WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Goyer on "Ghost Rider 2" Story

Posted: November 4th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Goyer on "Ghost Rider 2" StorySubmit Comment
MTV News caught up with screenwriter David Goyer (Batman Begins), whose old "Ghost Rider" script will be used for the upcoming sequel, to find out how the new film will be different from the first.

"It's not exactly a reboot," said Goyer. "I hate to say it's more realistic, because he's got a flaming skull for a head, but it's a bit more stripped down and darker. It's definitely changing tone. What 'Casino Royale' was to the Bond movies, hopefully this will be to 'Ghost Rider.'"

He added that the sequel will go in front of the cameras next year and that Nicolas Cage is still currently attached to return as Johnny Blaze.

"This story picks up eight years after the first film," said Goyer. "You don't have to have seen the first film. It doesn't contradict anything that happened in the first film, but we're pretending that our audience hasn't seen the first film. It's as if you took that same character where things ended in the first film and then picked it up eight years later he's just in a much darker, existential place."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 9:30:18 PM

nope
nope.com writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 9:30:40 PM

sorry goyer, nobody wants to see this no matter how 'dark' you make it
Mighte Migit writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 9:41:37 PM

i wanna see it i like the first ghost rider film
Mighte Migit writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 9:43:11 PM

although Nicolas cage as ghost rider wasn't the best choice
Randal Graves writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 9:54:35 PM

It amazes me that there is going to be two Ghost Rider flicks before one Captain America movie.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 10:35:08 PM

It's not like it can be any worse than the first...
lost_addict writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 10:51:06 PM

sounds as complicated as nicolas cage hair
whoever writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 10:55:13 PM

"but we're pretending that our audience hasn't seen the first film"

That is exactly what happened, which makes me ask why they are making another one!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 11:01:23 PM

"It's as if you took that same character ... eight years later he's just in a much darker, existential place."

He became a Scientologist?
Derp88 writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 11:59:19 PM

EPIC FAIL
c-prime writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 12:26:52 AM

Save moviegoers the agony of watching TWO Nic Cage films and combine this with the "Drive Angry 3D" flick.
c-prime writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 12:28:39 AM

They can make more cash that way, especially if they convince people it's a sequel to all of Cage's movies centered on driving. Call it "Angry Ghost Drive 2 3D in 60 Seconds" or some sh*t.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 12:36:11 AM

@ c-prime: man, don't give'em any more ideas, because I can actually see them doing the "Angry Ghost Drive 2 3D in 60 Seconds", or something along those lines!

Please, Mr. Worstpreviews Site Moderator Man, erase these posts fast, before some Hollywood exec, or Cage himself, sees this and starts getting any ideas!
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 12:53:51 AM

again: as long as Eva Mendes is in this one, I'm golden....I dunno if Ill see it though hahah
Ranger writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 1:12:11 AM

@c-prime - lol.
Snarebeast writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 1:36:54 AM

Unless it's a full-on reboot that captures the comic better and goes R-rated, I won't be seeing it.

Having said that, I will, in fact, probably end up seeing it.
Ranger writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 2:25:32 AM

@whoever - you beat me to it!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 3:10:58 AM

"I hate to say it's more realistic, because he's got a flaming skull for a head''

This was a misquote about Cage and he actually said... "I hate to say it's more realistic, because he's got a stupid f*cking hairpiece on his head''
xXxRORSCHACHxXx writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 9:52:49 AM

Just reboot it, it's the new trend.
scarface85 writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 11:03:35 AM

yeah! much darker and i hope scarier
rabid writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 2:20:11 PM

Yeah, I wish it would be rated R, but then that wouldnt be too fair to the kids.

I'm glad Nic Cage is still attached. He pretty much is Johnny Blaze in real life.
TeemSelami writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 3:58:07 PM

Ghost Rider is way better than any batman, superman, or spiderfag movie. nic cage is genious and drive angry will be great. if you need more convincing get paid to have sex with ic cage it worked for me.

ps. he's into ball torture
Hitodama writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 4:21:55 PM

@RickyGabrielBird- THAT f*ckING HAIRPIECE!!! I can't take him seriously with that thing on his head lol.

@TeemSalami- Dude, you scare me lol.
rabid writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 5:28:46 PM

I thought it was decent. They say it took 3 hours to apply his hairpiece each day. it wasn't one piece. it's lots of tiny plus of hair glued one at a time.
I'd have rather seen him with the Con-Air mullet though. It's more fitting for Johnny Blaze. Hopefully the 8 years that pass in the movie will bring forth the skullet once more.
Fire Marshall Bill writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 9:58:59 PM

@lost_addict: LOL
diodoro writes:
on January 26th, 2010 at 10:21:12 AM

with Goyer in charge of the script - its gonna be like the difference between the first abd second treatments of the Hulk movies- just looks at his line of work - plus he said this time GR will be riding thru Europe - that says gothic madness all the way - i think fans may have more enthusiasn for Cage after the KickAss movie this summer- i have faith in the GhostRider flick - ride or die!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved