WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Fox Makes DVDs More Interactive

Posted: November 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Fox Makes DVDs More InteractiveSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has developed a new application for Mac, PC and iPhone that will give fans facts, photos, games and trivia questions related to the DVD they are watching.

The application is being called FoxPop and will debut with the December 1st release of the "Night at the Museum 2" DVD and Blu-ray. When a T-Rex appears on the screen, for example, the user's iPhone would vibrate and ask how many bones that particular dino has. It will also tell what percentage answered the query correctly.

FoxPop comes through a partnership with Spot411, a recently founded interactive entertainment company. It works by "listening" to the audio and, within a few seconds, syncing to the exact moment in a movie.

Spot411 CEO Ajay Shah said 80% of DVD watchers tend to research something about a movie they have watched by going to the Internet afterward or will pause the movie and hit the Web for instant gratification. "People feel they have a right to know something about a movie the moment they want to know it," he explained.

After "Night at the Museum 2," the FoxPop feature will be available for "500 Days of Summer" (December 22nd) and "Jennifer's Body" (December 29th). For "(500) Days," an iTunes purchase function is included. When users hear a song they like while watching the movie, they can buy it with a button-click.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 12 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Arlo11 writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 6:41:27 PM

Pop into Pop-Up Video! :P
BrundleFly writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:02:47 PM

'When users hear a song they like while watching the movie, they can buy it with a button-click.'

Well that part sounds kinda cool.
vwkombi writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:13:08 PM

Hmmmm, iPhones suck. Thats a fact.

Now, no-one i have ever known pauses a movie to google something. Most people wait till the end. But i guess this is markted to stupid people who own iPhones, so it will do well..... probley.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:35:10 PM

"When a T-Rex appears on the screen, for example, the user's iPhone would vibrate and ask how many bones that particular dino has. It will also tell what percentage answered the query correctly."

1. I don't give a sh*t about fun facts while I'm watching a movie

2. Makes sense to put them on an iPhone, considering the only people that I see with their phones on in theaters are mac fanboys.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:45:01 PM

The night at the museum thing is kinda gay, but the 500 Day of Summer one is actually really smart.

I hope the Jennifer's Body one comes with access to a hardcore, uncut porno with Megan Fox
Stuntastic writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 9:38:46 PM

I'm not a fanboy, but I luv my iphone. Probably the best thing out there after u jailbreak and unlock it of course
Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 9:58:13 PM

This sounds like a retarded idea, even though I do look up stuff during and after a movie.
dandythelion writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 2:10:39 AM

@brundlefly - you cna also illegaly download it at the click of a button already.

just..google it.
aphid regress writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 1:08:48 PM

@Stuntastic:

Agreed 100 percent. I have owned an iPod Touch for two years now, and I still sometimes just play around with it thinking how damn great it is. The one and only reason I don't own an iPhone is because there is no service for iPhones in my area. (Pre-historic South Dakota) I have to settle for the next best thing. All of you people complaining that they suck, you obviously haven't played Doom, Wolfenstein, the Need for Speed game, etc etc etc. They're all fantastic games, and utilize the abilities of the Touch/iPhone to the max.

Anyways, this extra feature seems pretty damned pointless. They should instead be exploring the possibilities of the BD-Live feature for Blu-ray. It's still a very new extra for Blu-rays, and let's face it, DVDs are a dying breed.

aphid regress writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 1:10:17 PM

Also, I don't jailbreak. Apps aren't THAT expensive, and you're supporting the developers by purchasing them. Also, I've heard that getting updates for apps is a bitch, and updates to firmware is also a pain.
aphid regress writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 1:10:40 PM

*when you jailbreak*
Stuntastic writes:
on November 12th, 2009 at 12:13:48 AM

@ aphid: yeah the only drawback to jailbreakin and unlocking r the updates which u can't do on a regular basis or you'll lose ur unlock or jailbreak. But it's still worth it though

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved