearly bad news for "Dark Tower" fans, but we do have some good news. Stephen King was promoting his new novel "Under the Dome" last night and revealed that he is considering writing an eighth book in the series.

GQ magazine had the following to say: "King stated he will write another Dark Tower novel. It will center around supporting characters and revolve around some important events between Wizard and Glass and Wolves of the Calla. One fan asked him to make sure Oy comes back, and King said not to worry, that Oy would return."

Source: USA Today, Liljas-Library


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 10 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:08:08 PM

Hey, Steven, how about you rewrite the last three books of the series first, you know, the ones that you shat out like a retard baby. Those last three made the entire series a joke, I mean, you f*cking wrote yourself into the books, you prick. And I love how the most evil force in the universe can be destroyed by a little bitch who f*cking literally ERASES him, as in "with an eraser". f*ck yourself with the dagger you shoved into our *ssholes when you wrote the biggest piece of sh*t put to paper. f*ck you, Steven "I almost died so that excuses my newfound terrible writing ability" King!!!!!!!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:09:36 PM

And yes, I just spelled his name incorrectly. f*ck...
Detrimental writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 11:08:48 PM

I'll read this later.
irontimes writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 1:19:55 AM

thank god for the jj part. i mean, is there anyone less qualified to make this movie?
bacci40 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 1:35:25 AM

should be an hbo series anyway...and whatever happened to king retiring?
irontimes writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 2:32:45 AM

i think that's just a running joke at this point.

if hbo did 7 miniseries, then maybe it could work. otherwise, it would still be too condensed.
lost_addict writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 3:38:07 AM

good news.movies based on books usually turn out to be poop.
rabid writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 2:00:10 PM

I loved how the series ended. But it's not that shocking that it's going to continue.

Dark Tower would make a great HBO series.
Tyrkae writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 1:08:20 AM

JJ is more qualified then 99% of the directors out now BUT i want this to be the best it can be maybe they should try to do the 1st book in HBO that be good see if they should do the rest
Farradin writes:
on November 13th, 2009 at 3:54:27 PM

If Sam Raimi was director my heart would explode!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved