WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Terminator" Rights to be Auctioned Off This Month

Posted: November 2nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Terminator" Rights to be Auctioned Off This MonthSubmit Comment
About a month ago, we reported that the Halcyon Holding Group company has decided to sell the rights to the "Terminator" franchise after buying it for $25 million two years ago. Owners Derek Anderson and Victor Kubicek used the rights to make "Terminator Salvation," but now need money to pay the bills for some of their other failing companies.

According to Financial Times, the plan is now to auction off the rights later this month. No word on how much the franchise is expected to bring in, but since the rights to "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" sold for $60 million just a few weeks ago, it is likely that the "Terminator" franchise will be sold for much more.

"We have a property that has made three times the box office [takings of the TMNT films]," said Kevin Shultz, senior managing director Halcyon Holding Group.

Several financial buyers and all the big film studios have already expressed interest in the rights, with Sony Pictures currently being a leading contender. This means that a "Terminator Salvation" sequel will likely happen.

Source: Financial Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kill-the-director writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 5:14:43 AM

i hope cameron or schwarzennegger put their hands in their pockets and stop people ruining this franchise
Ari Gold writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 5:54:52 AM

Start our bids $1.36
Tebeck writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 5:58:39 AM

Dont go near it Michael bay...or ill be back
johnny_boy writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 5:59:50 AM

ari gold, for what this piece of sh*t franchise is worth, you're over bidding by alot.
johnny_boy writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 6:02:37 AM

i know pretty much all of us who post comments in this sits are against all the remakes, but after seeing salvation, i think a remake wouldnt hurt this franchise.thats just my thought.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 6:03:28 AM

Ari gold and johnny_boy have no f*cking idea what they're talking about.

moving on... I think that warner will just pick up the rights and keep making the movies.
prowler writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 6:26:15 AM

uwe boll, michael bay, McG, john moore - you've been assigned for termination.... hasta la vista baby.
Agent Calavera writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 6:32:16 AM

they should remake Terminator 2 and change all the male names to John.. that's what i want
VDODSON writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 6:46:10 AM

Terminator Salvation was pretty good, screw all the haters. There was bound to be a sh*tload of hate just due to the fact that Cameron didnt direct it. It never had a chance, but was still a quality flick. Oh yeah, f*ck Transformers 2. Fin
johnny_boy writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 7:14:36 AM

spookycupcakes,you are 15, i just turned 21, ari gold im sure is at least 18,im guessing.the point is, you dont know what you're talking about.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 7:20:11 AM

Hopefully someone with brains and balls picks up teh rights!

I like Kill-The-Directors idea
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 7:34:07 AM

"spookycupcakes,you are 15, i just turned 21, ari gold im sure is at least 18,im guessing."

And look, you spell like you're 13, and you have quagmire as your avatar.

And besides, how the f*ck does age factor into anything? Only immature little kids pretend to be 21 year olds and then go on to say that the person they're talking to is a teenager thus their opinion is moot.

Oh wait...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 7:35:05 AM

"Terminator Salvation was pretty good, screw all the haters. There was bound to be a sh*tload of hate just due to the fact that Cameron didnt direct it. "

Exactly. That f*ck somebody has common sense about Terminator on WP
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 7:35:16 AM

Thank f*ck*
lost_addict writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 7:52:38 AM

I thought 'salvation' was decent but this franchise will never be as successful as the original because the lack of arnie...better let it r.i.p
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 7:54:20 AM

I hope that T5 idea gets made, that way we see whats-his-f*ck from T2
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:35:55 AM

Seriously, How does this sh*t keep coming up? It should be making tons of money. I'd by these rights. Anyhow Cameron better get on it once and for all.
warlord writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:47:51 AM

ive got 5$ bucks
lawman writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:40:35 AM

I've got 20 bucks and a willing girl friend with a supple mouth!!! Who is?
lawman writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:41:21 AM

* Who's interested?
billofill writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 11:38:32 AM

Terminator Salvation was the absolute worst film i've seen this year, And yes i've seen wolverine and transformers 2.
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 11:45:55 AM

what are these people trying to do?....buy the rights to the first terminator and remake it?...if that's the case...i sure as hell won't watch it
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 12:08:49 PM

Salvation was ok, much better than TF2 which came out at the same time.

It was an entertaining action film, nothing more required.

I cant see how Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is compared less of a franchise than Terminator. The merchandise for TMNT must be through the roof.
NatG83 writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 12:20:12 PM

I was one of the people who enjoyed Salvation. Yes, it had plot holes. And Bale came up a little short at times, but I attribute that to the writing (if you saw the ending, you know what I mean). I think the producers and the writers hurt the movie. I don't like McG, but there were some good scenes in this movie.

But I think that too many viewers have had their feed of man versus machine movies. Vampires are the rage now. If the sequel does get made, I hope it gets done right.
Snarebeast writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 1:45:24 PM

Salvation was terrible. I honestly thought T3 was better. That isn't saying much, but still all I hoped was that I could walk out of the movie and say it was better than the third one.

Personally, I think they should give it a rest. In my mind they've only made 2 Terminator movies and they laughed at the idea of there ever being a TV show.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 2:32:18 PM

"Yes, it had plot holes"

Where, there are absolutely none whatsoever.

"Salvation was terrible. I honestly thought T3 was better. That isn't saying much, but still all I hoped was that I could walk out of the movie and say it was better than the third one."

You can't like a movie with a closed or preset mind, as much as I point out flaws in Avatar or make fun of the fanboyism, I'm still going to be seeing it with a very, very open mind (albeit illegally, just to piss off the avatards).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 2:33:08 PM

Also, if you respond with "Y DINT DEY KILL KYLE REESE LOL" it's because skynet wanted to make him an infiltrator unit (which I believe they successfully did).
SeWerin writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 2:34:10 PM

I just realized that my photoshop is better then Avatars

http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/17/1819053/james%20cameron%20as%20avatar%20thingy.jpg
Snarebeast writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 3:08:47 PM

"You can't like a movie with a closed or preset mind, as much as I point out flaws in Avatar or make fun of the fanboyism, I'm still going to be seeing it with a very, very open mind (albeit illegally, just to piss off the avatards)."

I know, and I did go in with an open mind. If a movie isn't even well done I would at least like to say that I enjoyed it somewhat. I just didn't like Salvation.

Normally I like Christian Bale but I thought he was terrible in this. It was almost like he just didn't want to be there. I thought Sam Worthington was the best part but even then I didn't think he was that great. I thought the action scenes were actually pretty boring (with the exception of the very beginning) and I thought the CGI Arnold looked like a videogame character. And the BIG TWIST of the movie was ruined by every bit of advertising released for it, so it really wasn't effective at all.

I wanted to like it, I really did. I at least wanted a better movie than T3. I don't feel like that's what I got. It came off as less of a movie and more of an endless line of nods and homages to the others.
triggax writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 3:14:44 PM

Meh, Salvation could have been a lot f*cking worse.. Bale was pretty solid as John Connor, The action shots were filmed fairly tight.. It was an impressive looking film, it just fell short in a few key areas... Had the film not been another terminator installment I dont think there would be nearly as much hate on the film as there is... Salvation was the kind of movie that looked way better on paper, and in the trailers, so it really bunged up the fanboys when what they got wasn't what they wanted... But isn't that always the case? Maybe the trekkies can petition to have Abrams reboot the terminator series...
Ari Gold writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 3:22:24 PM

I hated Salvation.. It was a poor excuse for an action film let alone a Terminator movie. John Connor is in the centre of where all the Terminators are made in the final scene, so what does Skynet do? They Only send one!!? What the f*ck?! The giant Terminator thing that scoops them up from the petrol station!? It was the size of a sky scrapper building and no one heard it!? Lazy story writing. And they're just the main ones.
triggax writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 3:24:55 PM

Yeah that tip toeing robot was f*cking retarded....
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 3:28:39 PM

It might have had slippers on, I never looked at its feet.

Or it might of crept up when Bale was screaming 'Do you want me to smash your f*cking lights?'
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 3:42:04 PM

"Terminators are made in the final scene, so what does Skynet do? They Only send one!!?"

it was the first t-800 to ever fully exist, if you were paying attention. Skynet was certain that one was enough (no, dont start with the "BUT BUT BUT TEH 80's!!!" because skynet doesn't know that those incidents were caused by t-800's.

"The giant Terminator thing that scoops them up from the petrol station!? It was the size of a sky scrapper building and no one heard it!?"

It was attached to the giant HK, which, although not shown, can certainly be put together in the mind.
Ari Gold writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 5:05:05 PM

I understand what your saying with the T800.. But being an AI computer that can take over the world, but struggles to kill one human in the heart of Skynet is weak!
So Spook you're saying they didn't hear the copters that dropped off the harvester robot? Someone would of heard something.

Salvation was in the same vain as Die Hard 4. Die Hard/Terminator in name only and watered down action movies.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:03:46 PM

"But being an AI computer that can take over the world, but struggles to kill one human in the heart of Skynet is weak!"

That is the irony that was trying to be portrayed that you completely missed.

"So Spook you're saying they didn't hear the copters that dropped off the harvester robot?"

No becasue they're pretty damn sleek and silent
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:04:45 PM

besides even if they should've heard it, but didn't, it would only make that a continuity, and not a plothole.

Cmon people, what else you got?
Ari Gold writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:42:03 PM

I never said plot holes, I just said it sucked ass and was watered down. Anyways I dont care, its Melbourne Cup day and Im going drinking and my boss is paying!
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 10:19:31 PM

DON'T LET HIM f*ck YOU ARI!!!!
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 3:34:00 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved