WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Willem Dafoe Almost Played "Batman"

Posted: October 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Willem Dafoe Almost Played "Batman"Submit Comment
Willem Dafoe's (Spider-Man) IMDB page says that the actor was once considered to play The Joker in Tim Burton's 1989 "Batman" film. To get the facts, MTV News sat down with Dafoe and asked him if there is any truth to that.

Dafoe said that the filmmakers never wanted him for The Joker role. They instead considered him for Batman, before Michael Keaton was eventually cast. "Very early, they talked to me about playing Batman," he revealed.

Dafoe continued: "I hate to spread these things because unless you remember it well, you're stoking the fires of bullsh*t. But I remember [it]. I've had my brush with these things."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Chris Wise writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 6:24:54 PM

Yeah yeah...Anyway Michael Keaton was THE Batman far from anyone else, he had this ambiguity and this thing in the eye which showed his doubts and his suffering.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 6:31:56 PM

Keaton was BETTER than Bale and you all f*cking know it. Keaton had a natural voice and didn't sound like a boy who's balls hadn't dropped who was trying to sound like an adult. But then again he had that plain clothes scene in the '89 Batman where he smashed a vase with a fire poker and did an unnecessary Beetlejuice voice. Yeah, that was the only voice problem in the older movies that I recall. Bale's Batvoice is hugely distracting in most of his scenes, with the possible exception being when he's opposite Heath Ledger in the interrogation room.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 6:44:54 PM

He's really not guys like seriously.
BurmaShave writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 6:53:05 PM

whydouwannakillme!!!!!!!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:09:56 PM

Keaton was batman because he looks nothing like what you'd imagine batman to be!

That's why he's so perfect! there was a petition going around demanding that Keaton not be cast because he didn't look enough like batman. He IS batman, and Bruce Wayne.
OneTime writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:33:32 PM

gary coleman for batman. sry ranger .
Detrimental writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:34:09 PM

I want to be Batman.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:49:28 PM

Alway thought Dafoe should've been cast as The Joker. Not sure where or when, but he'd be perfect. Maybe if Zack Snyder gets his wish and makes "The Dark Knight Returns" in 10 years. Dafoe will be age appropriate and he looks exactly like Frank Miller's drawings. Even without the makeup
nope.com writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:07:11 PM

And I thought Keaton was an ugly Bruce Wayne...
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:20:37 PM

I think Bale is the most accurate interpretation of Bruce Wayne and his Batman is the most intimidating to date. Say what you want about the Bat voice but its there for a purpose (at least conceptually it makes sense), he's bigger, he's faster, he's meaner, he captures more of that animal like monster nature. Which is what Bale was going for since day one. Keaton is really just a man in a suit and while some will say "well that's what Batman is" he's really more than that.

He's not viewed as that by anyone who knows him well(in the world I'm speaking of) and most of the time its those who view him as just a man in a suit that get that rude awakening when he's seemingly disappearing and appearing out of nowhere with what appears to be superhuman abilities.

Bale's take was written better anyway, at least in Begins it was. You had a more properly fleshed out character than Keaton ever had the chance of even portraying. But you can't base an argument of what could have been. Being the bat fanatic I am, I'd have to say I'd pick Bale any day of the week. Willem Dafoe just isn't charismatic enough in my opinion, he certainly doesn't look good enough either.
j-man writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:27:55 PM

is that another dark knight (wana have sex with dark knight dvd, blu ray, get it put on a vhs so i can f*ck the sh*t out of it and then jerk off while thinking bout the dark knight being put back into cinemas) fanboy i see above me!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:28:58 PM

What movie is that pic above from? Dafoe looks mad young...but scary and evil as always
Lowryder writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:47:39 PM

MICHAEL CAINE IS BATMAN!
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 9:16:30 PM

@OneTime - DAMMIT!!!
xXxRORSCHACHxXx writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 9:51:29 PM

Michael Keaton was the best Batman in my opinion simply because he played two different characters so well. He was the unassuming Wayne in some scenes and the terrifying Dark Knight the next. Just watch Beetlejuice and then watch Batman and you can see the man's acting talent. I also liked how they used Keaton and didn't show where he learned all of his ass-kicking moves which gave his take on Batman a much more mysterious vibe to him. And just watch him in the final scene with Nicholson, can Bale or anyone else pull off that smirk in front of the Joker?
xXxRORSCHACHxXx writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 10:04:52 PM

And Dafoe looks like he could work as Hugo Strange, just shave his head and grow a beard. Need to see it just to know.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 10:13:43 PM

I'd say it's a tie between Keaton and Bale. Their performances in Batman Returns and Batman Begins sort of cancel each other out (both were superb). I'm sorry, but I don't really get the logic behind the "Bale's Batman voice is too gravely and loud, so Bale is the worst" argument. He has a reason for it, I don't know, it doesn't bother me. Oh, the more interesting non-news is that Mel Gibson was the first actor offered the role, but had to decline due to him having to shoot Lethal Weapon 2. Now, that would have been pretty damn cool (no offense to Keaton).
telur writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 12:39:33 AM

Bale is the best Batman. Nolan never wrong pick up the artist, even Holmes & Gylenhall still good for me
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 2:25:30 AM

Michael Keaton definitely owned! I really wish he was getting more roles now, I guess he kinda is....Willem is a kick ass actor too
Mudders writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 2:48:05 AM

horses for courses i guess...in 1989 Keaton was the best for it and in 2005/08 Bale is best for it...the only way i can say that Keaton is better is by saying he would fit Nolans versions of Batman...but unsure if Bale would fit into the 1989 Burton versions.

Keaton JUST...but not by much
Mudders writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 2:49:04 AM

as for Dafoe....smallest Batman ever!!!
vwkombi writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 3:00:24 AM

@ j-man

Nope, his not a fanboy, just has his preference. He also gave valid points as to justify his opinion. Maybe you should try using a bit of intellect.

I would love to see Dafoe take on the Joker.

I also agree with TH3D4RKKN1GH7 entirely.
rabid writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 4:16:42 AM

thats gotta be a big load of BS. Noone would cast a Batman with teeth like that.
now the Joker, i could see.
Hell, Nolan should give him a role in the next one. Any role. Black Mask. Riddler. Anyone.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 6:41:37 AM

Clooney was the best Batman.

...damn, even typing that I can't hold a straight face!
SHONUFF01 writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 8:06:50 AM

Well hell if he's gonna say George Clooney, then f*ck it, let Adam West get back in the suit!
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 11:44:24 AM

if george clooney was batman in the first place...things might have been better?...on the other hand...imagine if michael keaton was batman throughout the rest of the films...with danny elfman involved for all 4...yea that would've been nice
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 11:45:18 AM

and tim burton directing all 4 too...just in case anyone thought i forgot to mention him
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 11:59:41 AM

Speaking of Keaton, what happened to him after the Batman films? I mean he's been in some stuff lately but he was like off the map for a LONG time.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 12:29:14 PM

Jack Frost happened to him.
warlord writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 12:49:08 PM

now he would have kick'd ass as joker
rabid writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 2:14:59 PM

Keaton was originally cast to play Jack on Lost and die in the pilot episode, but he backed out when they decided to make Jack the main character.
He's supposed to be in Toy Story 3 as a Ken doll. I could see him sticking to the voice acting from here on out. He's totally bald now and looking his age.
blonde writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 7:20:04 PM

keaton,clooney and kilmer were better batmans than bale.......bale sucks
LastActionHero writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 12:24:20 AM

Alright, everybody just chillllllll
stfrit01 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 5:54:55 PM

@Blonde, Kilmer? REALLY? Kilmer?..dude sucked. he has never not sucked. I would rather have had Oprah be Batman. Hell, I would even settle for fat Oprah.
stfrit01 writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 6:15:33 PM

and clooney sucked as batman, but the dude's cool. very few people could recover from sucking as a super hero.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved