WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Monopoly" Movie Plot Details Revealed

Posted: November 11th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Monopoly" Movie Plot Details RevealedSubmit Comment
LA Times spoke to writer/producer Frank Beddor about the upcoming "Monopoly" movie, which Beddor says will use the game as merely a starting place. "Everybody reacted the same way when they heard that there was going to be a 'Pirates of the Caribbean' movie [based on a Disney ride]," he said.

Beddor revealed the pitch that he used to attach Ridley Scott (Gladiator) as the director. "After I pitched it to him, he put out his hand and said, 'What do I have to do to be part of this movie?'," said Beddor.

And here is the pitch in Beddor's words:

"I created a comedic, lovable loser who lives in Manhattan and works at a real estate company and he's not very good at his job but he's great at playing Monopoly. And the world record for playing is 70 straight days over 1,600 hours and he wanted to try to convince his friends to help him break that world record. They think he is crazy. They kid him about this girl and they're playing the game and there's this big fight. And he's holding a Chance card and after they've left he says, 'Damn, I wanted to use that Chance card,' and he throws it down. He falls asleep and then he wakes up in the morning and he's holding the Chance card, and he thinks, 'That's odd.'

He's all groggy and he goes down to buy some coffee and he reaches into his pocket and all he has is Monopoly money. All this Monopoly money pours out. He's confused and embarrassed and the girl reaches across the counter and says, 'That's OK.' And she gives him change in Monopoly money. He walks outside and he's in this very vibrant place, Monopoly City, and he's just come out of a Chance Shop. As it goes on, he takes on the evil Parker Brothers in the game of Monopoly. He has to defeat them. It tries to incorporate all the iconic imageries -- a sports car pulls up, there's someone on a horse, someone pushing a wheelbarrow -- and rich Uncle Pennybags, you're going to see him as the maitre d' at the restaurant and he's the buggy driver and the local eccentric and the doorman at the opera. There's all these sight gags.
"

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dddarne writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:14:24 PM

sounds dumb
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:15:34 PM

So this is Jumanji... with buildings?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:15:35 PM

Wow that sounds even more terrible than I could have imagined I dont really understand how this attracted Ridley Scott? But I can only hope that Scott will make it work.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:22:28 PM

"who lives in Manhattan"

For f*cks sake, how many movies have been set in f*cking new york in the last year? 20? 60??
thedotsays writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:31:35 PM

They could film two retards playing the game and it would be infinitely better than that premise.
OneTime writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:36:42 PM

frank beddor CLEARLY loves acid
SeWerin writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:37:10 PM

http://img.youtube.com/vi/Cj1wcs7SZj0/0.jpg

And you must be THE MONOPOLY GUY!
oklahomaer writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:39:34 PM

this movie is going to be f*cking stupid.It's going to be worse than that f*cking clue movie.
CCBlev writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:41:21 PM

I'd rather be sodomized by HIV infected Lohan with a strapon than watch this piece of sh*t
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:48:47 PM

Were this a small-time indy, 'Inside John Malkovich' flick... I could see this being unique. But for now... what CCBlev said!
Snarebeast writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:50:46 PM

I think they misheard Ridley Scott.

What he really said was "what do I have to do to get the hell away from this movie?"
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:56:25 PM

Oh my f*cking god, that sounds like a steaming pile of Lohan sh*t. My god, did Ridley actually hear that and say, "Sounds great!" I swear to god, that has to be the worst idea for a movie based on a boardgame EVER, and that's saying something (Berg's Battleship with aliens a close second). Ridley must be smoking Lohan's weed-coated pubes to still be attached to this sure to be sh*t-storm. "Sight gags"? What are you, Mr. Writer, five years old or mud child?
monstermanuel writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:05:07 PM

EPIC FAIL
wonderBOY writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:12:37 PM

iconic imageries - he will be ironing his clothes with an iron thats a box office hit right there
wonderBOY writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:13:55 PM

Plot twist at the end
you find out that the monopoly guy is really.... the pringles guy
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:25:48 PM

And using the thimble as an IUD inside of Ms. Scarlett in the library whilst he beats her with his lead pipe (IF you get my meaning?)!
vwkombi writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:29:54 PM

I once saw two down syndrome kids arguing with a rock about who would win between Roger Ebert and a Duck.

That argument held my interest more than the premise for this film.
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 10:31:52 PM

I'm more curious about my next piss.

Will it be light?
Will it be dark?
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 11:06:45 PM

Sorry, Ranger, you'll have to pass a kidney-stone. It won't hurt as much as seeing this movie, but it'll be similar.
dhkenobi writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 11:07:00 PM

Jesus Christ on a cruch...
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 11:13:50 PM

@DN - lol.
Ranger writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 11:15:18 PM

Dane Cook should try out for this.
StrongR3tard writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 11:25:30 PM

what the f*ck did he smoke when he wrote that? cuz i want some
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 12:15:42 AM

Oh man...OHHHHHH man, this sounds so sh*tty.

Holy crap.

Doesn't have a CHANCE in hell.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 12:17:30 AM

Ten bucks says wilford brimley will be uncle penny bags. Or Common.
thedudeman69 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 12:18:29 AM

that just blew my mind
tcu21 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 12:30:14 AM

They must've left out the part where they told Ridley Scott they were going to get Russell Crowe to star in it haha.
TeemSelami writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 1:27:08 AM

this man is a pioneer of brilliance
lost_addict writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 3:35:30 AM

whats next?film based on poop?
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 3:51:40 AM

You mean this one isn't?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 4:09:07 AM

LMAO OMG, this is absolutely terrible are they sure Ridley Scott didn't say
"What do i have to do NOT to be attached to this movie?"

Sorry even the plot outline i made was 10x better than this.
Lets guess this will be movie and CGI and be 3D, meh
Sonic writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 6:49:59 AM

Damn all vile Beddor!!!
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 11:28:17 AM

This sounds retarded. So it would be perfect for the following:

Dane Cook
Will Smith
Lohan
Reid
Efron
Will Ferrell
Owen Wilson
Ben Stiller
Tom Cruise

etc....
LastActionHero writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 5:03:12 PM

Christian Bale would be perfect.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 10:28:55 PM

Everyone knows Russel Crowe is gonna star if it's a Scott film

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved