WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Is "Avatar" a Film Version of "Call Me Joe" Short Story?

Posted: October 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Is "Avatar" a Film Version of "Call Me Joe" Short Story?Submit Comment
No matter how original James Cameron thinks his new "Avatar" film is, there have been lots of other works that seem incredibly similar to his movie. The filmmakers of "Delgo" are considering suing for stealing their story ideas, but that will probably go nowhere since the similarities are not that great.

But now, io9 has noticed that "Avatar" may just be a rip-off of Poul Anderson's 1957 sci-fi short story called "Call Me Joe." The similarities are irrefutable and it would be great to hear Cameron admit that he used Anderson's writings as his inspiration for "Avatar."

Like "Avatar," "Call Me Joe" centers on a paraplegic Ed Anglesey who telepathically connects with an artificially created life form in order to explore a harsh planet (in this case, Jupiter). Anglesey, like "Avatar's" Jake Sully (Worthington), revels in the freedom and strength of his artificial created body, battles predators on the surface of Jupiter, and gradually goes native as he spends more time connected to his artificial body.

There are clearly lots of story similarities, but it doesn't end there. The cover (pictured) for "Call Me Joe" also features a giant, blue, cat-like creature holding a spear.

Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:45:28 PM

That is f*cking hilarious. I can't wait to hear what SpookyCupcakes has to say. There is no way in hell all those similarities are coincidental. Funny stuff. Who's "King of the World" now, bitch?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:45:51 PM

No probably not.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:46:37 PM

"That is f*cking hilarious. I can't wait to hear what SpookyCupcakes has to say. There is no way in hell all those similarities are coincidental. Funny stuff. Who's "King of the World" now, bitch?"

You'll be delightfully suprised to hear that I agree with you on this one.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:47:24 PM

now watch me be wrong and cameron ripped this off.

That would be perfect : /
nope.com writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:57:37 PM

not surprising that a guy who made a film after the titanic disaster does not have a creative mind

Plagiarism Cameron?
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:59:49 PM

Every recent news i hear about "Avatar" just gives me the less reasons to watch it in IMAX 3D.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:24:47 PM

The film is also very similar to My Cousin Vinny where CGI was used in full extend to make Joe Pesci appear taller than 3ft.

Seriously though, this news doesn't surprise me at all.
Dead Milkman writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:15:27 PM

Poul Anderson is James Cameron

JAMES CAMERON IS POUL ANDERSON

OH MY GOD JAMES CAMERON IS A 83 YEAR OLD SCIENCE FICTION WRITER
jetdog writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:47:43 PM

okay i've been quiet long enough! I'm tired of people hating on a movie before it even comes out.. Star Wars was based off of shows like Flash Gordon.. Han Solo was based off of that... Come people! Just don't see it haters... But you will be the first in line...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:06:17 PM

"But you will be the first in line..."

Ugh I can't stand the sheer arrogance of avatar fans.

Why would I be in line? Are there any lines for torrents? No, not really.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:54:55 PM

There are worse people to swipe from than Poul Anderson. That just makes me trust in the plot more.
Randal Graves writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:20:13 AM

"The cover (pictured) for "Call Me Joe" also features a giant, blue, cat-like creature holding a spear."

it looks more like a centaur to me.....J.K. Rowling is a god damn plagiarist.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:35:00 AM

Gotta love that "cat-like" creature in that picture. Cats are really weird in the states.
vaodsi writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:37:10 AM

well these things happen. I mean, look at the alien design in this video.... It's blue aliens in loin cloths living in a jungle and they look very similar and this was made in 2007 and i doubt cameron saw this video... and yet niether did i... but it's very similar. these things happen. copy and paste the link

http://www.youtube.com/user/vaodsi#p/u/7/fFMLO8lwp_k
thedudeman69 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:38:06 AM

Everything is plagerized in hollywood.
vaodsi writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:54:00 AM

HEY PEOPLE! How do we contact alex? I know it's super simple but i don't know how and am lazy
vaodsi writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:04:51 AM

nevermind
i figured it out
lost_addict writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:42:19 AM

the movie will be a box office flop...
AYT BALL writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 6:07:10 AM

I think its amazing that in a day of all these remakes and reboots, you have a guy trying to reinvent the wheel (technology wise) and you lot are bitching that MAYBE the story came from another source, who cares!? i havent seen a movie that has the same story, nor have i read a book with that story. Am i excited about this movie? not really if im honest, but interested to see how it looks in 3D (4D or whatever its called).

In My book cameron has done enough in the past for me to at least give him a chance when the movie comes out, im not a cameron fan boy nor an avatar fan boy (how can anyone be yet?!) but i am a fan of people doing something new in hollywood, and even if its not a new story its a new way of film making so i will be checking it out and i wont be moaning until i have a valid reason to.
inkstewer writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 6:50:04 AM

id bang the blue ones. id still watch it.
billofill writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 11:27:55 AM

Why not? I mean he plagerized Terminator from 3 different sources and still claims it came to him in a fever dream.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:23:49 PM

In a way Cameron has brought this on himself with that mouth of his. You can do this with most films you see these days. Nothing is original but Cameron talks a good game so people believe it and then get angry when his talk and facts don't add up. When it comes to Cameron you can always put your faith in the technology, the rest is a bit of a gamble but most of the time he delivers. He's a very excited guy, he loves what he does, and sometimes he runs off at the mouth a bit TOO much.
Dre-EL writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:26:40 PM

Who cares if he borrowed material from another source. Which movie in his enitre carrier is totally and completely original.
Come to think of it when was the last time Hollywood did something that was completely original.
rocketman writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:58:59 PM

It's not the unoriginal story that bothers me it is Camorons arogance that he is 'king of teh world' or statementes that 'this movie will f*ck your eyeballs' then he goes on to unleash a below par trailer of a film that looks like a f*cking bad cgi cartoon using the technology used on the Phantom Menace.And since when did aliens speak English?More than half this planet don't...Plot holes Cameron,for someone who laveshes so much time researching new technology's you think he would cover something as simple as that,not to mention the second bootleg traier that was so patronising it beggerd belief,spoonfed exposition was all i got from that,as well as more sub par cgi.No intrest at all in cueing up to watch this bloated crap,i'll catch it on tv in a year or two or borrow the dvd of a mate.
Rich k writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 2:17:04 PM

Spooky your just mad cuz like 3 months ago i was the only one on for this movie, and you were trying to tell me otherwise but now you just look f*cking stupid, because everyone around you is liking this movie, so just do us a favor and just shut up and stop bitching.

Oh and when you post back on this, which i garantee you will, put my comment in quotation marks, because i think thats f*cking halarious when you do that.
AYT BALL writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 5:17:41 AM

hahahaha
DestructionsWombat writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 7:27:07 PM

10 years waiting for a rip off?
f*ck you cameron
Chrad writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 10:08:52 PM

There's so much wrong with that comment, rocketman.
1. Cameron never claimed the movie would 'f*ck your eyeballs', that's a meme from AICN.
2. The aliens have their own language but learnt English from the humans, who've been on the planet for decades.
3. If by 'the technology used on the phantom menace' you mean CGI, I guess Watchmen, Transformers, Up, Spider-Man, The Dark Knight, Pearl Harbour, Iron Man and more all use that technology too.
vwkombi writes:
on October 29th, 2009 at 2:06:06 AM

I doubt the aliens speak English, but when the guy is in the Avatar body he just naturally understands their language AS IF they were speaking his own. We, as the auidience, experience the same phenomena.
richard writes:
on January 31st, 2010 at 6:04:15 PM

I've just seen 'Avatar' and I loved it. I have read 'Call Me Joe.' and I saw the similarity in 5 minutes. Guess what? Joe's name is Anglesey. Anglesey is the sacred island of the Druids, the priesthood of the ancient British when they were conquered by the Romans, and, to break the resistance of the Britons, the Romans crossed to Anglesey to burn their sacred trees. Now, when I write stories, it takes other people to point out "oh, that's like the bit in..." I'm quite prepared to believe people can come up with the same story independently; or can honestly belive they have if they've subconsciously incorporated something they forgot they knew.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved