WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Heath Ledger's DirecTV Commercial

Posted: November 2nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Heath LedgerSubmit Comment
DirecTV's latest marketing campaign takes famous scenes from movies and alters them to sell their satellite service. Some are very funny, but two of them people found very inappropriate.

One features a scene from "Poltergeist," featuring Heather O'Rourke, who tragically passed away in 1988 at the age of 12. Another is a scene from "Tommy Boy," that shows David Spade pushing DirecTV while Chris Farley is doing his famous "fat guy in a little coat" routine.

If this trend continues, what can we expect from this type of marketing? LandlineTV put together three of their own DirecTV ads featuring Heath Ledger, JFK, and Jesus selling the product. We can only hope this will never become reality. Check out the video below.

Video:


Source: LandlineTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
c-prime writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:26:32 PM

Ha ha ha! Funny sh*t!
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:28:39 PM

These aren't inappropriate at all

I'm just glad they framed-out the Roman giving Jesus a hummer!
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:32:30 PM

What about the scene from: 'sh*tboy and Juliet' whereby Lindsay Lohan is nailing Gary Coleman (avec strap-on) in the coal chute to prove her love!?
nope.com writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:34:11 PM

why does the kennedy ass. begin with the grainy footage then translates to HD? ... f*cking stupid
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:43:48 PM

Stop troll enabling, Alex.
Peter Parker writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:02:07 PM

Can't wait for the commercial with Michael Jackson now!
I can see it already:

Michael is banging a little boy, doggy style, singing "you know I'm bad, I'm bad...", and then he goes:

"The only thing I like more than butt-f*cking little kids, is to watch DirectTV... while butt-f*cking little kids!"
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:02:27 PM

I always wondered what happened to Heather O'Rourke, though I admit I didn't know her name, just as the little girl from Hooper's only decent film. I didn't know she died. That's heartbreaking.
Stuntastic writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:11:05 PM

@Mink Glad to c ur back.
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:11:53 PM

@PP - lol.

@Mink - I think she passed away from an intestinal infection (or something close to that).
Peter Parker writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:14:24 PM

@ Ranger: Intestinal infection? I smell the work of Michael Jackson there! Hum...
Stuntastic writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:15:12 PM

The ads are pretty hilarious too
japaninmotion writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:21:19 PM

wow really bad taste.
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:27:00 PM

@Stuntastic

Thanks. Just popping in for a bit.

Anyway, that was funny. I find it strange, though, that a some little parody like this are way, way funnier than most sh*t that passes for comedy these days. I guess its because the creator of the parody didn't take himself too seriously. Will Ferrel, you f*cking retard, take note. No more Land of the Lost crap, ok?
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:27:39 PM

"though, that some little parody like this is way.."
skatemaster62 writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:40:19 PM

i really didnt see how the "tommy boy" commercial was "inappropriate". i mean CF made tommy boy how manny years ago, and i honestly think he would have found it very funny. the dark knight video was acctually more insulting because there using heaths character(not that i was insulted). but if they used Bales Batman would have been better. what im trying to say is people need to stop being whinney bitches.
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:49:33 PM

@skate - well... the Farley one was clearly a professional job (and it was nice to see it)... these are not. And the Farley one didn't have him speaking as these ads did see the people that are now dead speaking. The only line that made me sit up was the reference the Joker said about not being dead! Lol... ouch!
skatemaster62 writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:59:20 PM

@Ranger--i thought they were great....all of them. i just dont get why people are saying the Farley one was inappropriate, because i saw nothing wrong with it. and to my statement to "people need to stop being whinney bitches" is because these commercials are intended to be funny, witch i know you'de agree with me
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 10:09:52 PM

I do. But if those whiny bitches thought the Farley one was inappropriate... they're going to get their Bible's in a knot over this batch fo sho!
LegacyAR writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 10:12:25 PM

I'm with you Skatemaster. I don't see anything wrong with it either.
skatemaster62 writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 10:15:04 PM

@Ranger hahaha yea i know....i can hear hear them now screaming and throwing up red flags

@Legacy thank you
skatemaster62 writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 10:17:37 PM

stickey situation ha hahahhaha
KingAdash writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 10:32:49 PM

Bravo!
WV-Films writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 1:14:33 AM

Welp that made me laugh harder then anything I've seen all week.
rabid writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 1:44:52 AM

That's really funny!
katel5 writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 4:41:32 AM

I think if the ads just stick to having a movie clip then its fine,even funny in some cases.I did not like the one with TDK and Heath Ledger.They made a direct reference about him being dead.Death is never funny.Can you imagine how his family feels when they are watching tv and that ad comes on? I worked on a movie set that Heath worked on and I got to know him a little for a short time.He would be all for using TDK footage for a commercial,he had a great sense of humor.Anything that would upset his loved ones he would not like.I hope they receive enough complaints about it and have it taken off tv.Just stick to the movie like they did with the Tommy Boy ad.It was very funny and did not have to sink to that nasty level of entertainment. Also the TDK ad is not funny, the script is dumb and the actor is horrible.They did not even try.They just stuck Heath in there and are riding pretty on his coat-tails. They could actually hire someone to write something really funny and use a clip.I can think of half a dozen hilarious ads with the Joker that are not offensive,and funny.Why can't they? RIP Heath, my friend.
Ranger writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 2:58:52 PM

@kate - as I posted above... same thing. The only thing that struck a cord with me was The Joker making that crack about not really being dead.

I'm pretty sure these 3 commercials are just parodies, and won't see real airwaves.

borat writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 2:09:36 PM

good day for the convertible wtf?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved