WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith Signs on for "Flowers for Algernon," Hopes to Win an Oscar

Posted: November 9th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Smith Signs on for "Flowers for Algernon," Hopes to Win an OscarSubmit Comment
Will Smith may be the king of the Summer box office, but he has yet to win an Oscar, despite being nominated twice for "Ali" and "Pursuit of Happyness." But he's not giving up, even if it means going full retard.

According to Pajiba, Smith has signed on to produce and star in "Flowers for Algernon," a modern-day adaptation of Daniel Keyes' 1959 novel, which has already been turned into movies. One adaptation is "Charly," a 1969 hit that won Cliff Robertson (Spider-Man) an Academy Award.

The short story (and the subsequent novel) is about Charlie, a mentally retarded man who is the first human test subject for an experimental surgery that artificially increases intelligence. The experiment had already been performed successfully on Algernon, a lab mouse. Charlie's newfound intelligence (his IQ skyrockets from 68 to 185), however, comes at the cost of his ability to socialize normally, as he becomes increasingly alienated from those around him. Emotional consequences are involved when Charlie learns the truth of the experiment.

Source: Pajiba


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 45 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 6:39:28 PM

So, was being in "Hanc*ck" just preparation for this role then?
Ranger writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 6:41:12 PM

Ths iz ghood! Az wii ahl noe, whit iz a mezur ov entelighence, ande Whil Smth kan due ths kno truble!
duff4444 writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 6:42:45 PM

Spoiler! He dies!
Ranger writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 6:43:25 PM



... sniffle ...

YOU BUBBLE BURSTER!!!!!

c-prime writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 6:50:12 PM

In all seriousness, I'm sure he'll do alright, but I gotta say that this is one of the worst possible stories they could've possibly adapted into a movie. It literally just parades this mentally challenged person around for the reader's amusement, which is kinda funny but also kinda sad (mostly funny though).

And then after his IQ rises, the main character turns into a complete douche. That's a whopping fallacy right there: you don't have to be a smartypants to turn into a douche. Retarded people can be just as big of douches as they are (case in point: the one I punched in P.E. back in fifth grade for mispronouncing my name - don't judge me).
Ranger writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 6:55:49 PM

@ c-prime - Hey... I go to Walmart just to make fun of the tard greeter.

c-prime writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:07:28 PM

Hey, Ranger, I've worked at Walmart before and let me tell you that being a greeter is no f*cking fun. Once they post you there, they practically forget all about you. People walk past you as if you don't even exist, get angry when you get block their way, and refuse to relieve you to take bathroom breaks.

So, in a way, yeah, it kinda feels like being a 'tard. Especially that last part. I have experienced the day-to-day challenges they face firsthand.
vwkombi writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:07:51 PM

@ Ranger

Ever been to Hungry Jacks (Burger King as you non-Aussies call it) or McDonalds and made fun of fat retarded people there?

It's awesome, you get all the joy of paying out a retard and all the fun of trying to watch fat people chase you.
c-prime writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:12:04 PM

When you work at Walmart, the antidote for your retardation is quite simple and easily in reach: quit. That's what I did and now, I can say I freely mock the people that still hold jobs there as if I never did. Being a hypocrite never felt so good. Ha ha.
Ranger writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:14:02 PM

@c-prime: that day I called you Corky... and you chased me through the parking lot was one of the best days of my life!

@vw - Yes. And have you ever pretended to talk with someone on your cell phone whilst in the McGag's line-up out loud commenting about the fat person in front of you? Like: 'Man... I think I'll just order a juice. No way I can keep anything down after looking at Ms. Garbage Bag full o' cottage cheese standing in front of me!'

And before ANY fat person decides to chime in here to defend... f*ck off and go do a sit-up instead!
Ranger writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:14:32 PM

@c-prime.... LOL!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:42:34 PM

But going full retard doesnt get you an Oscar...just ask Sean Penn.
Derp88 writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:47:19 PM

Will Smith won't have to act in this movie because he is a retard
Gates writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:50:49 PM

YOU NEVER GO FULL RETARD!!!!
Ranger writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:55:50 PM

Hey... ask Ratner.

Once you go full retard... you'll never go back!
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 7:59:51 PM

sounds good! I always feel alienated
StrongR3tard writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 8:58:19 PM

go full retard, walk away empty handed
Lowryder writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 9:07:51 PM

isnt charlie white??
Ranger writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 9:09:26 PM

So is President Obama (well... half white, on his Mother's side)... what's your point?
Ranger writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 9:10:28 PM

Geez Lowryder - you're not going to pick on the f*cking color of Algernon next, are you?!
Stuntastic writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 9:25:08 PM

@vwkombi Man, when I hear Hungry Jacks I think of pancakes. But back to the story it sounds like he's selling his soul just to win an Oscar. He's become a very talented actor over the years and he's been deserving of one for a while. Hey, if Sean Penn can get one for I am Sam then go ahead Willy knock yourself out. I can't help but to think of Simple Jack though
Ari Gold writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 9:26:47 PM

'Hey... ask Ratner.

Once you go full retard... you'll never go back!'

HAHA!! f*cking Ratner..
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 9:35:03 PM

we'll see Smith...we'll see.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 9th, 2009 at 9:37:46 PM

Will Smith playing a retard? Shouldn't be hard, he did consciously sign on to be in Wild Wild West, and Seven Pounds, and Men in Black 2, and The Legend of Bagger Vance, and Shark Tale, and...
padfootbob writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:13:18 AM

aight
Randal Graves writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:16:34 AM

The fresh prince needs an oscar. if i said that 15 years ago, i'd be the retard.
wonderBOY writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:31:15 AM

ive read that story, no way can the fresh prince pull it off. just get tug speedman
rabid writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 1:09:43 AM

I can see him taking on this role. I'll watch.
tcu21 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 1:10:27 AM

There's a lot that will go into this role, starting mentally challenged without looking like Simple Jack, then gradually becoming smarter and then dumbing it down again while portraying the frustration of losing his intelligence and the life he gained through it. Great great great great book. I think Will Smith can pull this off actually. But I think i'm actually more interested to see who will direct.

and @duff44444 charly doesn't die at the end. But algernon does.
dandythelion writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 2:09:03 AM

it's not a bad idea. but it's sucha tired story. I'd rather see Smith do Harvey! i like smith and Harvey is one of my favorites. I don't think he'd suck
lost_addict writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 2:11:19 AM

f*ck that...i want 'bad boys 3'
thedudeman69 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 5:00:54 AM

maybe the reason he hasn't won the oscar is because hes the f*cking fresh prince and who gives a oscar to a black guy that wrote the song Get Jiggy With It.
pomme writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 5:10:00 AM

that feels "sam,i am sam" awful sh*tty movie!
lawman writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 8:16:56 AM

I would LOVE for them to make a Harrison Bergeron movie. Make it like the book!! (The Sean Astin one doesnt count, since Sean Astin was in it).
makingcircles writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 10:44:26 AM

I agree with thedudeman69
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 10:50:32 AM

So he is playing president Obama?
jeffw1978 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 10:51:19 AM

Being a retard won't be hard for him at all.
Ranger writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:17:53 PM

Yeah... I'm an excellent driver... when Dad let's me drive on the driveway... yeah...

82... 82... 82...

Dre-EL writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:40:21 PM

I hate when my favourite actors go oscar hunting, I end up being bored to tears.
KatManDu writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:49:13 PM

Why. If you want an oscar you don't go dumb, sure it worked for Tom Hanks, but seriously thats like a one time deal. If anything I want to see Will Smith as an evil baby murdering villian. I want to hear him laugh while covered in blood as he takes down the good guy HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

sorry just remembering the good old days of my life.
Flav writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:54:23 PM

I'm just gonna say it, Will Smith is OVERRATED!! I loved him in Fresh Prince of bel-air but nothing else.
Nekros22 writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 1:57:34 PM

Doctor: We have a new procedure that will increase your intelligence.

Smith: I'Z GOT TER GET ME ONE A DEZE!

If they do that, he'll get an Oscar.
Vincent Chase writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 5:38:38 PM

rofl at people saying he hasn't gotten an oscar cause he was fresh prince. Sean Penn was Spicolli, Jamie Foxx was on In Living Color, and Nicolas Cage just sucks. If they got oscars, Smith can too.
Monroe writes:
on November 11th, 2009 at 3:41:28 PM

i was forced to read this book in school. it had its moments but over all it sucked. this movie likely will as well
Zackass writes:
on December 1st, 2009 at 12:22:40 PM

Simpsons did it!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved