WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Michael Jackson's This Is It" Dominates Box Office

Posted: November 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Michael JacksonSubmit Comment
"Michael Jackson's This Is It" took first place at the box office this weekend, earning an estimated $21 million domestically. The film hit theaters on Tuesday, bringing its total gross to $32.5 million, short of the $40 million predictions.

"This Is It" was simultaneously released internationally where the film earned $68 million in its first 5 1/2 days. This makes its worldwide total an incredible $101 million.

The supernatural thriller "Paranormal Activity" dropped to second place this weekend with $16.5 million. That raised the film's domestic total to $84.8, making it on track to pass the $100 million mark. The film was made for $15,000.

Among specialty openers, Searchlight's "Gentlemen Broncos" opened to an estimated $10,006 from two theaters for a so-so per location average of $5,003.

Troy Duffy's sequel "The Boondock Saints II: All Saints Day" fared better, grossing an estimated $461,614 from 68 theaters in its debut for a location average of $6,788.

Click here to read our "Michael Jackson's This Is It" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: Variety, THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
ksplatt writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 9:50:42 PM

f*ck mj
Blank x2 writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 10:09:15 PM

ksplatt, that is an awesome picture. I just had to point that out.
Ari Gold writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 10:38:21 PM

I cant wait for TBDS2 to release in Aus. I heard some massive spoilers on IMDB..
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 10:57:27 PM

Blank... u DID see it already?
TelexView writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 10:58:47 PM

I was watching some news reports from Europe via internet television ( LoggTV.com ) that said that maybe he planned his own death in order to keep his pop legend status. I think this could be true, now he is a legend again and his legal problems were forgotten.
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:15:30 PM

I heard something similar. A couple of things...

1. He did say to someone (after his 50 concerts sold out), that now wouldn't be a bad time to go out... on top again (I'm paraphrasing).

2. He was in NO condition (health, stamima-wise) to do 50 concerts... NONE of us are. That pace would have killed him.

3. He always talked about dying young. There's that theory about a self-filling prophecy.

Like him or hate him, I still have his '92 'BAD Tour' Concert from Bucharest on my PVR. I've watched it a few times.

A*M*A*Z*I*N*G*!

I have NOT seen a crowd respond to a stage performer like that since The Beatles! MJ made EVERY song a Hollywood performance. What a Showman.

What does it say of his fans (and I'm one of them) the raise the status of a person to icon status, whereby the icon replaces the importance of that person's life? Cybil Sheppard (ex-poke of Elvis) commented after MJ's death, speaking of Elvis and Michael... she believes that level of fame isn't survivable. Sadly, she's right.

(ok... here cometh the haters... lol).
rabid writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:24:55 PM

I have no doubt the freak suicided by doctor, but I wonder if he had planned to do that from the very start of announcing those final shows.

I wonder how people are faring at getting their refunds? Those tickets were $500+.
realgirl76 writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:28:19 PM

I heard it was good, but is it true he dies at the end.....Bad joke, get over it...LOL
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:36:01 PM

SPOILER!!!

lol.
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:37:16 PM

I believe... the Dr. did it... with a syringe... in the bedroom!

I always won at Clue! And I'm an excellent driver... when Dad let's me drive... on the driveway.
Gates writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:46:13 PM

I don't care who you are.. realgirl76 that was f*cking hilarious and made my day.
Gates writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:47:46 PM

Too bad he didn't get decapitated so we could have made the austin powers jokes

"It was apparent he wasn't headstrong"
"It's a shame he didn't get a"head" in life"
Gates writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:48:30 PM

Sorry.. I'm going to hell.
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 12:04:04 AM

Hey... I'm an MJ fan... but never opposed to jokes in bad taste (most know that on here... lol).

Bring 'em on folks (this should be great!)!

Mudders writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 12:07:17 AM

never liked him dead or alive....he rang gary glitter last year and wanted to swap 2 5's for a ten? any thoughts on what he meant??
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 12:11:21 AM

lol... r u joking Mudders... or don't you get that one?

If not... for clarity...

What did Michael think was the best thing about twenty eight year olds?




Answer: there's 20 of 'em!

Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 12:19:04 AM

@Mudders - btw... I knew you got it. lol.
Gates writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 12:29:43 AM

@Ranger

LOL!

For you Ranger:

http://images.icanhascheezburger.com/completestore/2009/4/14/128842377124162399.jpg

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s235/revmyspace2/graphics/Misc/Funny/8_funny_michael_jackson_good_stuff.jpg

http://www.wayodd.com/funny-pictures2/funny-pictures-bad-michael-jackson-WBv.jpg
lost_addict writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 1:05:57 AM

Helena Bonham Carter played his character perfectly in 'planet of the apes'
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 1:06:42 AM

LOL!

Damn... almost choked on my Bailey's there Bro!
warriors187 writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 1:16:32 AM

Who saw BDS2????? How the hell was it? It didn't come to my damn theater
telur writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 2:48:24 AM

it's not number 1 box office if MJ still alive
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 3:08:54 AM

Well sure. But you know he had to DIE to get this movie deal... yes?
Peter Parker writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:23:08 AM

I wonder if this will get a remake too...
Peter Parker writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:23:50 AM

Part 2: "That Wasn't It, This Is"
johnnydakota writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:36:53 AM

i was just glad to see that whole bubble boy thing was a fluke, thought mj ordered take-out from heaven
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 1:09:58 PM

I wouldn't say it dominated seeing how it only took 4 million more than Paranormal Activity in its second week.

Now that the surge of diehards and death fanatics got their fix we'll see how low it drops next week. Nothing against MJ (besides the obvious) but there's no way this will be a MEGA HIT as some were guessing in the weeks before it.
minkowski writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:08:12 PM

MJ started blowing right around the time he started sucking.

I'm not upset or glad he's dead, I just don't care about him. He was a news-ance.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 2:11:59 PM

It will destroy on DVD and Blu-Ray. I wanted to go see it but it wasn't playing in the Lincoln Square IMAX theater. That's the ideal way to me to view this film. As close to a concert as you can get without paying 500+

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved