WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Is the Chris Farley DirecTV Ad Offensive?

Posted: October 27th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Is the Chris Farley DirecTV Ad Offensive?Submit Comment
DirectTV has put together some great commercials in the past by having actors re-enact famous movies scenes, only instead of saying the correct lines, the actors are promoting DirecTV. William Shatner has done it with "Star Trek," Christopher Lloyd with "Back to the Future," Sigourney Weaver with "Aliens," Kathy Bates with "Misery," and Naomi Watts with "King Kong."

Continuing the theme, DirecTV's new commercial has a "Tommy Boy" scene altered to have David Spade promote the company's product instead of telling Chris Farley not to do his "fat guy in a little coat" routine.

Since Farley has tragically passed away almost twelve years ago, some people feel that using him for some commercial is in bad taste. I personally found it a bit off-putting, when I saw on TV, but not offensive.

Do you find anything wrong with this commercial?

Commercial:


Source: YouTube


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
metathought writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:33:25 AM

Ha! Classic.
BrundleFly writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:42:40 AM

While not overly offensive, it's still sorta in bad taste. Didn't think David Spade would ever be up for doing something like that.
BrundleFly writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:45:03 AM

...Still pretty funny though.
VDODSON writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:58:24 AM

David Spade is a tool.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:00:43 AM

I think David Spade had seen the funny side to that, just like Chris Farley would have.....too much PC in this world!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:06:33 AM

Are the orville reddenbacker ads offensive?
freshfromthedeli writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:20:05 AM

People are stupid. This isn't offensive at all.
Kill-the-director writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 9:06:14 AM

david spade wouldnt have done it if he thought it was offensive.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 9:10:33 AM

If anything it made me remember Chris Farley cuz I completely forgot about him. I'm pretty sure his family was well compensated to use his image in a commercial cuz I'm sure they asked the family 1st
darthraige writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 9:23:29 AM

I laughed my ass off when I saw Farley back on TV and no I want to watch his movies again. He's a legend. This is no way offensive. Christ, people are so f*cking sensitive these days. Bunch of pussies with no humor.

FARLEY RULES!
BaileyLock writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 9:37:01 AM

it's fine. who gives a sh*t
Peter Parker writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 9:39:41 AM

It's not like they're raping his corpse!!!
warlord writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 9:59:02 AM

if his famly dose not care why should we
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 10:18:40 AM

I can see why it would make people upset, its such a hilariously classic movie and we all love and miss Chris Farley...Its cool that Tommy Boys back in the open though!!
KirkLazerus writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 10:21:57 AM

there's nothing bad about this commercial people are just a bunch of p*ssy's, a better DirectTv commercial would have been River Phoenix stepping out of the Viper Room and having Joaquin phoenix doing a DirectTv pitch now that would be a great move by them
jackonjillsface writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 10:35:29 AM

they already had an ad with john belushi. was there anything wrong with that?
mdp711 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 10:50:59 AM

@stuntastic... Exactly. It made me think of him again as well. Sparked my interest in renting his movies again. He and David made a great comedic pair. Yeah, David can be annoying, but I think he's got a pretty good sense of timing and humor.
Shifty-Eyed Dog writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 11:14:01 AM

They shove people like Fred Astaire and Humphrey Bogart into commercials, and nobody cares, so stop whining about one-hit wonder Chris Farley. LIGHTEN THE f*ck UP, PEOPLE!
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 11:20:07 AM

@PP - beat me to it.
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 11:20:54 AM

Besides... Farley was a 'fat guy in a little coat'!
billofill writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 11:23:28 AM

It would be one thing if they altered his performance ala the vacc*ment commericial with Fred Astair but they didnt soooooooo who cares?
Dre-EL writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 11:47:15 AM

Stop making a mountain out of a mole hill, there was nothing offensive or unsettling about that commercial. What they need to do is start doing these commercials with classic porn.
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 11:49:50 AM

Well said!
Peter Parker writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 11:55:44 AM

@ Ranger: aha!

Anyway, shouldn't people be happy that he's being remembered anyway? The man did comedy, this is precisely the type of things they should be "bringing back to life"!

I say use is ass in commercials, make a new movie with him, for all I care!
Jedimax writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 11:55:56 AM

Uhm anyone that doesn't think this offensive is ridiculous. I mean they could of done the ad with any david spade movie, but the fact that they pick Tommy Boy with Chris Farley it s ridiculous. I have been seeing this Ad on tv a bunch, and the first time my roommate saw it with me he was like, "isn't that kind of bad." I mean in my opinion i just think it makes the ad kind of uncomfortable. If you know Farley is dead which should be the majority of people the Ad is appealing to because to get the joke you have to have seen Tommy Boy, then the Ad is kind of weird. And on top of that David Spade who was supposed to be one of Farley's closest friends, definitely sold his soul to the devil on this one.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:04:14 PM

So... when people die, the living should just forget about them at all?
Mozart did music, people listen to his music still to this day, Picasso painted, people still admire his work, Farley did comedy, feels to me this is just the type of thing he should be remembered for.
tcu21 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:20:36 PM

Yes, this is hands down the worst thing a commercial could have been, it is so offensive, I am positive that Chris Farley, who is known for having a great, huge, sense of humor would find this offensive. I'm sure that one of his close friends and co-stars David Spade just wants to piss all over his grave. By the way, that was sarcasm.

If you think this is offensive you are an idiot. David Spade is not some sell out doucher, Chris Farley's family obviously gave them permission to do this, because it's not in bad taste. Chris Farley is probably somewhere laughing about this even being an issue right now.
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:59:06 PM

There's a thin line here...but they arent crossing it. Just like the James Dean ad which is definitely offensive seeing how they write his life he didn't have- BUT it certainly wasn't in 'bad taste' to show him being a philanthropist...

...this is a little different though because I don't think it's offensive to show movie clips from films that always appear on DirectTV. It's not like they put words in Farley's mouth by dubbing- he just plays out the scene exactly the way it is.
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:12:58 PM

I find it offensive to fat guys who wear little coats.
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:17:48 PM

@Jedimax - good post and opinion (you're entitled to it). For clarity, if you think this commercial is in bad taste... how so (serious question)?

masKritic writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:23:14 PM

I think it is a great remembrance of a great comedian
jetdog writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:28:09 PM

No it's not offensive... Sweet!
Peter Parker writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 2:01:20 PM

Gay people find things offensive.
This is simply funny.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 2:02:42 PM

I think it's offensive to have David Spade in the commercial. His career died when Farley did.
thedudeman69 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 2:03:22 PM

if it was Farley saying BUY DIRECT TV with a cgi mouth placed over, then I would be furious, but it's David Spade going back to his roots and remembering his best friend. so People are RABBLE RABBLE RABBLING for the sake of nothing.
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 2:15:15 PM

@PP - lol.
dellamortedellamore writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 2:54:24 PM

creepy. david spade must need some $$$
TeemSelami writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 3:14:34 PM

is it offensive to watch him on dvd quit being a bunch of fags.
Lowryder writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 3:16:36 PM

how do they do that?
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 3:26:14 PM

Magic.
doneehoward writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 3:53:17 PM

there was one from Twister too wasn't there?
doneehoward writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 3:57:29 PM

It only offensive to have David Spade in anything....j/k
Tizzle writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 4:27:39 PM

Your head has the... shell on it. Shut up Richard!

OMG... Chris Farley we love you. I don't find the commercial offensive in anyway. However, it does kind of prove that David Spade is nothing without Farley... to the extent that he still has to use him in death to do something funny. Kind of makes you feel bad for Spade.
ValiaVeweth writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 4:57:33 PM

I don't think it's offensive at all.
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 4:57:45 PM

But Spade got to bone Heather Locklear so that negates any such sadness.
Tizzle writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 5:08:14 PM

@ranger- Touche. Maybe David Spade just needs to find a new fat friend to make fun of and he can get his career back on track. Kevin James? Jack Black? Hmmm...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 5:35:28 PM

@Tizzle- He tried that already with Artie Lange in '99 shortly after Farley died. The only problem was, nobody thought Artie Lange was funny. Most still don't, besides Howard Stern
Fire Marshall Bill writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 6:16:41 PM

I thought it was hilarious when I saw it on tv.
Tizzle writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:31:22 PM

Yeah the fat friend thing doesn't work unless you're funny. Artie Lange is retarded. And if you are ugly, fat, and not funny you should kill yourself.
JRprime writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:39:07 PM

you have be kidding...people are really getting too touchy
JRprime writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:39:15 PM

have to*
pjmbdm writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 7:57:58 PM

Initially I thought it a little weird since he's dead but thinking about it now, all those ads are taken from memorable scenes in those movies. What scene in Tommy Boy is acted out more then that one? Unfortunate that he's gone but I think he'd be ok with it. Didn't think Spade would do it though.
whoever writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 12:39:25 AM

At least they only had write one pay cheque!
Mudders writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 2:32:54 AM

not offensive at all...dont think chris farley would give a crap about it...wish people would stop being soooo touchy on stuff like this
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 11:58:41 AM

wow i didn't see that before...that wasn't offensive at all...people are right on here...his family was ok with it, so it seems...and i'm ok with it...and if chris farley were still alive today, it'd be him promoting directv...this commercial makes me want to watch more chris farley...never did get enough of him in saturday night live
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 6:05:46 PM

The only thing offensive about this would be the sh*t stains on Farley's shorts because obviously he was unable to wipe his own ass.
KE Smith writes:
on November 4th, 2009 at 12:39:12 PM

DirecTV = classy. Hey Dish, jealous? Sure there are plenty of dead celebs and people willing to sell them out for you too. Check this out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEMg90MgNbg Also a cool parody: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0YiyFk2GuPM

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved