WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Let the Right One In" Remake Begins Filming

Posted: November 3rd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Let the Right One In" Remake Begins FilmingSubmit Comment
Overture Films has announced that principal photography for the American remake of the "Let The Right One In" horror film, called "Let Me In," has began on Monday (November 2nd) in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Plot: An alienated 12-year-old boy (Kodi Smit-McPhee) befriends a mysterious young newcomer (Chloe Moretz) in his small New Mexico town and discovers an unconventional path to adulthood.

"Let Me In" is directed by Matt Reeves (Cloverfield), who notes that while the new film will pay respect to the original Swedish version, they intend to forge a unique identity by placing it firmly in an American context.

In addition to Smit-McPhee playing Owen, Moretz playing Abby, and Richard Jenkins (Burn After Ready) playing the guardian of Abby, the cast also includes Elias Koteas (Shutter Island) as the policeman, Cara Buono ("The Sopranos") as Owen's mother and Sasha Barrese (The Hangover) as Virginia.

The plan is to have the film in theaters next year.

Source: Overture Films


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pH0u57 writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 4:55:30 AM

why couldn't they leave it alone? why not at least this movie..?
polardeficit writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 7:24:26 AM

i can not even begin to explain how angry this film makes me
Cbr writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 7:57:36 AM

Why do they have to make a US remake? In my country we like to hear the movie in its original language. Most of us learn english in school and by movie/tv. In another country germany many does not speak/understand english because they replace the original voices with voice actors speaking german, how strange. US people having difficult relating to people talking another language?

The US remake`s always suck. In this remake i think the children will have makeup like grownups, that means a thick thick layer. A girl in my class in high scool went to the us to study one year. She said that girls in the US use way to mutch makeup. I think they will also have younger actors in this, witch will make the whole movie quite sickening to watch. The original has balance, this remake will not. Please watch the original. I know most people in the US never travel to see the world, just disney world. But you people must stopp living like shutt-ins, get out of the box.
Supersweetguy writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 8:29:10 AM

How stupid can Matt Reeves get? Doesn't he realize that this film is headed for disaster? I love the original film, in Swedish. Please leave this film alone, for God's sake.
VDODSON writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 8:47:46 AM

Go f*ck yourself CBR, this coming from a proud american living abroad. Your one qualm about this remake is the amount of makeup that could possibly be applied to the actresses? When is the last time you lived in America, you call us shut-ins, and you base your opinion on the words of some chick living in your sh*t hole country.
VDODSON writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 9:03:30 AM

The original was excellent. I share some reluctance about a remake, but I am interested in his take on the whole story. Will he actually stick closer to the source material, than the original movie. Will it be a hard R, and actually include the extremely disturbing parts in the book. Or will he go the Fox way, and make it PG-13, and try to make it suitable for a mass american audience. If its the latter, I say f*ck Matt Reeves.
VDODSON writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 9:05:02 AM

By the Fox way, I mean turning singular pieces into a broad piece of sh*t movie like Wolverine origins.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 9:07:01 AM

"I know most people in the US never travel to see the world, just disney world."

You know that, huh? Have you ever been to the US? Do you know anyone that has? Aren't there any websites from your slummy, ghetto-filled country that you could be posting on right now?

Over 8 Million Americans travel abroad per year. The reason why a lot of people go to places like Disney World is that they don't want to see how depressing your country really is. You know, with all the child prostitution and inbreeding and all.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 9:10:00 AM

And yes, the original was awesome. A little slow at times, but a great movie nonetheless. I'm hoping Reeves doesn't f*ck this one up.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 9:25:29 AM

damn it...I didn't give a sh*t about remaking REC movie or other foreigner movies...but Let the right one in?

That movie is on my top Favorite/Best Movies...why the f*ck did they have to do this? Don't they know how to re-release movies and actually advertise them?

They shoulnd't have done any goddamn thing!
Peter Parker writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:06:51 AM

Paris Hilton wanted to be a part of this. Then she read the title and thought "I can only let one in? I'll pass."
SACdaddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:16:10 AM

@CBr: Yes Americans have difficulties relating to anything thats not American. We live in a geographically isolated continent that really only speaks 3 major languages (english, spanish, and a little french). But then again, we can travel more than 100 miles (161 km) without running into 3 or 4 other countries, so the urgency to learn other languages is less for us. That being said, most of us are pretty lazy when it comes to films. We like watching movies not reading them. Hollywood producers capitalize on this laziness by poaching films and ideas from other countries and reproducing them starring Americans. This is what Reeves really means when he says "they intend to forge a unique identity by placing it firmly in an American context." (Like there's anything foreign about a young boy struggling with adolescence!) That means it will star white Americans, living in the US, speaking English, nothing more. Its quick, cheap, and easy, and that's just how we like it. Believe me its not one of the things most American film buffs are proud of lately. But lets be fair here, for every "Let the Right One In" or "Ringu" we steal there are hundreds if not thousands of American films and TV shows copied on a daily basis throughout the world. I've been lucky enough to travel outside of the US (which if you don't know is VERY expensive for us) and have been very impressed with Europe and other countries. But I have always been equally impressed witnessing the far reach of our culture and its influence reflected all over the world. If you're not blinded by ignorant jealousy against America, you're trying to suck the red, white, and blue right out of our capitalistic d*cks! Next time you start preaching about how well rounded you are and how shut in we are you should look up how much of your country's economy is based on us gracing it with our presence and dollars. They may not be worth as much anymore but they still put food on your table. All that aside remember one thing, one of the greatest forms of respect in the US is imitation. If we are remaking this film it means we really liked original and feel there's a way to make more money off of its creativity. There's absolutely no disrespect involved.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:25:46 AM

Wow, sorry about the rant. Didn't realize my patriotic juices flowed this hard this early in the morning. I really don't care that much. Let the Right One In is an awesome movie in its original language and with the English dubbing. You really dont lose much in translation according to my Scandinavian friend Sana. They shoould just re-release the original here dubbed in English.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:25:56 AM

Wow, sorry about the rant. Didn't realize my patriotic juices flowed this hard this early in the morning. I really don't care that much. Let the Right One In is an awesome movie in its original language and with the English dubbing. You really dont lose much in translation according to my Scandinavian friend Sana. They shoould just re-release the original here dubbed in English.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:26:06 AM

Wow, sorry about the rant. Didn't realize my patriotic juices flowed this hard this early in the morning. I really don't care that much. Let the Right One In is an awesome movie in its original language and with the English dubbing. You really dont lose much in translation according to my Scandinavian friend Sana. They shoould just re-release the original here dubbed in English.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:26:12 AM

Wow, sorry about the rant. Didn't realize my patriotic juices flowed this hard this early in the morning. I really don't care that much. Let the Right One In is an awesome movie in its original language and with the English dubbing. You really dont lose much in translation according to my Scandinavian friend Sana. They shoould just re-release the original here dubbed in English.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:26:14 AM

Wow, sorry about the rant. Didn't realize my patriotic juices flowed this hard this early in the morning. I really don't care that much. Let the Right One In is an awesome movie in its original language and with the English dubbing. You really dont lose much in translation according to my Scandinavian friend Sana. They shoould just re-release the original here dubbed in English.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:26:22 AM

Wow, sorry about the rant. Didn't realize my patriotic juices flowed this hard this early in the morning. I really don't care that much. Let the Right One In is an awesome movie in its original language and with the English dubbing. You really dont lose much in translation according to my Scandinavian friend Sana. They shoould just re-release the original here dubbed in English.
SACdaddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:27:54 AM

Obviously having trouble over here. Help WP!
The Dini writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:30:34 AM

@ SACdaddy
How is 11:25:56 AM "early in the morning"?
The Dini writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:30:55 AM

@ SACdaddy
How is 11:25:56 AM "early in the morning"?
The Dini writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:30:57 AM

@ SACdaddy
How is 11:25:56 AM "early in the morning"?
SACdaddy writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 11:35:28 AM

@Dini: Guess that would depend on what time zone I'm in and how many beer I had last night at the bar watching Monday Night Football. I'm supposed to be at work right now too! sh*t!!!
stevepoots writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 1:29:07 PM

I love how people use "it was slow" as a negative trait of the movie. Not every movie is fast paced, quick editing, stupid plot twists.. f*cken hollywood has warped peoples minds
Fabian writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 1:46:11 PM

The Swedish version is a masterpiece. This remake will suck donkyd*ck..
Bob82 writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 4:26:39 PM

It's all downhill from here...
Kurskij writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 5:29:59 PM

I'm still waiting for them to remake Fantastic Four. Remake a movie that is barely 5 years old - that'll be epic...
I like Matt Reeves, but why remake a movie that can't get any better? I know, money, but I though he's a smart guy and hardly has any problems with future projects. Why choosing this?
Vincent Chase writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 6:33:32 PM

I'll wait before I get pissed at this film. I'm so far just glad they aren't bastardizing this film by making it all mainstream.
Vincent Chase writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 6:42:56 PM

Oh and to anyone who says American remakes of foreign films are terrible, tell that to Scorsese and the Academy who voted The Departed as Best Picture.
Kurskij writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 9:10:11 PM

^Gimme the digits!
Kurskij writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 9:13:01 PM

But, seriously, they're not necessarily terrible, but I can't remember a remake that improved on the original. And Departed is not an exception.
stevepoots writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 12:26:00 AM

whats the departed a remake of?
vaodsi writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 1:55:28 AM

WWWHHHHYYYY?
Cbr writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 3:34:26 AM

Somebody here said that over 8 mill from US go abroad on bussiness/holiday that is a wery low %. That probarbly explains the short temper and xenofobia : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xenophobia . I do not like the US more then other countrys i like. Going abroad teaches you that your country is a small pice in a bigger puzzle. I think it`s great that china is the new superpower. Time for a change and they are good at thinking far ahead. The human rights situasjon there will be better in time i think.

So even though your ears might bleed from hearing a foreign lanuage. And seeing children not children pretending to be grownups might discust you. Please go see the original, im sure your goverment will not arrest you for un-nasjonalist behaviour.
Aaron writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 4:46:41 PM

Cbr... You are a little ignorant and I pity you. (and I mean that without hostility - you just plain old don't know what you're talking about.)

Let me in: You can put this right under (or over) the Oldboy remake on the list of films that will never cross my mind again.
KinskiJew writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 9:04:16 PM

Cash cow.
Jensama writes:
on November 5th, 2009 at 3:16:31 AM

As a swede and moviemaniac myself, I have to say: Firstly, I'm very prejudiced against scandinavian movies, because they're usually really bad. But every now and then, one really, REALLY good one comes along and smacks my little ignorrant face with a bitchslap and I am forced to wake up. Those I like. And "Låt den rätte komma in" or "Let the right one in" is one of these.

Point nr 2 is that my favourite movies actually are american ones - BUT.

I saw what they did to "The Invisible" and it utterly sucked. They changed the friggin' end completely to, as Mr Reeves says, "put their own unique identity on it". Now that phrase scares me.

But I am interested to just watch it. I'm not expecting ANYthing.

Other than that, it IS said/known/a prejudice (pick one) that americans are a bit uneducated and shut in. And I don't say that myself to bash, I am saying it because that is what US has shown me, or americans themselves has said so far. My own experience. I absolutely love to talk to them, because I find it very interesting meeting people from all over the world. But when an american can't even figure out which state KFC comes from - or honestly believes that England is the suburb to Europe - now then I start wrinkling my eyebrows and wondering what the hell they're teaching you guys over there in US.

Other than that - I think US seems great. Very outgoing people. But it does scare me that it's like an 80% chance of getting raped/killed if you step outside your door. Hm.
Well, that's what I think of the matter. Other than that - thanks for making LOTS of awesome movies, US. And sure, it's all good that you like our and other countries movies - but when you make a remake - make god damn sure it atleast KEEPS.TO.THE.M-THERF-ING.STORY. Have a good day.
Supersweetguy writes:
on November 10th, 2009 at 12:12:22 AM

@SacDaddy, Why would you want to remake a film that has been released last Oct 31, 2008? It doesn't make any sense. You may think that a remake might be good, but don't you it's plain copying? Even if Matt Reeves were to go in a different direction, the film would still be based on a book called, "Let The Right One In".

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved