WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Blockbuster to Rent Movies on SD Cards

Posted: November 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Blockbuster to Rent Movies on SD CardsSubmit Comment
Blockbuster recently announced that it will be closing over one thousand stores as it struggles to compete with Netflix and RedBox. Now, comes news that Blockbuster has a new strategy.

The company is trying out a new movie-rental program that allows customers to load movies onto their SD cards and play them back on mobile phones and TVs equipped with SD readers. The rental cost is $1.99.

A person would be able to come up to a kiosk, slide their SD disk into the card slot, select a movie and then go watch it either on anything that has an SD reader, including cellphones, TVs and computers. There is nothing to return, since each movie will come with an expiration date.

Blockbuster realizes that there are still many hurdles to overcome. Phone usually use micro or mini SD cardslots and don't take full-sized SD cards. Many TVs and laptops still aren't built to play video of SD media, which means that customers would have to purchase an SD reader separately.

Source: FastCompany


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dddarne writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:17:03 PM

Sounds like a good idea but it wont work. I would never watch a movie on my cell phone and most PC's and obviously TV's already play DVD's. I can rent a blu-ray for the same price and its a better quality.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:17:22 PM

Netflix is king
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:25:29 PM

netflix really is the way to go (y)
Peter Parker writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:39:37 PM

Sorry to say it, because Blockbuster has served me well for many years in the past, but this won't work either.
That is one fast sinking boat!
Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:14:27 PM

Blockbuster will be going the way of the buffalo soon, very soon. As an employee there in my teens, I say good riddance.
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:20:52 PM

I remember when BlockBuster was opening a new store every 24 hours.

They had their time in the sun.

f*ck 'em!

vwkombi writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:26:07 PM

This is stupid for two reasons:
1. Anything worth watching movies on has a DVD player.
2. Who the f*ck watches a movie on their phone? Technology is so pointless now it's becoming a parody of itself.

I swear, if your not paying attention to where you going because you are watching a movie on your phone and i run you over, i will reverse over you and piss on your corpse.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:28:19 PM

@ vwkombi: Sounds fair but... what if they're driving? lol
vwkombi writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:30:44 PM

P.S

f*ck Blockbuster, i owe them waaaaaaaaaay to much in overdue fees.
Stuash writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 11:46:31 PM

It's too soon to say, but...

R.I.P. Blockbuster
1985-201X
Aaron writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 12:11:16 AM

"Technology is so pointless now it's becoming a parody of itself."

hahaha, Amen.
thedudeman69 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 12:21:33 AM

LOL
EPIC FAIL
tcu21 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 12:31:24 AM

Yeah, that's pretty dumb. If anything people want to download the movies onto ipods, phones, zunes, etc. Who the hell uses sd cards anymore?
bacci40 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 1:36:53 AM

f*ck blockbuster...f*ckers wouldnt carry porn or nc-17 movies
vwkombi writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 2:06:15 AM

@ Peter Parker

Then run them off the road.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 8:46:34 AM

Ok, as a current Blockbuster employee, this was actually announced via an internal weekly feature they use to have the ceo dictate his idea of what will make the company profitable. Jim Keyes talked about this I think around the holiday season last year that they were looking to possibly start using SD's to rent movies with. Personally, I do think it is an interesting idea. Very cost effective and what not. However, like this article states, there are very few outlets for the average American to use an SD reader to watch a movie. Stuash, you have it right and I will guarantee that Blockbuster will be dead by atleast 2013 if not sooner. I could care less though, that place has been hell to work for. Everything they do is bullsh*t. It has gone from a movie and game rental/retail store to a store where you can buy anything from movies to a motherf*cking snuggie and a new moon toot bag. Don't believe me, go into the store. Don't buy anything, just go look. Netflix is definitely going to win this battle. Goodbye Blockbuster! lol
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 10:27:36 AM

Blockbuster blows hard c*ck, f*ck off and die already. This company has always been a pain in the ass to common sense.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 12:26:12 PM

Why would I get off my lazy ass to go to a kiosk with my SD card. When netflix will deliver to my door? For cheaper per movie or around the same price depending on the plan you get.
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 1:59:10 PM

@fadeddragon2469 - BlockBuster really sells Snuggies?! Next: auto parts! Or... a free Donair with every 5 rentals... lol!

f*ck me!

LET THIS WORLD END IN 2012!!!!!!

fadeddragon2469 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 3:28:48 PM

@ Jeffw1978- Netflix even has a new thing now where you can play your instant queue on your ps3 (after you've ordered the disc, which doesn't go against your queue because you keep it). I just got mine today, its f*cking amazing.

@ Ranger, It is fact. We're also selling a TON of sh*t geared towards twatlight: new poon including tot bags, pillows, t-shirts and probably tampons too (cuz their vamps, right?). We also sell books that are a ridiculous discounted price which is suprising since most of our dvd's are overpriced as a motherf*cker. I just bought Star Trek at the store on bluray for $25 and thats with my store discount. Would've been a 5 finger discount had I been working when we recieved it though hahaha. But yeah, it's all over man. I say good riddance once it goes under.
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 9:16:03 PM

'...tampons too (cuz their vamps, right?)'

Priceless!


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved