WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New Trailer for "The Road" Once Again Fails

Posted: October 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New Trailer for "The Road" Once Again FailsSubmit Comment
They just can't get the trailer for Viggo Mortensen's "The Road" right. The first trailer looked like "The Day After Tomorrow," this new one seems like a standard drama. The problem may be that the majority of disturbing scenes involve the kid (Kodi Smit-McPhee) and The Weinstein Company is not about to freak people out or give away any of the twists of the movie.

"The Road" has a great chance of collecting multiple awards during the Oscars, but the marketing for this film is atrocious. Do yourself a favor and see this film as soon as it appears in theaters on November 25th, because when I got the chance to see it in Toronto, people were not only crying, but also covering their faces in fear.

Plot: A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don't know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food and each other.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Click here to read more about "The Road."

Source: Yahoo! Movies


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kurskij writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 6:52:41 PM

The Weinsteins can't market a movie?! Yeah, hot news...
Bob82 writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 7:05:36 PM

So what's the point of giving away the twists of the movie or showing any important scenes in the trailer? I'm not saying the Weinsteins are smart, but it really is a smart move not to spoil anything in the trailer (even though many sh*tty trairlers have done it). You're just saying that cause you saw the movie, loved it and you're worried people will have no interest in watching in it because the trailer is misleading. Well, I don't know about them, but I really want to watch this movie.
whoever writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 8:02:00 PM

In a rare Hollywood moment it looks completely faithful to the book, if that's true people are going to be shocked with what they see! I just hope it does not go straight to DVD here in Australia!
vaodsi writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 8:21:56 PM

yeah the posters are standard schlock too.... none of the promotional material (aside from the clips) have even come close to showing the brilliant uniqueness of this film
vaodsi writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 8:26:35 PM

the music really killed this trailer.... it got all melodramatic.
vwkombi writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 8:26:45 PM

That sparked my interest enough, but it wasn't a very good trailer.

But it had an awesome cast (anyone who has watched Deadwood knows what an awesome actor Garret Dillahunt is) and an interesting concept.

Don't worry WP, i'll go see this movie with friends.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 8:27:23 PM

Looks great. Great cast. Viggo deserves a decent shot at an oscar. I can't believe that with all the Oscars the Lord of he Rings got, he wasn't even nominated. Have you seen what he puts into a role?
Osiris3eagle writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 9:06:33 PM

I'll definitely check it out, but I'm disappointed that Ebert gave it a "meh" review. Not bad, but not very good either.
acslaterson writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 11:13:59 PM

I finished the book last month(in 3 days) and it was the first book that had a physical/emotional response since I read "The Stand" when I was in 6th grade. The book is so haunting and deserate. I look coward to this film anf hope it does well critic wise and box office wise.
mizzou78 writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 12:11:47 AM

i didnt think the trailer was THAT bad.. but whatever. I assume the movie will be pretty good, the story sounds good but i never read the book. Does it talk about how america got "burned"?
warriors187 writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 12:19:58 AM

@mizzou78

I know right>? I thought it was damn good. I mean, this was actually one of the trailers that just after seeing i felt like i needed to show people. Whatever, ill speak my mind...I though the original trailer was Bad Ass, so i don't see how it could fail "again". :/
rabid writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 1:25:11 AM

The trailer makes it look like an enjoyable film, but I have this feeling it will be even better than I'm suspecting.
rekoob44 writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 10:21:14 AM

I swear...that was a great trailer till the name cards and the stupid music. This is going to be a great adaptation of an Amazing book. Why don't they trust the movie goer!
warlord writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 11:38:37 AM

this is going to be awesome
lost_addict writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 11:57:06 AM

at least it doesn't have cgi blue man-cats in it...
Tyrkae writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 3:26:48 PM

Ya this is going to be one of the best movies of the year i think i read the book and man its gotta be one of the best books around CANT WAIT and ya the trailer wasnt as good as the movie is going to be
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 3:36:58 PM

I can see what you mean- that trailer gives The Road the tone of Hidalgo...very misleading. But hey, if they have to trick people into watching a great movie for once who cares?
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 9:00:57 AM

I don't see anything wrong with this trailer. The last one was the best but nothing wrong with it. I think people know and can tell it isn't a walk in the park but to give stuff away would be a bad choice. Anyhow my only complaint is in the score used at the end which makes it a common blah blah blah movie.
PrevalentMind writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 7:38:19 PM

If you saw it you'd know why he feels the trailer fails to describe it...honestly I dont think what AlexiG is looking for will ever come to fruition. There just isn't a way to nail the tone and story down without giving away the few things that make this film completely remarkable.

Don't beg for them to ruin the impact with the marketing. What we see here is certainly enough to get people into the seats.
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 3:37:19 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved