WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg's "Oldboy" Remake is Dead

Posted: November 10th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven SpielbergSubmit Comment
It has been exactly one year since Steven Spielberg announced that he was in discussions with Will Smith to remake Chan Wook-Park's "Oldboy." But then things started falling apart, when rights issues surfaced.

Spielberg was confident that everything would be resolved, but apparently, it hasn't. According to LatinoReview, DreamWorks and Mandate Pictures were in the process of securing the rights, when DreamWorks decided to walk away due to a difference of opinion.

What this means is that Spielberg and Smith are no longer attached. And the project is now considered dead.

In the 2003 Korean original, a man gets kidnapped and held in a shabby cell for 15 years without explanation. Suddenly, he's released and given money, a cell phone and clothes and is set on a path to discover who destroyed his life so he can take revenge.

Source: LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nzfilmmaker writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 5:38:36 AM

Best news I've heard in a while. Leave the original alone.
BrundleFly writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 5:48:05 AM

Hooray
Paths writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 6:21:55 AM

just hoping we will see the same thing on the "let the right one in" remake.
wonderBOY writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 7:06:56 AM

gonna watch it now and what happened to his ghost in a shell movie
dandythelion writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 7:47:23 AM

SHUT THE f*ck UP YOU WHINY LITTLE MORONS.

Remaking a film does not mean the studio is going to recall all of the original copies and erase it from history! it's is just a superfluous entity. watch it or don't but just stop complaining about it. there are people who actually like remakes. i don't write a film off based on that lone fact. there are many factors to consider. Spielberg is a great director. Smith is a decent actor. it could have been a fantastic film.

I for one really wanted to see it. as a HUGE fan of the original (and the comic to boot) I liked the fact that this film would be adding to the universe of the original.

remakes are just like covers of a song. there will always be the original, and sometimes they suck, and sometimes they are better than the original.

just stop acting like remaking a film is the end of life as you know it.

d*cks
SeWerin writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 8:37:23 AM

Best news in last two months!!! There is justice
WitchDoctor writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 8:39:55 AM

I agree with nzfilmaker, this movie is perfect the way it is not to mention it is not Dreamworks/Will Smith/Spielberg material. It is to raw and gritty, it needs that feel to be successful, most certainly would not occur with the afore mentioned persons. Leave it be.
autiger10 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 8:40:10 AM

dandy, do u have a pine-cone in ur vaginia? or just a little sand?
Peter Parker writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 8:50:24 AM

@ dandythelion: I see what you mean. It's kinda like your mother, right? I mean, she can get gangbanged by eight brothas, have her ass stretched to infinity... but she'll still be your mother, right?

After all, they would just be adding to the universe of her sexual life!
makingcircles writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 9:42:09 AM

LOL@ everything
Projekt SHIN writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 9:44:13 AM

umm sorry dandy.. but the overall theme wouldn't work with western audiences... it wouldn't even be a remake.. they would have to chop it up and totally throw in random explosions and whatnot...what made this movie so great was the moral... americans wouldn't get it... doesn't work with the culture..
Projekt SHIN writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 9:46:38 AM

and yes nzfilm... that really was the best news i've heard in a while.... i cut myself when i first heard the remake rumors... and once i heard will smith... my ears started to bleed...
nope.com writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 10:31:38 AM

GOOD, dont need to retouch a great film
Hitodama writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 11:06:05 AM

An American remake of a Korean adaptation of a Japanese manga... sigh.
snypatech writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 11:08:08 AM

Philistines, why try and obviously fail at remaking a classic! Oldboy is a Korean Masterpiece, no offence to any Americans reading this, but you never really have the understanding of how to make a remake, actually why make a remake in the first place, give it up you cant do better than the original, The Ring is a classic example! I reacon us Brits could do a much better jod, but we dont do you know why, because we dont have the inclination to do so, because we are original! Sorry, fact!!!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 11:50:55 AM

How long is the average time for remakes now?

I mean the film only came out in 2003. Soon they will remake within the month.
LastActionHero writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 11:52:58 AM

Now get a different actor and make it.
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:00:05 PM

How is latino review getting all of the insider info.
aphid regress writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:30:32 PM

This is great news. It's a shame that rights issues don't kill more remake projects. The only remake/revamp/WHATEVER that I am interested in is the Aronofsky project with Robocop. I just hope that isn't his downfall since it's so drastically different from anything else that he's taken on.
Bob82 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:41:35 PM

I agree with Paths, I'm so glad.
Dre-EL writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:45:27 PM

Speilberg doesnt like when people consider remaking his movies, so why does he want to remake somebody elses. Come on Steven your better than this. Your a hollywood leader not a follower.
pomme writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 1:59:49 PM

the first time i heard the remake "old boy" by spielberg and Smith,i thought they didn't see the original movie(it's so trash and great)so i imagine they finally see the movie!
Nekros22 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 2:08:51 PM

Seems dandythelion and Projekt SHIN have a big problem with freedom of speech.

This movie sounds awfully stupid, aside from the fact that it attracted Spielberg. Good thing it got scrapped.





Kurskij writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 3:16:01 PM

Dandy, just one question: were you crying and touching yourself when you wrote this? Cause it's just so expressive.
I agree with you on the subject though. Who gives a flying f*ck if Spielberg and Smith are attached?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 3:36:39 PM

Yes, DOWN WITH REMAKES!
Zalmor29 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 4:01:55 PM

THANK GOD, I am glad they are not remaking it. i Love the Original.
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 4:22:54 PM

Thank god
TeemSelami writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 4:29:02 PM

yeeeaaaahhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 5:35:33 PM

Project Shin, don't turn this into a cultural arm wrestling match, idiot. A lot of Americans, myself included, could understand all the facets of the film, for the smart filmgoers over here are hungry for any type of film that is intellectually fueled with thought-provoking questions and good old-fashioned filmmaking. Stop with the "all Americans are idiots" sentiment, us "Americans" are still capable of producing thought-provoking and intelligent cinema (Moon, District 9, Inglorious Basterds, etc.), so leave your idiotic machoism back in your mother's basement. Now, I don't give a sh*t about a toned down remake of a good Korean flick either, but don't use that as a launching-pad for your thoughtless sentiments. Okay, I'm done. Oh, I won't even start with Snypatech, I doubt he could hear me while fisting his brother's *sshole.
Ranger writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 6:13:59 PM

@dandy - is your mommy making you wear condoms since you gave her that STD or what?!

I thought you said about 50 posts ago you were never c*mming back on here to WP. What gives bro... sand in your vagina?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 7:39:44 PM

Wow this is fantastic news. I mean Spielberg and Smith are great, but deciding to remake a movie like Oldboy is just blasphemy. Now if only the Let the Right One In and The Orphanage remakes would die too...
scarface85 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 8:36:09 PM

sounds like the count of montecristo
Ranger writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 9:42:37 PM

Or: 'That c*nt Ate my Monte Cristo!'

Anonymous Alcoholic writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 11:50:49 PM

Hmmm...Maybe there is a God...

@Dandythelion Haha you sure take offense fast.

In MY opinion, a remake of a movie that is 20 years or so older is fine as long as it isn't an untouchable (Godfather, Blade Runner, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, movies by Kubrick, Wilder, and Hitchc*ck). When directors remake a film that came out within the last ten years, I feel like that shows a lack of respect. It comes off as a blatant attempt to capitalize on the recent success of a movie rather than a genuine interest in showing a unique vision of the same story.

I am a huge Martin Scorsese fan, but I am on the fence over "The Departed." I appreciate the movie but it came out a mere four years after Infernal Affairs, which I believe is a great movie. I don't want to discuss which one is better because that is an arbitrary matter, but I will bring up the fact that Infernal Affairs was critically acclaimed in Honk Kong before Scorsese remade it which should be grounds for "TOO SOON." I am sure Scorsese is a bit pissed that he finally got his award for a remake. I am not saying that he and the cast didn't work hard but some of the work was already done for them. Maybe "The Departed" getting best picture was the catalyst that pushed the recent trend of green lighting remakes. I will probably feel the same way about "Brothers" when it comes out.
lost_addict writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 2:29:44 AM

original sucked balls anyhow...overrated.
TRUEMAN writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 9:03:03 AM

REMAKE SUUUUUCKS! dandy stop liking the old balls of SPIELBERG!
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 1:05:03 PM

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!

A small victory for film enthusiasts everywhere.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 1:08:08 PM

With Smith and and Spielberg attached this means the Oldboy story will be taken to the mainstream...

...and mainstream audiences don't appreciate having a twist ending where a father cracks his own daughter open and reams her.

They'd remove the twist. As a father there's no way Smith would have done that. It was stated before- They were going to change everything...THAT's exactly why we care they were attached.

Spielberg woulda made an entertaining movie...but Oldboy needs to remain disturbing. They shoulda ripped off the concept and called it something else.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved