WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Campbell on "Green Lantern" Superpowers

Posted: November 1st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Campbell on "Green Lantern" SuperpowersSubmit Comment
Director Martin Campbell (Casino Royale) spoke to Empire magazine about the difficulties he foresees in bringing the DC Comics superhero "Green Lantern" to the big screen.

"It's daunting. Just the process, something like 1,300 visual effects shots, it's mind-blowing, quite honestly," he said. "[The ring is] energized by a battery on the planet of Oa, which taps into the willpower of everyone in the universe. From that ring you can form constructs. So if you got into a fight, you could form a giant fist. Or a fighter plane."

Campbell continued: "He's the only superhero to my knowledge who regularly goes to another planet. Superman and Batman were essentially locked into a particular city. The Lantern isn't so Earthbound."

With so many effects it's no wonder that production had to move from Australia to New Orleans, due to the strengthening of the Australian dollar.

Click here to read more about "The Green Lantern."

Source: Empire, Coventry Telegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TGDirector writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 6:08:01 AM

Never knew what it was about and never knew what's so great about the Green Latern. Can someone show show me something that would get me interested in this DC Comic series?
Sonic writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 6:10:02 AM

Cool.
rjd040487 writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 7:01:41 AM

what a load, ive seen fan made green lantern trailers that were awesome. TG its completely up to what u like as dc comics make superman and batman
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 8:30:59 AM

So if he wanted to ram Lohan with a fist all he has to do is use his willpower?

This guy seems way to overpowered.
Dre-EL writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 9:06:31 AM

Dont care how many vfx shots its going to need, just get it done.
Dre-EL writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 9:10:46 AM

And make damn sure the are many hot multicoloured asskicking alien babes with big tits who dont have any taboos about nudity.
nope.com writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 9:13:58 AM

I trust in Martin Campbell
nope.com writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 9:22:35 AM

though I also trusted in Singer for Supersh*t Returns so...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 9:25:55 AM

the script f*cking sucked. f*ck green lantern
Peter Parker writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 10:17:00 AM

The best thing about this story, knowing that the Australian dollar is getting stronger. Now I know were to invest!
Randal Graves writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 10:31:33 AM

of all the dc characters to do a movie about they pick green lantern......jesus
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:20:17 AM

Randal - he really is a great character. Don't let DC and WB dropping the ball and making Supes a p*ssy (Lois-whining, etc.) turn you off of GL here. GL can move planets if he wants (so can Supes... but refer to my Supes (p*ssy) comment above), and he actually LEAVES Earth (as per this article). He can do almost ANYthing with his ring (it's useless against the color yellow though). They SHOULD write it in that on a conference to Oa they have Superman be a key speaker (if he can tear himself away from Lois for that long)... great for cross-marketing. They can do a LOT with this character.
warlord writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:31:03 AM

difficulties??? how hard can it be cgi will be doing all the work!
acslaterson writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:47:04 AM

If they make the visuals on par with StarTrek(2009) then this movie will look awesome. I am actually looking forward to a super hero flick leaving Earth.
rocketman writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 12:47:32 PM

I like what Batman said of Green Lantern
''Hal Jordan,Green Lantern.That RING of his is the most POWERFULL known WEAPON in the GALAXY.If he thinks something up--it just plain HAPPENS.
That makes him the Milkey Way's top cop.
His alien Mentor was looking for a man of superhuman will and a MAN WITHOUT FEAR.
This mentor's JOB DESCRIPTION for Hal didn't seem to factor in SMARTS.He's as dumb as a post.I've seen more inteligent HOCKEY PUCKS.
The clown makes oversized EGGBEATERS and MOUSETRAPS and VACUUM CLEANERS--when he could set the whole WORLD straight with that RING.
What a damb idiot.''
rabid writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 12:48:55 PM

The Green Lantern is one of the best comic books out right now. The power of the ring is pretty much limitless. Let's see how creative the writers can get. Hopefully something more than a giant green boxing glove.
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 12:55:56 PM

Watch... they'll steal this idea...

A great, epic feat for GL in the movie would be to buy a solar system a bit more time for it's inhabitants to escape by encapsulating their red sun from the explosion when it goes nova.

See Superman writers... EPIC SUPERHERO STUFF!!!! NOT flying around f*cking Metropolis for decades!!!!
LegacyAR writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 4:04:04 PM

Blackest Night is being regarded as one of the best comic book series ever, and I'm pretty sure that's pretty hard to do if he's not a good superhero. I have high hopes for this movie and I'm excited to see Reynolds as Jordan.
TheHundreds writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 6:13:43 PM

@rocketman frank miller batman and robin right. I always thought GL was okay until I read that, miller just labled him the biggest vag and it made so much sense and now I just cant get excited about this character. It doesn't work with the color yellow? Actually how stupid are his villians to not get past this?
OneTime writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 6:29:31 PM

the super hero is gay...nice ring homo
DEADLYMIKKA writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 6:59:41 PM

its quite funny that they moved the project from australia where we have all the technology to help produce cgi used in pixar movies and several other high end movies produced localy and internationaly, while our dollar still only buys 80c in the us dollar they are still making a saving of 20c to the dollar and they have a suitable base for multi regional set with our summer in full swing we have no limitations to travel plus for a change of scenery they just have to go next door to new zealand
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 8:43:25 PM

@OneTime - lol... priceless as always!
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:05:03 PM

My only major concern is the fact that the Green Lantern can almsot make anything out of that ring. Fights a 100 men with a tank that comes out of the ring, or creates an umbrella to sheild himself from gun fire or acid rain or whatever. that would make the film pretty lame, hopefully they don't go in that direction
Ranger writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 11:17:46 PM

@Skippy - but there are those that would learn of that ring's ineffectiveness against yellow as there are those that use Kryptonite against Supes. These guys have an Achilles's Heel.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 1:23:04 AM

@Ranger

i just don't want it to be this silly

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xnNmQOkIw80
vwkombi writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 1:53:16 AM

@ Deadlymikka

But Australia isn't particualy friendly to film makers, especially the local ones.

Not giving them funding, not allowing them to film in places, etc.
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 1:55:10 AM

@Skippy - lol. Geez man... have a little faith!

billofill writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 11:41:57 AM

As long as its more Earthbound than say the animated movie that came out this year. I get he goes on adventures thru the galaxy but that was a bit much.
Ranger writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 12:12:07 PM

@bill - I hear what you're saying. It probably will (be Earth-bound), so we'll have a frame of reference. But I suspect you also learned from the animated version that each GL has a sector of space to protect, yes?
pakmandogg writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 5:14:46 AM

intresting

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved