WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paramount Considering "Paranormal Activity" Sequel

Posted: October 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paramount Considering "Paranormal Activity" SequelSubmit Comment
"Paranormal Activity" may not catch up to the results of "The Blair Witch Project," but it has been an enormous success, having already grossed over $60 million domestically on a $15,000 budget. It is on track to make over $100 million and has easily become the most profitable film for Paramount Pictures.

As a result, the studio is now actively considering producing a sequel. Since Paramount only owns domestic rights to "Paranormal," a sequel will give it a chance to have worldwide rights.

But Paramount is not ignoring the fact that "The Blair Witch Project" sequel only earned $26 million domestically on a $15 million budget. The original took in $140 million on a $60,000 budget.

Click here to read our "Paranormal Activity" review.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dddarne writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 10:26:39 PM

I hate this idea, someone on bloody disgusting did have the idea of looking into her past and end it with the house burning down. Which might not be to bad.
WV-Films writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:34:25 AM

If they make the sequel for $15,000, I say go ahead.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:37:36 AM

Sounds good to me. At this point, I'll watch anything that strays from the basic Hollywood horror formula.
aarttyst writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:38:07 AM

good ideal dddarne it still won't be as good as the first. just leave it alone. learn from blair witch
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:44:03 AM

You know, one reason I can appreciate films like this or older horror films like the original TCM is because the film quality is blurrier and indistince. That can add alot of fright elelment to a film. In real life, the dark is DARK. When the film looks too slick and polished my subconscious knows everything is phony. But watching a 16mm film like Texas
Chainsaw Massacre alone in the dark, I can really get pulled in. Paranormal Activity gave me the same feeling.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:55:20 AM

Hollywood...YOU have a problem.

Admitting you have one is the first step, good god, think of something that's not a sequel or a remake for Christ's sake
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 2:38:11 AM

sorry...but even as young as i was when it came out...blair witch didn't even scare me...i mean at the end there was a person standing in the corner lol...so that's supposed to be scary?...yea that wasn't worth my 6 bucks...well, at least i think movie ticket prices were around that price back at that time....and now i'm hearing paranormal activity isn't even all that scary...and that the best parts in the movie are pretty much on the trailer....just judging on that...i don't think it's worth my time yet
Stuntastic writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:36:42 AM

It all comes down to money. Of course since it's making so much a sequel would b inevitable.

@ WV I agree that if they stick to the same premise for the same amount it might work, hell next time they may just shoot the film using an iPhone 3Gs to save even more on the budget
ian_918 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:51:20 AM

Im for it. As long as they dont do something stupid like have katie show up or something..but then again.. its hollywood so its f*cked.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:57:34 AM

hollywood is a game...if you can't play it...don't try it(talking about making good performances, especially on great movies)...i don't think paranormal activity is THAT great...just a decent horror flick better than blair witch project
Flav writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:15:44 PM

Why? its the exact replica of the first. No one will watch. This is what happened to Blair Bitch Project, it become saturated.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:34:31 PM

Actually Blair Witch had one of the more original sequels I can recall. It wasn't a great film, but all the backwards magic and freaky game you could play with the dvd... all pretty cool.
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 4:17:20 PM

This film worked so well the way it was made, if they make a sequel in a similar fashion, from a home video point of view then go ahead and make it. Only thing would be making it different and believable like paranormal, which I think will be a very difficult task.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 6:00:08 PM

I made my previous post before seeing the movie, now with that being said it was just alright. I just didn't feel like it was the scariest film out there though. It had it's moments and dude portraying Micah was hilarious. With that being said I really hope that they leave well enough alone. Just not as scary as people were making it out to be.
Dealey writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:33:18 PM

I really liked this movie, very much, but I think a sequel would suck balls. Just because something makes money doesn't mean we need a f*ckin sequel for it. Leave it alone
FBO writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 10:01:53 PM

You don't have a great stand alone movie like this only to ruin it by making a sequel
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:21:44 AM

how does a sequel ruin anything? the original is still intact. Besides, they reshot that ending to plan for sequels.
I actually prefer the original ending that I watched online. It had a much neater resolution.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:44:55 AM

@ rabid How was the one online?
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 2:29:48 AM

Good. It was the exact same except for the ending. I wasn't in as much suspense at the theatre because i was surrounded by people, but watching it alone at home at 3am with all the lights out was pretty creepy.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:59:31 AM

Hell, I'd b scared too watching it at 3am with no lights on. But I use to b scared to watch Unsolved Mysteries by myself with creeepy ass Robert Stack. I'd b scared someone would drag my ass down the hallway.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details

Samuel L. Jackson Doesn't Know Much About SHIELD or Nick Fury, Will Return for "Agents of SHIELD"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved