WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Hardy Confirmed for "Mad Max 4: Fury Road"

Posted: October 30th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Hardy Confirmed for "Mad Max 4: Fury Road"Submit Comment
Director George Miller (Mad Max, Happy Feet) recently said that he was planning to start filming "Mad Max 4: Fury Road" in August in Australia. He hinted that he would want to cast a young Australian actor, with many assuming that Sam Worthington (Terminator Salvation, Avatar) would be in the running.

Now comes news that the previously rumored Tom Hardy (Bronson, RocknRolla, Inception) is the actor who will portray the classic "Mad" Max Rockatansky character that made Mel Gibson into a star. What's strange is that Hardy is British, not Australian.

It has also been confirmed that Charlize Theron will play the female lead in "Mad Max 4."

Story details are being kept under wraps, but the movie does take place a short while after the story details in 1985's "Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome," which keep Mad Max relatively young.

Source: Variety, THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 12:49:21 AM

i woulda went with the aussi.
rocketman writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 2:17:29 AM

Good choice,happy days.
Mudders writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 2:32:43 AM

EVERY AUSSIE WAS BRITSH ONCE!!
pomme writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 3:08:22 AM

he's very great in "bronson"!
Ari Gold writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 4:04:40 AM

No.. Not every Aussie was 'britsh' once.. They should of just used Mel!
Peter Parker writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 5:43:16 AM

Ale'f*cking'luia!!!
whoever writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 6:40:07 AM

Yah Mudders, just like every New Zealander is a dumb ass!
mdp711 writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 9:56:58 AM

I suspect this will be just a so-so movie.
lost_addict writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 10:07:03 AM

I suspect this should be a direct to dvd
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 1:16:54 PM

Y do u suspect that?? Tom Hardy is fast making a name for himself, I think he will do well in this role and this movie will hav moderate success at the cinema
AYT BALL writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 2:42:47 PM

I suspect you doubters havent even seen him in anything and should maybe check him out first...ya think?
billofill writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 2:43:17 PM

well Big deal Mel was American playing aussie so um there.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 2:52:44 PM

no problem with the cating choice, i wouldnt have went with as recognizable an actor as theron tho but o well

still why the f*ck isnt this a reboot, so stupid
ajholden91 writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 2:59:45 PM

Brady was amazing in Bronson, but still not sure about this film
lawman writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 4:00:38 PM

WHOA THER BILLOFIL. Mel is an Aussie buddy. Though born in Peekskil NY, he was raised in New South Wales, Australia. In Mad Max they actually dubbed his voice over to English.
Ari Gold writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 5:54:20 PM

Thank you my law enforcement friend. Well said.
TemporalFlux writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 7:58:09 PM

Willing to give this guy a go despite his terrible role in Star Trek Nemesis (his agent should have been sacked for that one). I am looking forward to a return to the Mad Max world.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 8:04:11 PM

They should have jsut used Mel, but it all depended if Mel actually wanted to come back! Besides Tom Hardy is a great actor, hopefully he can pull off a good Australian accent, but it can't be cheesy! Needs to be kinda rough, like Mel's voice.

And jeez doesn't i can't believe the man in that photo was the guy who played Bronson! He might be a new Chameleon actor!
billofill writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 10:31:32 PM

Lawman if i were 11 and moved to England it doesnt make me f*cking English. And to use the great example that they had to dub his accent they dubbed the entire movie because America is stupid apparently and cant understand English.
lawman writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 11:20:07 AM

BILLOFIL>>> What? Really? So one has to go all the way back to a persons country of birth if the person plays somone from another country? Come on. That is a lame ass argument. He had obviously been in Australia long enough to develope an Aussie accent. So was he REALLY playing an Aussie? Or was he an Aussie PLAYING Mad Max? You know the answer to that. And yes, dubing the movie was f*cking retarded! It took away from it in my opinion. BTW, So did that f*cking captain Fefe! Wow, super 80's club gay!!!
lawman writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 11:23:36 AM

And I dont know what "English" your speaking about but if its the Kings English, they sure as f*ck dont speak it in Australia! I have been to BOTH countries and HOLY sh*t are there some hard to understand people in BOTH! There are the England English speakers that sound like they are drunk and then there are the Aussie English speakers that sound like Gypsies! But I am sure I sould like a braying Ass to some of them with my NY accent too!!!
AYT BALL writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 12:30:58 PM

Not that accents have anything to do with this story but the fact is we english grow up watching american movies, so we are used to all the different accents from america, where as americans only ever really saw the typical english POSH bond villain in movies, so you just arent used to our more colourful accents, no big deal, but hardy plays some very varied roles and im sure he can pull off whatever accent they chose to go with for this movie.

Also is this a reboot or is it gonna be another story about max in his younger years?
lawman writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 1:14:54 PM

AYTBALL>>> I have heard from more than a few places, that it picks up right after the last one. Now by last one, I dont know if they mean road warrior or beyond thunderdome since, and maybe I am an idiot, I cant tell which one was supposed to be the last.
ChainsawX writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 2:05:16 PM

Mel Colm-Cille Gerard Gibson, AO (born January 3, 1956) is an American Australian actor, film director and producer and screenwriter. Born in Peekskill, New York, Gibson moved with his parents to Sydney when he was 12 years old and later studied acting at the National Institute of Dramatic Art..
AYT BALL writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 3:15:25 PM

LAWMAN - was kinda strange, at the end of Road warrior (part2) that crazy kid with the boomerang said we never saw him again, then in thunderdome (part3) he meets up with a few of the old faces from part 2, so think if its gonna continue on from 3 it could maybe be about that kid in his older years, maybe takes on the max name?? just guessing here but it could work, different story in the same world, aaaanyway, still interested to see how it turns out, cant be worse than part 3!!
lawman writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 3:40:36 PM

AYTBALL>> That would be a cool idea. That kid was a f*ckin loon! I dont know how he went from speaking in barks and biting motherf*ckers hands to talking like an eloquent scholar (when he was narrating). One doesnt usually go from wild, weird, loin cloth, ferral kid to f*cking James Lipton! But I wouldnt mind seeing the process on screen!
AYT BALL writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 4:26:40 PM

LAWMAN - Well im lookin forward to seeing our version now! will have to see if Millers version is as good!
darkraven28 writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 10:45:31 PM

I don't care what anyone says. Hardy f*ckin' OWNED in Star Trek: Nemesis and was a total badass villain. The film itself overall just suffered because not everyone rose to the level of Stewart and Hardy. And you know it.
vwkombi writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 6:30:43 PM

Who gives a sh*t where he was born? As long as he plays the role well, more power to him.

Australians are so shallow when it comes to their image.
Tebeck writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 5:26:08 AM

You waste too much money on crap films hollywood. You may as well think ahead on this one and spend you funds on research for a time machine. That way you can make mel gibson young for this role. Face it no one will live up to the bar mel set
Johnny Neat writes:
on November 2nd, 2009 at 8:56:37 AM

Sam would have been a good and close to Gibson look, plus being Aussie is a plus. Now with that said, Hardy can pull it off as he's a good actor.
Rich k writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 4:05:46 PM

good choice.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved