WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

DiCaprio, Clooney, Depp in Talks for "Sinatra" Biopic

Posted: October 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
DiCaprio, Clooney, Depp in Talks for "Sinatra" BiopicSubmit Comment
Back in May, Universal Pictures acquired the feature film project "Sinatra" from Mandalay Pictures and set Martin Scorsese to direct. Since then, it has been all about which actor will end up portray Frank Sinatra on the big screen.

Scorsese wants his frequent collaborator Leonardo DiCaprio, the studio wants Johnny Depp after seeing him in "Public Enemies," and Sinatra's daughter wants George Clooney to portray her father.

The actors will not have to sing in the biopic, since the movie will feature Sinatra's own recordings, so it all comes down to picking the man with the right look and attitude.

Sources say that DiCaprio will likely not get the role, and the reason Sinatra's daughter wants Clooney is because she wants the movie to focus on music and not the violence, sex and the drinking. She believe Clooney can portray her father as a kind, decent man. But the studio wants the good and the bad of Sinatra in the movie, which is why Depp is likely to get the role.

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sonic writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:43:45 AM

Violence, Sex, Drinking and the Music= Depp.

bloodgear writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:11:44 AM

So, do what they did for Bob Dylans biopic, get the three of them to do different sides of Sinatra's life.

Oh but then I'm thinking Hollywood would spend that sort of money doing something like this. Hah
VDODSON writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:33:17 AM

Sorry honey, the mans music is legendary but to just focus on such would make an unbelievably boring film. Why not focus on who the man really was, to accept Sinatra you have to also accept the violence/mob ties/drinking and all the other things that made him Sinatra.
MontoyaWA writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 10:08:15 AM

Daughter = a moron... But really this is the type of role that should go to a relatively unknown actor. Probably hard to sell that to the studio, and even harder to actually find the right unknown.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:38:48 AM

i like where the comments are goin...either find the right unknown actor that portrays him nicely(which is probably the best choice the studios can do)...or do the bob dylan trio casting thing again(which is probably the best secondary choice they can do)
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:53:42 AM

Samuel L Jackson maybe? He appears in every other film nowadays.

'She believes Clooney can portray her father as a kind, decent man.'...Thats right lady, just cover up the real story.
Monroe writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:40:47 PM

I agree they should find an unknown. if you put an already big name attached to this it becomes more about them. the trio idea as a backup is good too...but if push comes to shove i have to say Depp would be the best...and RickyGabrielBird i agree SLJ is in way to many movies!
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:06:18 PM

Get Matt Dusk to play Sinatra.

And everyone here is right. Frank was an *sshole (even in Trump's (first?) book, he wrote of Sinatra calling his wife bitch and/or slut at the dinner table with the Trumps). Either do the story right... or don't do it at all lady! Frank was a miserable, insecure, unhappy man.
Flav writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:14:01 PM

Matt dusk? Unknown?? I think they should cast Fred Durst, he looks like Sinatra a bit. LOL!
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:32:35 PM

Why don't they concentrate on finding someone who can sing the tunes... like Oliver Stone did when he made the Doors?
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:33:40 PM

@Flav - no, Matt isn't an unknown. But he could pull off the suave young Frank, and pull off the crooner music no prob.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:35:49 PM

I can see Clooney portraying Sinatra really well, but Depp would do even better Johnny-boy needs that Oscar!
mdp711 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:56:33 PM

You'll be surprised at who they pick. Sinatra....lush, angry, arrogant...not Depp.
AshTrey writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 2:14:52 PM

CAST ALL THREE... FRANK DID HAVE THE RAT PACK. CHEDDLE TOO
Rich k writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 3:27:32 PM

I think clooney would be a wise choice
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 3:29:49 PM

DiCaprio would not work at all, and I dont wanna see Depp as Sinatra (even though he's a great actor, i dont see why he's always the first one considered for biopics, Ed Wood was fantastic and he was snubbed of a nomination, let him play some original characters). "the studio wants Johnny Depp after seeing him in "'Public Enemies.'" Depp was horrible in Public Enemies (it was a awful film overall) easily his worst role to date, next to From Hell. I think Clooney would do the best, cast Clooney.
VDODSON writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 3:32:44 PM

From Hell was a great adaptation, Public Enemies was a quality flick. I dont know what the hell your talking about Murphy. Depp's last bad performance was Charlie and the Chocolate factory, I cant recall any preceding that.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 3:46:57 PM

@Rich - I agree. Clooney has my vote.
makingcircles writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 5:14:33 PM

They should cast an unknown and I'll tell you why... Studios cast big names for name recognition which turns into higher ticket sales (in a perfect world). Well..."SINATRA" is already a household name as well as Martin Scorcese. Therefore...no need for a big actor. Get a good actor that nobody knows and tell Sinatra's daughter to fly herself to the moon.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 5:29:03 PM

George Clooney = Dean Martin
Johnny Depp = Frank Sinatra
Eddie Murphy = Sammy Davis, Jr

Theres my pick.
Joey FistPump writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 6:17:43 PM

Dean Winters would be who I would cast...never gonna happen, but would be interesting.
Vincent Chase writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 6:19:08 PM

Get Joseph Gordon Levitt or James Franco to do Sinatra. They're overlooked yet extremely good actors, they need a boost from someone like Scorsese.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:41:39 PM

Yeah... James Franco is a great call!
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:42:39 PM

Gary Coleman for Sammy Davis Jr.
Last Acting Hero writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 10:08:27 PM

Clooney. And Here are my reasons why....

1. Dicaprio blows Scorsese too often and Scorsese has gotten tired of him.
2. Depp is a faggot.
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:17:50 AM

I could picture DiCaprio over either Depp or Clooney, and his looks and voice are the closest. Plus we all want to see Frank, the young years. And Depp and Clooney can't play youth anymore. Leonardo's face can do all ages.
Tizzle writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 5:04:47 PM

Daniel Craig as Sinatra! If they pick a no name actor I think it should be someone that can actually sing and have that sort of presence that Sinatra had. It's going to be hard to find someone like that. But I like the idea of Clooney, DiCaprio, and Depp all being members of the Rat Pack. Then you can just cast Don Cheadle or even better Terrence Howard as Sammy.
Mudders writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 2:16:56 AM

youger to older views

Frank Sinatra = Bradley Cooper/George Clooney
Dean Martin = James Franco/Clive Owen
Sammy Davis Jr = ???/Don Cheadle


It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved