WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

America Loves Violence Against Women

Posted: October 29th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
America Loves Violence Against WomenSubmit Comment
The Parents Television Council is reporting that violence against women on mainstream US television has increased by 120% in the past five years, with the depiction of teen girls as victims rising by 400%.

The PTC compared primetime programming on networks ABC, NBC, CBS and Fox in February and May 2004 and the same months in 2009. It said every network except ABC showed a dramatic increase in stories that included beatings, violent threats, shooting, rape, stabbing and torture.

The council findings reflect a sharp rise in the number of crime series on TV, such as the popular CBS franchise "CSI" which is one of America's most-watched drama series. But the report singled out Fox, saying the network allowed violence against women to be trivialized through punch lines in its satirical animated comedies "Family Guy" and "American Dad." It cited one May 2009 episode of "Family Guy" in which a character gets divorced under a fictional 18th century procedure -- by shooting his wife dead.

A second group, TV Watch, accused the PTC of seeking to expand government control over TV output and said parents should have the final say on what their children watch. "This so-called 'study' is an attempt to force all television contents to conform to their own beliefs. Parents have the tools to enforce the decisions about their children's viewing," said TV Watch executive.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 75 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:07:31 AM

if u want the increase of violence against women in the media, just have them nude.america loves nudity alot more.problem solved.
c-prime writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:16:31 AM

If you ask me, violence against women should be done the old-fashioned way: in real life. And preferably with one's erection. Can I get an amen?
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:32:04 AM

"America Loves Violence Against Women"

... the entire world does! Americans are actually pussies in what comes to beating up women. In some middle-eastern and African countries, they have wife-beating contests. And they call'em third world... They're geniuses!!!
Women like it, I say let'em have it!

@ c-prime: AMEN, brother!
johnny_boy writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:38:27 AM

amen,c prime
Bob82 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:44:28 AM

Oh, come on, grow up! It's only Meg... we hate Meg!
Ranma-Irias writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 10:18:01 AM

well said. Nobody likes Meg. The only thing good about her is seeing violence against her!

lawman writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 11:55:18 AM

Listen. The only thing good about Meg is the TASTY PIECE that does her voice!!!
lawman writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 11:55:57 AM

Who I would totally slap around and abuse BTW!!!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 12:02:25 PM

if you're talking about mila kunis playing her voice...yea she's definitely hot...and she was hot in 'forgetting sarah marshall'...which was a hilarious movie
stfrit01 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 12:34:42 PM

why stop with women?...our children are also getting c*cky. keep everyone on the same page, hit a bitch...and her kid.
NatG83 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 12:47:39 PM

You know, there's plenty of violence against men in these shows. I'd love to see the statistic for that. Let's face it, programs in general are becoming more violent. They are becoming more realistic. There's nothing wrong with that. The increase in these statistics are correlated wit the increase in violence in general. Sure, they pick on Family Guy for killing a woman. But how many men have died on the show, too? I hate misleading statistics.

Violence predates TV, internet, video games, literature. More violence in TV and movies and games does not mean more violence in real life.
NatG83 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 12:58:48 PM

Wow...pardon the typos and bad grammar in that last post. I was trying to type it quickly.
smokeymcpot8372 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 1:18:20 PM

they also shot a baby in the head on family guy but u don't hear anybody bitching about that!!!
c-prime writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 1:23:05 PM

"why stop with women?...our children are also getting c*cky. keep everyone on the same page, hit a bitch...and her kid."

You have much to teach us, stfrit01.
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 1:59:04 PM



@c-prime - Amen!

There are many reasons women get abused:

1. Sloppy job cleaning the house.
2. Laundry improperly folded.
3. Towels on racks uneven.
4. Water spots on the dishes.
5. They don't shut up after you let 'em in the house when it's raining (hell... the dog does!)!
6. Insists on lube during anal.
7. Dinner is cold (beer is warm).
8. Speaks without being spoken to.
9. Doesn't know where the remote is.
10. Looks her man in the eyes.

Sure these are only the tip of the iceberg. But is the problem with the abusive men... obviously not as demonstrated by the (only) 10 examples provided above.

Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 2:07:37 PM

It's like they're asking for it!!

At the end of the day, it's a favor men are doing them when they throw'em against the walls... 'cause women like it!!
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 2:25:45 PM

Hey... one woman's abuse is another guy's foreplay.
pomme writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 2:49:05 PM

did Chris Brown write every misogynous commentary i read here?
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 2:53:48 PM

@ pomme: That was funny. Now suck my penis and shut the f*ck up, woman!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 3:03:32 PM

Who doesn't?
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 3:22:59 PM

@pomme - bend over Sweetcakes. Time to pay the rent!
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 3:29:18 PM

But I meant that with luv. XOXO!
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 3:37:18 PM

"XOXO" !ahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 4:15:32 PM

Nag nag. Violence are fun, simple as that. And not just on women, but violence on children, old people, blacks, whites, kanye west, reds, yellows, french, christians, muslims, jewes, buddhists, bill o'reilly, animals, retards, infants, kanye west and, well, we can make this list endless. Violence are the best invention ever, besides porn.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 4:18:48 PM

Violence IS the best invention ever. Sorry for the inconvenience for reading that twice.
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 4:28:57 PM

You left out Asians, Nazi's and Lindsay Lohan.
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 4:33:35 PM

And KITTENS!
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 4:43:23 PM

Getting a hard on now!!!
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:11:23 PM

Get in line!
xXxRORSCHACHxXx writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:17:20 PM

There are some sick motherf*ckers on here.
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:22:24 PM

Speaking of your Mother...
c-prime writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:33:11 PM

Ranger, that list is more airtight than Paris Hilton's caved-in bunghole.
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:34:15 PM

lol.. thx. c-prime and PP.
stfrit01 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:44:17 PM

i like to drive around with babies and smoke heavily with the windows rolled up
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:53:39 PM

I like smoking babies while I drive THEM!
stfrit01 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 6:00:23 PM

@Ranger. I agree with all my heart. I couldn't have said it better myself.

It feels good to make a difference.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 6:22:10 PM

I bet xXxRORSCHACHxXx's boyfriend beats him up too!
Buddy, you have to keep in mind that people have different ways of showing love. Your boyfriend uses his belt and the water hose to do it, but that's just 'cause he loves yo ass so much!

Now go cook him a good meal and take your hands off the keyboard, 'cause I bet he'll be home any minute now and he'll do a number on your face if he catches you on the Internet again.
vaodsi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 6:58:16 PM

One thing my dad taught me from since i can remember was to respect women... and everybody. And he lived what he believed.
i agree with the article. Here in america, violence against women is MUCH lower than in, say, Iran (duh). It's a horrible reality of our sick world that has been around FOREVER. Maybe that's why we seem to think it's "FUNNY," simply because we don't see it day to day. We don't see children being forced to stone their mothers in the streets because a man claimed that she "GLANCED" at him. Female circ*mcision, ceremonial rape, and laws that PROTECT and ENCOURAGE men who beat their wives are not the norm here in america. Perhaps the reason is because, like most things in america that are "illegal" our society gets off by dong it virtually through modes of entertainment. So while we claim to abhor violence against women, and say "look at us! We have low female abuse rates!" could it be that we just have different outlets? An interesting question.
But more on subject. Before some stupid, 12 year old 20 yearold cries out, "YOU CENSOR NAZI!" I'm not saying that this entertainment should be made illegal... i'm saying that it shouldn't have even been made. I will not support it. You all can watch it and get off to it, but i'm going to say no, this is sick. VIolence against women is a real problem not something to laugh at and poke fun of. Presenting it as comical entertainment is tasteless. I wish Hollywood would think before they act… and they do think… about dollar signs. It’s a shame people like you support this tasteless act of comicalizing (not a word I know) violence against anybody.

But that’s just my opinion.
If I was talking to many of you face to face… I wouldn’t be talking, I’d be poised for the best moment to slit your scrotums open…..

;)
vaodsi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:05:30 PM

oooooooh! And zack efron has AIDS
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:06:29 PM

Sure... that's all fine and dandy, but what about back-handing a bitch when she gets out of line?
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:07:25 PM

'And zack efron has AIDS' -- lol. Nice finale.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:21:37 PM

@ vaodsi: Thanks a lot, man! Just lost my erection! Party Pooper!!!!!!!!!!
vaodsi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:21:42 PM

however i do think that the choice should be left to parents. And i'm not opposed to depictions of abuse in drama where it serves a serious dramatic purpose and is depicted for the horrible act that it is etc... i'm not one of THOSE people who thinks every film or tv show with rape should be banned AT ALL!
good example is liam neeson's wife being raped in rob roy. That seen makes you sick, but it has purpose, and accurately portrays the despicableness of the situation.
i'm just not kool with the trivializing through tasteless comedy. but i should shut up now before i lose my rep as a good sport.
@ranger... b acksla[[ingn the bitch? well if your dog bites you then technically, according to a dog psychologist you are supposed to bite them back ;)
and wow i am tired casue that is a lame comeback... like saying "What's up" and having some idiot answer, "The sky!"
stfrit01 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:24:48 PM

@Vadosi, I agree with what you are saying.

I can't speak for everyone else, I just think it is fun to one-up most of the idiots on this site with off the wall comments.

Except all of my comments about smoking with babies are 100% true. I am making them tougher...hardening their arteries....reflects bullets...they'll think me when they're older.
vaodsi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:24:57 PM

sorry parker.... i hate it it when that happens. Like once there was a very hot girl FROM THE BACK and then she turned around and she had the face of a troll and oranges in her bra.... no joke.. she had ORANGES in her BRA! i lost it....
vaodsi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:27:05 PM

or once it was mornign and i was having this AWESOME dream and my buddy came in to ask me if he could use my deoderant cause he ran out of his, and suddenly HE was in my dream.... and i lost it.....
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:30:59 PM

@ Vadosi: Seriously, that sh*t is freakier that Paranormal Activity!
See, that bitch with the oranges instead of a real rack...? That's one example of a girl in need of some serious spanking! lol
vaodsi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:35:33 PM

dude t6hat's not all... one girl who flashed me DIDN'T HAVE BOOBS TO FLASH! like man chest with huge nipples. that was REEEEALY not cool. Then she covered up by saying they had "fallen out".... it was in high school.... sophmore year
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:38:08 PM

Then you punched in the face... right? lol
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:38:38 PM

*Then you punched her in the face... right? lol
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:41:08 PM

Well... he couldn't very well punch her in the tits. She didn't have any!
vaodsi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:43:44 PM

I said "HUH?" like i hadn't noticed.
she said, "You didn't see my boobs fall out?"
i said, "NO thank JESUS!"
She said, "Well they did!"
i said, "Well get some implants... i mean a reduction..."
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:44:11 PM

I seriously hope she made up for the lack of tits with a big and hungry ass!!!
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:45:12 PM

And a maggot-free crotch!
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:46:03 PM

(Tee-hee)... maggots make my beaver tingle... (giggle).
vaodsi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:46:22 PM

Then she said, "are you gay?"
And i said, "I'm thinking about it...."
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:47:22 PM

LOL!
vaodsi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:49:07 PM

gooood times :)
i wonder if they'll take down our posts since we're off subject
vaodsi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:51:15 PM

I saw a CLOWN at college today... he was sitting outside my public speaking class..... it was scary. He had green hair, a red nose, ghost white face and clown shoes.. and tight pants.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 7:59:30 PM

Yeah, the site's moderator is becoming a little too trigger-happy for my taste! Hey, censorship man, in case you read this, grow a sense of humor and stop killing the talent here, will'ya? These people work hard to be funny, deep, intelligent and insightful at the same time!
In other words, remove that big stiff stick you have up your ass and enjoy the show alrighty?

(if this stays here for more than 20 minutes, I want a medal)
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:00:51 PM

If it stays up for more than 20 minutes I want a blow job (oh... you weren't taking about my erection, were you?!).
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:07:41 PM

Come to think about it... Scratch that medal, I want the blow job too.

Are you reading this, Mr. Censorship man? Hope you brushed your teeth!!!
vwkombi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:36:29 PM

@ c-prime

Amen!

But i hate this double standard bullsh*t. Equal rights my hairy white ass, more men have been killed in media than women. Film and T.V reflect life, and in life women get hurt. f*ckin' deal with it.

And these f*ckin' tv watchdogs. I say we take there children away from them, because when parents are so stupid that they can't even RAISE THEIR OWN f*ckIN' CHILDREN then that's child abuse. Not everything on tv is made for you and your children, that's why it SHOULDN'T BE RAISING YOUR f*ckIN' CHILDREN.

God, these tv watchdogs get me so angry. I'm going to run someone over in the work ute now.
vwkombi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:37:14 PM

P.S

If you feminists want equal rights, learn to take a beating.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:48:57 PM

why don't they say that violence towards males rose 5000% oh because women r a bunch of pussies who cry and whine. put a c*ck in your mouth and a pizza in the oven and you won't get slapped.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 8:49:10 PM

sorry yes you will
Peter Parker writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:04:17 PM

@ vwkombi: It's like you read my mind!!!! Damn!!!
CJP writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:09:18 PM

eh maybe the point was that it was men perpetrating the violence against women and usually men do it to men so it's like a dominance thing...or overly sensitive douches being douchey about it...but i doubt it was feminists...they're to busy complaining that they don't have as much body hair as men...damn you mother nature!!!
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:20:31 PM

So the guys get one OJ and a Jeffrey Dahmer every generation, big deal. How does decapitation and cannibalism even begin to compare with all the crazy sh*t Spears and Lohan get away with?!
Ranger writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 9:53:11 PM

And how can you trust something that bleeds 4-5 days a month and doesn't die?!
Peter Parker writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 12:33:50 AM

It's been hours and this is still here. Yaaay!!!

I demand my blow job from MR. WorstPreview's Censorship Man!!!
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 1:30:17 AM

What do you say to a woman with 2 black eyes?

Nothing... she's already been told twice!
vwkombi writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 1:49:58 AM

@Peter Parker

That's because i can read your mind.

And FYI, doing that to a baby goat would land you in jail, yes even if you ate the goat afterwards.
vwkombi writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 2:27:56 AM

Ranger,

How can you tell if your wife is dead?

The sex is the same, but the dishes pile up!
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2009 at 12:16:50 PM

Why is a dishwasher better than a woman?

Because with the dishwasher, even after you throw in a load... the dishes STILL GET WASHED!!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved