WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Matt Damon and Josh Brolin in Coen Brothers' "True Grit" Remake

Posted: October 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Matt Damon and Josh Brolin in Coen BrothersSubmit Comment
Back in March we reported that the Coen brothers (No Country for Old Men) have signed their "Big Lebowski" star Jeff Bridges as the lead in their upcoming remake of "True Grit," the iconic Western that won John Wayne an Oscar.

In the movie, Bridges will play US marshall Rooster Cogburn, who teams with a lawman and a 14-year-old girl to track her father's killer into hostile Indian territory.

Variety has now learned that Matt Damon will play the lawman and Josh Brolin (No Country for Old men) will play the killer. The Coens are still looking for the right actress to play the young girl.

The Coens and Steven Spielberg are producing the film, which will be more faithful to the Charles Portis novel that inspired the original. It is said that the new movie will tell the tale from the girl's point of view.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:39:31 PM

I wouldn't redo a movie The Duke made. Death won't stop him from arising again to kick the crap out of anyone attempting to re-do his work!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:50:35 PM

Yeah, True Grit isn't a great movie, with Wayne getting the Oscar for his career, not for that specific role. Hopefully the Coens will make it a touch more serious than the rather whimsical original. Oh, cool news about Damon and especially Brolin playing an antagonist (the killer) after playing the good (no good per say, but less bad than Anton) in No Country.
xXxRORSCHACHxXx writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:50:36 PM

^Amen
xXxRORSCHACHxXx writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:51:17 PM

I meant @ Ranger.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:33:38 PM

This should be pretty badass, Coens are just amazing filmmakers, their newest film, A Serious Man, is fantastic best of movie of 09. I can say I'm excited for this, and what a great cast, Brolin'll be perfect.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:54:28 PM

Who is paying the 14 year-old girl... Shia or Zac?

Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:05:32 PM

Gary Coleman as the cow pie.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:07:17 PM

Rosie O'Donnell and Roseanne Barr as horses?
Lohan as the knife sharpener and town whore?

Osiris3eagle writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 10:46:06 PM

whatever the Coens decide to do is fine with me, I'm sure they'll make the right calls!
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:18:11 PM

So no, Shia, Zac, Gary, Rosie, Roseanne or Lindsay then?
slusho writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:23:55 PM

This cast is rly shaping up. Mayb the girl
from kick-ass can be the girl in this. She seems to sort of a rising star like breslin..

ps:
Just stop Ranger,
its getting sad..
c-prime writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:30:20 PM

I almost spit up on the Rosie/Roseanne jokes, Ranger. Ha ha. Well done.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:51:52 PM

I'll take it. Everything the Coen Brothers do is solid gold.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:52:11 PM

@slut-ho - sadder yet is you're too f*cking lazy to post the name: 'Chloe Moretz' - as opposed to 'the girl from Kick-Ass...' Who wipes your ass you lazy sh*t? Daddy... with his tongue?

When you get out of your Mom's basement (after you're done yelling at her for the meatloaf), you'll learn quickly that the world won't yield to your wishes... you're just that unimportant. Sorry to burst your widdle bubble.

@c-prime - lol.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:33:08 AM

This is going to be great, of course! how old is Brolin in the above pic????
thedudeman69 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:37:31 AM

wow. it's a reunion of some sort with the Coens and Jeff Bridges and Brolin getting back together.
thedudeman69 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:37:31 AM

wow. it's a reunion of some sort with the Coens and Jeff Bridges and Brolin getting back together.
slusho writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:20:13 AM

Man Ranger, thats some creative stuff with the play on my name
Top-Notch stuff for a retiree
eh, i wasnt sure if that was her name and i was too lazy to go over to imdb. I figured most ppl knew who i was talkin about. U did, no?
i dont know what all the yield to my wishes stuff means nor do i care but if anyone is a sad figure on here, its you, trying your very hardest making 'funny' and grossly vulgar quips at kids probably a third of your age.
It makes me sad kinda but not rly cus your prbly a d*ck in the real world as well, (this is prbly getting deleted, but it had to be said)..
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:27:06 AM

Ahh... 'had to be said'... again, with the 'self-important' crap eh Slut-Ho? Keep pissing off the moderator(s) of this site posting unrevalant stuff. See how long your profile lasts.

Now... if you can just post to the thread's topic Mr. Oppositional Disorder d*ck...

Go to bed. Those Walmart shelves don't stock themselves. OK Momma's boy?
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:27:28 AM

Oh... that'll probably get deleted, but it just had to be said.
lost_addict writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:46:57 AM

let's hope they don't f*ck up the ending like they did with 'no country for old men'...those last 20 min were poop.
ikleesdekrant writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 4:52:52 AM

Bitching about people whose comments are off-topic in comments that are off topic. You've gotta love Ranger. (Interpret that last sentence in the most sarcastic way possible)

ps: Coen Brothers and True Grit for the win. I'd see Brolin as badass killer anyday.
Ranger writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 9:36:12 AM

Thank you, thank you... lol.

Back ON topic. I'm looking forward to this because of everyone involved. Watch... this movie re-make (if successful), will re-direct their efforts from making all these superhero movies a bit and they'll go all nuovo Western on us.
warlord writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 9:52:57 AM

josh would be a better rooster damon dont have the chops to play that caharacter
Dre-EL writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 1:19:37 PM

True Grit is one of my all time favourite westerns so they better do it right and not mess it up. Jeff Bridges is the man, anybody remember his Wild Bill? Thats a little bit of Cogburn right there.
Bridged, Brolin, Cohen Bros. this movie should be kick ass.
Get Dakota Fanning to play the girl, she pretty good.

Tizzle writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 4:50:42 PM

@Beatle - Exactly what I was thinking! He looks a little too good, was this right after shooting the goonies? This movie will be the sh*t.
Tizzle writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 4:54:21 PM

NO! Please not Dakota Fanning.
Krisoo writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 11:45:29 AM

The perfect girl i think probably Saoirse Ronan or Mia Wasikowska !!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved