WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paramount on "Paranormal Activity" Sequel

Posted: November 3rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paramount on "Paranormal Activity" SequelSubmit Comment
When Paramount Pictures first learned that "Paranormal Activity" became a hit, they immediately announced that a sequel will be considered. Apparently its now out of the consideration phase and is closer to becoming reality.

During Viacom's earnings call on Tuesday morning, CEO Philippe Dauman said that "Paranormal" is a type of hit that comes along only rarely. And to have the sequel be just as popular, Paramount will have to come up with a unique strategy to have the same element of surprise as the original. "Our team will come up with the right creative and marketing approach," he told analysts.

"Paranormal Activity" was made for $15,000 and has already earned over $85 million domestically. The film still has an international release coming up, so the earnings will keep growing.

Click here to read our "Paranormal Activity" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Osiris3eagle writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 6:43:57 PM

hopefully it won't be the disaster that Blair Witch 2 was
Peter Parker writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 7:13:46 PM

There's one way they can make more money with a second installment... have the chick show her tits on camera this time!
And I really don't care if she died or got possessed in the first movie, cause she'd still have paranormal tits, with or without a demon up her plump tush!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 7:27:32 PM

"is a type of hit that comes along only rarely."

And once again, the movie going public sinks lower
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 7:42:00 PM

It amazes me how production studios do not understand that when something is great and stands alone without need for a sequel or spinoff, they choose to go through with one anyway. Some movies I could care less about (Transformers for example...and i enjoyed the sh*t outta the 2nd one) but rare surprises like Paranormal Activity just deserve to be left alone and be remembered for what they are and not for the unnecessary careless sequel. Guaranteed the next one will be made for like $5 million and wont nearly as good or nearly as scary.
Derp88 writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 8:29:04 PM

If stupid c*nts stopped wasting there money on sh*t remakes and sequels then movie studios wouldn't keep on making them,of course if they make money then the studios will keep on dishing out unoriginal rubbish and we will end up with Paranormal Activity 8.


The retarded movie going public are the retards to blame not Hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 8:54:24 PM

@Derp - I've said the same thing several times on here.

@murphys - no argument here. But you must know that ANY movie that makes this kind of return will be given a sequel... at least once. They'd be fools not to. Even if the 2nd. one sucks farts outta dead cows... they'd make a fortune (because of people's expectations now), before word got out that it did suck.

I don't blame them... I'd do the same and milk this thing 'til it's tits went Lohan!



PhantomCloneInX writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 10:16:37 PM

Great. Another sequel to an overhyped, overrated piece of crap.
Lowryder writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 10:26:24 PM

f*ck paranormal activity! its the stupidest unscariest movie ive ever seen! if they go on with a sequel there is no hope left in hollywood =(
murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 10:44:34 PM

@Ranger: I knew that a sequel was inevitable, its just amazing that studios forget about making good movies...just bankable ones, the ignorance is amazing.

This is like the proposed Cloverfield sequel, like really, what the f*ck can you do to make it any more different?

murphyslaw93 writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 10:46:08 PM

And guaranteed in the sequel they cast like DiCaprio and Winslet as the tormented couple. Very, very, very rarely do horror films work with known actors and Paramount will probably find a way to ignore that rule and f*ck up the unnecessary sequel.

Vacancy is the only exception I can think of regarding known names in a horror film and it ended up not failing.
dddarne writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:57:39 PM

I really like this movie but I dont want to see a sequal.
I dont understand why people hated BW2. I think I am the only person that liked it. That movie was better than any horror movies I have seen in a long time.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 12:24:22 AM

@murphyslaw93 - not always bankable either.

Ever see a RoboCop sequel?!

You know a movie is bad when you rent it and they include FREE Imodium and an airsick bag!
TeemSelami writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 12:27:28 AM

@PP maybe she'll have some sexy demon nips that are dark green or something i am also hoping for a pentagram carved into her chest
grossefidelityanything writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 12:55:35 AM

Somebody shut Spookycupcakes/Ranger up for the love of God.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 1:38:03 AM

U first c*nt! Show us how it's done.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 1:40:28 AM

@gross - if that is as relevant to a post as you can get... leave and go let your Dad molest your *sshole again. Tomorrow is allowance day!
lawman writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 8:10:23 AM

HA HA HA HA! Allowance day! But I agree that Spooky is a c*nt! He wont be on here again till about 7pm or so since he has homework! The f*cking kid is 15 and swears he knows more than just taco day at school! I guess if I were getting raped after gym and rammed in a locker I would hid in a computerized fantasy land too!
lawman writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 8:10:56 AM

*hide
Peter Parker writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 9:03:07 AM

@ TeemSelami: That's some seriously kinky sh*t...

... BUT I LIKE IT!!!! lool
StrongR3tard writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 3:38:20 PM

yeah she had some beautifl tits

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved