WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Could JJ Abrams Reboot "Superman"?

Posted: October 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Could JJ Abrams Reboot "Superman"?Submit Comment
Director JJ Abrams (Star Trek) just announced that he will not be directing the fourth "Mission: Impossible" movie. Now, MTV News caught up with him to find out if he is interested in rebooting the struggling "Superman" franchise, considering that he previously wrote a "Superman" script that was rejected.

"No one has talked to me about it," said Abrams. "Writing that script was a long process. It was a very passionate character for me. As a kid growing up it meant a lot to me. It would be wonderful and fun to see that brought back. I don't know what Warners is thinking or what their plan is. It would be a blast."

Sounds like Abrams is not completely against it, but its too bad that Warner Bros is taking their time bringing the character back to the big screen. Last we heard, director James McTeigue (V for Vendetta) was in talks with the studio to reboot the franchise and comic book writer Mark Millar (Wanted, Kick-Ass) recently revealed that Warners contacted him regarding some Superman project. Stay tuned.

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nope.com writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:24:04 AM

Why not... as long as the man of steel doesn't turn into a whiny emo little bitch, stalking Lois Lane by listening on her conversations OUTSIDE OF HER HOUSE, and oh I don't know.. using his fists for once.

f*cks sake was Returns a crap film
VDODSON writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:33:07 AM

Superman Returns wasnt that bad. It seemed more of a setup for Singer, so he could introduce a badass sequel. I will admit the whole son thing was f*cking stupid. The only way Superman could impregnate a human woman without shooting his sperm through her like a shotgun, is if he wore a kryptonite condom, and that would kill him.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:59:03 AM

Maybe Abrams, McTeigue, AND Millar should all pool their efforts to bring 'Red Son' to the big screen.
atn5022 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:28:15 AM

lulz @ vdodson, mallrats reference. LOVE IT
eddie499 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:32:58 AM

As much as I love the Red Son storyline, I don't see the suits in Hollywood green-lighting that one. If they wanted to do an Elsworlds movie involving Superman, Speeding Bullets would be my pick. It is one of the few that MIGHT be successful outside of the fanboy realms.

However, the Elseworlds concept films might be successful if they're done properly through DC's animated releases. Those have been great.
georgecostanza writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:54:40 AM

NOBODY GIVES A sh*t ABOUT NEW SUPERMAN MOVIES
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:02:35 AM

"Its too bad that Warner Bros is taking their time bringing the character back to the big screen."

Yeah, they should throw everything together really fast, without even thinking about it and f*ck it up royally, FOX-style.

First, we get the release date.
Then, the teaser poster.
Then, the director.
Then, the teaser trailer.
Then, the cast.
Then, MIDNIGHT SCREENING ticket sales are setting new records!!!

Q: What about the script?
A: Fortunately for us, we decided to skip that unnecessary step in film making. It takes up too much time. We just threw some of those little fridge magnets with the words on them together to make sentences. Plus, worstpreviews.com thought we were taking too long to make the movie. Gotta listen to WP, they get all their news from MTV. People that watch MTV are fans of stuff, hence, our demographic. Get it?
lost_addict writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:04:17 AM

i don't know if a reboot is a good idea...lex luthor again???just ignore the horrible 'superman returns' and make a new superman movie with a new villain.
The Dini writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:13:27 AM

I hope Tom Welling (smallville) will get a shot if they make it.
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 10:45:21 AM

No no no Get NOLAN to do it- no no no- Get FAVREAU to do it no no no- Get NEIL BLOMKAMP- no no no...

...another retarded articke. Want your answer to your setup news of will JJ reboot Superman- here it is from JJ himself-

"No one has talked to me about it," said Abrams. "...I don't know what Warner's is thinking or what their plan is."

There ya go. They rejected his script more like 2 years ago long before he started prep on Star Trek. they would have contacted him again by now. f*ck sakes- TMZ is where you should be.

Christian Bale walks out holding tofu and you're like "Bale to remake Soylent Green?"
billofill writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 11:07:29 AM

Why dont they just make Sequel with a bad ass villian you know like Darkseid and his Army trying to take over earth. But NO.....................
warlord writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 11:55:20 AM

i thought singer did that already
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 1:23:53 PM

@VDOD - KalEl has his Kryptonian powers stripped from him when he boned Lois. He was of normal human strength at that time.

So, no shotgun sperm.
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 1:25:30 PM

More likely he couldn't knock her up because he was an alien and this spooch may be incompatible.
mdp711 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 1:44:12 PM

@ranger...that's funny...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 4:26:27 PM

I just love the word reboot. How about end it? I don't know what the name is, but I think it's was Frank Miller who did the story, where Superman is old and look like Santa. The villains are two twin Hitler-clones, who Superman kills la Inglorious Basterds-style. When all is done, he commits suicide by burning himself to death. Now that's a freakin' reboot for ya!
Dre-EL writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:43:43 PM

Hows this for a superman movie, lois gets her head blown of and clark is then comforted by diana and her amazon sisters.
rabid writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:03:33 PM

Plenty of people care about Superman movies. But pretty much noone cares for a Superman with a bastard son.
FBO writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 12:17:44 AM

You guys do know that Singer got the idea for the bastard son from Superman II, right? If Richard Donner had stayed on as director then thats what we would have ended up seeing. When Singer did his reserch he ran across that bit of information and went with it. Plus it modernized the story. I could have done without it, but it wasn't something Singer pulled out of his ass
rabid writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 1:26:39 AM

no, he pulled it out of another guy's ass... which is something I've heard he's fairly adept at.
Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 12:43:12 PM

Yeah... chocolate d*cksicles are his fav!
Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2009 at 12:44:46 PM

Big Supes fan here. They added his son in Supes Returns was only necessary for that kid to push the piano. Otherwise... a completely useless storyline.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved