WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Trailer for "The Conjuring" Spin-Off "Annabelle"
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer For Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Shailene Woodley's "White Bird in a Blizzard" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Photo: Better Look at Henry Cavill in His Superman Costume on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 21st, 2014
Teaser Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Leaked Online
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's Insane "Outcast" Film
Aug 21st, 2014
Christian Bale and Cate Blanchett Join "Jungle Book: Origins"
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes is a Vigilante in "Miss Meadows"
Aug 21st, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Photo: Marc Webb Unveils Concept Art From "The Amazing Spider-Man" Spin-Off "Sinister Six"
Aug 18th, 2014
Video: Robin Williams Recorded Message of Hope For Terminally Ill Woman
Aug 18th, 2014
First Posters for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Aug 17th, 2014
Concept Art of Main Villain and Han Solo From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 17th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy and Tobey Maguire Sign On for Animal Poaching Film
Aug 17th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

DiCaprio, Clooney, Depp in Talks for "Sinatra" Biopic

Posted: October 26th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
DiCaprio, Clooney, Depp in Talks for "Sinatra" BiopicSubmit Comment
Back in May, Universal Pictures acquired the feature film project "Sinatra" from Mandalay Pictures and set Martin Scorsese to direct. Since then, it has been all about which actor will end up portray Frank Sinatra on the big screen.

Scorsese wants his frequent collaborator Leonardo DiCaprio, the studio wants Johnny Depp after seeing him in "Public Enemies," and Sinatra's daughter wants George Clooney to portray her father.

The actors will not have to sing in the biopic, since the movie will feature Sinatra's own recordings, so it all comes down to picking the man with the right look and attitude.

Sources say that DiCaprio will likely not get the role, and the reason Sinatra's daughter wants Clooney is because she wants the movie to focus on music and not the violence, sex and the drinking. She believe Clooney can portray her father as a kind, decent man. But the studio wants the good and the bad of Sinatra in the movie, which is why Depp is likely to get the role.

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Sonic writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:43:45 AM

Violence, Sex, Drinking and the Music= Depp.

bloodgear writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:11:44 AM

So, do what they did for Bob Dylans biopic, get the three of them to do different sides of Sinatra's life.

Oh but then I'm thinking Hollywood would spend that sort of money doing something like this. Hah
VDODSON writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:33:17 AM

Sorry honey, the mans music is legendary but to just focus on such would make an unbelievably boring film. Why not focus on who the man really was, to accept Sinatra you have to also accept the violence/mob ties/drinking and all the other things that made him Sinatra.
MontoyaWA writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 10:08:15 AM

Daughter = a moron... But really this is the type of role that should go to a relatively unknown actor. Probably hard to sell that to the studio, and even harder to actually find the right unknown.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:38:48 AM

i like where the comments are goin...either find the right unknown actor that portrays him nicely(which is probably the best choice the studios can do)...or do the bob dylan trio casting thing again(which is probably the best secondary choice they can do)
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:53:42 AM

Samuel L Jackson maybe? He appears in every other film nowadays.

'She believes Clooney can portray her father as a kind, decent man.'...Thats right lady, just cover up the real story.
Monroe writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:40:47 PM

I agree they should find an unknown. if you put an already big name attached to this it becomes more about them. the trio idea as a backup is good too...but if push comes to shove i have to say Depp would be the best...and RickyGabrielBird i agree SLJ is in way to many movies!
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:06:18 PM

Get Matt Dusk to play Sinatra.

And everyone here is right. Frank was an *sshole (even in Trump's (first?) book, he wrote of Sinatra calling his wife bitch and/or slut at the dinner table with the Trumps). Either do the story right... or don't do it at all lady! Frank was a miserable, insecure, unhappy man.
Flav writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:14:01 PM

Matt dusk? Unknown?? I think they should cast Fred Durst, he looks like Sinatra a bit. LOL!
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:32:35 PM

Why don't they concentrate on finding someone who can sing the tunes... like Oliver Stone did when he made the Doors?
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:33:40 PM

@Flav - no, Matt isn't an unknown. But he could pull off the suave young Frank, and pull off the crooner music no prob.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:35:49 PM

I can see Clooney portraying Sinatra really well, but Depp would do even better Johnny-boy needs that Oscar!
mdp711 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:56:33 PM

You'll be surprised at who they pick. Sinatra....lush, angry, arrogant...not Depp.
AshTrey writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 2:14:52 PM

CAST ALL THREE... FRANK DID HAVE THE RAT PACK. CHEDDLE TOO
Rich k writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 3:27:32 PM

I think clooney would be a wise choice
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 3:29:49 PM

DiCaprio would not work at all, and I dont wanna see Depp as Sinatra (even though he's a great actor, i dont see why he's always the first one considered for biopics, Ed Wood was fantastic and he was snubbed of a nomination, let him play some original characters). "the studio wants Johnny Depp after seeing him in "'Public Enemies.'" Depp was horrible in Public Enemies (it was a awful film overall) easily his worst role to date, next to From Hell. I think Clooney would do the best, cast Clooney.
VDODSON writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 3:32:44 PM

From Hell was a great adaptation, Public Enemies was a quality flick. I dont know what the hell your talking about Murphy. Depp's last bad performance was Charlie and the Chocolate factory, I cant recall any preceding that.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 3:46:57 PM

@Rich - I agree. Clooney has my vote.
makingcircles writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 5:14:33 PM

They should cast an unknown and I'll tell you why... Studios cast big names for name recognition which turns into higher ticket sales (in a perfect world). Well..."SINATRA" is already a household name as well as Martin Scorcese. Therefore...no need for a big actor. Get a good actor that nobody knows and tell Sinatra's daughter to fly herself to the moon.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 5:29:03 PM

George Clooney = Dean Martin
Johnny Depp = Frank Sinatra
Eddie Murphy = Sammy Davis, Jr

Theres my pick.
Joey FistPump writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 6:17:43 PM

Dean Winters would be who I would cast...never gonna happen, but would be interesting.
Vincent Chase writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 6:19:08 PM

Get Joseph Gordon Levitt or James Franco to do Sinatra. They're overlooked yet extremely good actors, they need a boost from someone like Scorsese.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:41:39 PM

Yeah... James Franco is a great call!
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:42:39 PM

Gary Coleman for Sammy Davis Jr.
Last Acting Hero writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 10:08:27 PM

Clooney. And Here are my reasons why....

1. Dicaprio blows Scorsese too often and Scorsese has gotten tired of him.
2. Depp is a faggot.
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:17:50 AM

I could picture DiCaprio over either Depp or Clooney, and his looks and voice are the closest. Plus we all want to see Frank, the young years. And Depp and Clooney can't play youth anymore. Leonardo's face can do all ages.
Tizzle writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 5:04:47 PM

Daniel Craig as Sinatra! If they pick a no name actor I think it should be someone that can actually sing and have that sort of presence that Sinatra had. It's going to be hard to find someone like that. But I like the idea of Clooney, DiCaprio, and Depp all being members of the Rat Pack. Then you can just cast Don Cheadle or even better Terrence Howard as Sammy.
Mudders writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 2:16:56 AM

youger to older views

Frank Sinatra = Bradley Cooper/George Clooney
Dean Martin = James Franco/Clive Owen
Sammy Davis Jr = ???/Don Cheadle


"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved