WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Australia" Can't Even Win Awards in Australia

Posted: October 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Australia" CanSubmit Comment
When Baz Luhrmann set out to make a movie about Australia, he needed it to be epic, expensive and star some of the country's biggest celebrities. He signed Hugh Jackman and Nicole Kidman and convinced 20th Century Fox to give him a $130 million budget, the largest ever in the country.

Many of you quickly spotted several problems with this strategy; If 20th Century Fox and Nicole Kidman are involved, there is no way anything good can happen. (I know Kidman is a good actress, but her films don't deliver). "Australia" went on to earn only $50 million in the US, but was able to make its budget back internationally. But the film went completely unnoticed, having only a 54% on RottenTomatoes.

Now comes news that even the country of Australia is ignoring the film, since AFI (Australian Film Institute) decided not to nominate it for the top film award on Wednesday. On top of that, neither Jackman or Kidman were among the nominees for best lead actor or actress.

What's funny is that Russell Crowe, who was originally set to star as the male lead in "Australia" before backing out, was nominated for the international best actor award for "State of Play."

The AFI awards will be presented on December 12th and 13th.

Click here to read our "Australia" review.

Source: Reuters


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 6:33:48 AM

Simple really, we just don't give the sh*t!
OLK writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 6:47:59 AM

I'm Australian and I didn't see this movie because basically it just looked like a stupid gimmicky piece of sh*t. "welcome to 'stralya" Really? f*ck off. And the whole 'we love Aboriginals' thing was bullsh*t as all hell, nobody likes them.
BigUnit writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 6:50:08 AM

Nicole Kidman = Over Paid.
ShanMac writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 6:55:18 AM

Australia was the biggest piece of stemming pile of dog sh*t that this country has ever produced for the big screen.It was poorly written,directed and acted and had nothing but left wing agendas throughout the whole film.Baz Lurhman is a d*ckhead of the highest order.As an Australian,i am embarrassed of that film.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:56:52 AM

Well maybe it shouldn't have sucked so much
lost_addict writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:07:13 AM

ever since kidman left cruise her career went down the toilet...
Stuntastic writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:09:48 AM

Irony at it's best and @ lost: agreed
Shan writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:43:23 AM

@OLK. Thanks for confirming the fact about the natives.

lol
Derp88 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:53:19 AM

Baz Lurhmann is a f*cktard
thedotsays writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:53:59 AM

sh*t is sh*t no matter what country it's in.
fatmanchu writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 10:41:54 AM

for starters the clothing was all wrong i didnt see any blue singlets no thongs no pairs of stubbie shorts no akubras with corks hangin off em and they werent ridin round on kangaroos
stfrit01 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 12:30:27 PM

this movie would have done a lot better if hugh jackman's character had huge blades coming from his knuckles. or if nicole kidman had been replaced by a crack whore. where we could have at least heard some improvised cracky tales.
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 1:45:16 PM

Crowe is da Bomb!
mdp711 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 1:51:36 PM

The movie wasn't all that bad. Nicole Kidman did an OK job. Sure, it's easy to bad mouth it, but I didn't mind it.
whoever writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:14:57 PM

@ OLK, I work with Aboriginals and it's racist, bigoted *ssholes such as yourself that make regular Australians look bad to the rest of the world!
ValiaVeweth writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:26:14 PM

This movie was a massive disappointment.
Aido4258 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 6:15:56 PM

True, this film was sh*t, too long, and boring.
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:12:49 PM

This movie would have done better were there some: Koala on Kidman on Kangaroo action.
vwkombi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:17:57 PM

Luhrmann is a pretentious douche. I only ever saw one of his films, and that was Romeo and Juliet. There were two good things about that movie:
- The pizza i ate during it
- The massive sh*t i took afterwards as a result of eating the pizza

Point being, just because it's a big budget Australian film doesn't mean Australians are going to flock to it. Unless of course it does well overseas and then we get all high and mighty about it.

@ Whoever
OLK was just teling it like it is. Most white Australians aren't big on the Aboriginal population.
BUT to all you Americans out there, the government treats them very well, and we don't lynch them or an such thing. Don't listen to the uniformed, completely bias Whoopi Goldberg.
Ari Gold writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:27:12 PM

I don't think any of my mates have seen this film.. Even the ladies.

And, Aboriginals do get looked after. They get free university. I didn't get free university! As if that isn't racist!? I come out of Uni with a massive debt and they don't..
Ari Gold writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:27:49 PM

I didn't get free Uni cause I'm white!!!! RACISTS!!
vwkombi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:04:00 PM

@ Ari

Many get paid for going to school.

I know many white kids do as well, but they actually have to turn up. It's f*ckin' stupid.
Derp88 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:18:48 PM

LOL@Americans talking about aboriginals,STFU you dopes.
vwkombi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 10:50:04 PM

@ Derp88

If your comment was dircted at me. I'm an Australian.
James.Speed writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 2:54:29 AM

I think people were a little too harsh on the movie. I'm Australian, and I had a good time watching it. As far as I'm concerned, this past year, we have had some really sh*tty films in Australia, and I do believe this deserved a nomination. If any actor deserved a nomination, it had to be David Wenham, who carried the movie. I'm sick of hearing about the little kid from the movie. He's more overrated than the film itself. Hugh Jackman and Bryan Brown also had good performances, and if they weren't in the movie, it probs would have sucked some serious ass.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 3:52:35 AM

Guess I'm the only one here who LOVED this movie. Not just liked but loved it. I mean, it was a little overplayed in the beginning. But once they started to move the cattle, it got a lot better. Plus, there are some amazing moments and this is one gorgeous looking movie with some truly breathtaking cinematography. An incredibly underrated and overlooked movie.
telur writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 8:09:05 AM

I think Australia is good movie and Russel Crowe can't make better
dwight writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 2:41:26 PM

Australia was a damn good movie. the only problem was that it was a western with no gunfire. if it had shooting it would have been almost perfect.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved