WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Point Break" Remake is Here!
May 27th, 2015
"The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen" is Being Rebooted
May 27th, 2015
Robert Rodriguez to Direct Live-Action "Jonny Quest" Movie
May 27th, 2015
New Trailer for Joe Dante's "Burying the Ex" Comedy Horror, with Anton Yelchin
May 27th, 2015
Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
May 26th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says "Gambit" is an Origin Story
May 26th, 2015
Ryan Reynolds Says Hugh Jackman May Make Cameo in "Deadpool"
May 26th, 2015
First Poster for "Point Break" Remake
May 26th, 2015
More Photos From Matt Damon's "The Martian," Directed by Ridley Scott
May 25th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" and "Now You See Me 3" Already in Development
May 25th, 2015
"Beautiful Mind" Mathematician John Nash Killed in Taxi Crash
May 25th, 2015
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paramount Considering "Paranormal Activity" Sequel

Posted: October 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paramount Considering "Paranormal Activity" SequelSubmit Comment
"Paranormal Activity" may not catch up to the results of "The Blair Witch Project," but it has been an enormous success, having already grossed over $60 million domestically on a $15,000 budget. It is on track to make over $100 million and has easily become the most profitable film for Paramount Pictures.

As a result, the studio is now actively considering producing a sequel. Since Paramount only owns domestic rights to "Paranormal," a sequel will give it a chance to have worldwide rights.

But Paramount is not ignoring the fact that "The Blair Witch Project" sequel only earned $26 million domestically on a $15 million budget. The original took in $140 million on a $60,000 budget.

Click here to read our "Paranormal Activity" review.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dddarne writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 10:26:39 PM

I hate this idea, someone on bloody disgusting did have the idea of looking into her past and end it with the house burning down. Which might not be to bad.
WV-Films writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:34:25 AM

If they make the sequel for $15,000, I say go ahead.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:37:36 AM

Sounds good to me. At this point, I'll watch anything that strays from the basic Hollywood horror formula.
aarttyst writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:38:07 AM

good ideal dddarne it still won't be as good as the first. just leave it alone. learn from blair witch
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:44:03 AM

You know, one reason I can appreciate films like this or older horror films like the original TCM is because the film quality is blurrier and indistince. That can add alot of fright elelment to a film. In real life, the dark is DARK. When the film looks too slick and polished my subconscious knows everything is phony. But watching a 16mm film like Texas
Chainsaw Massacre alone in the dark, I can really get pulled in. Paranormal Activity gave me the same feeling.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:55:20 AM

Hollywood...YOU have a problem.

Admitting you have one is the first step, good god, think of something that's not a sequel or a remake for Christ's sake
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 2:38:11 AM

sorry...but even as young as i was when it came out...blair witch didn't even scare me...i mean at the end there was a person standing in the corner lol...so that's supposed to be scary?...yea that wasn't worth my 6 bucks...well, at least i think movie ticket prices were around that price back at that time....and now i'm hearing paranormal activity isn't even all that scary...and that the best parts in the movie are pretty much on the trailer....just judging on that...i don't think it's worth my time yet
Stuntastic writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:36:42 AM

It all comes down to money. Of course since it's making so much a sequel would b inevitable.

@ WV I agree that if they stick to the same premise for the same amount it might work, hell next time they may just shoot the film using an iPhone 3Gs to save even more on the budget
ian_918 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:51:20 AM

Im for it. As long as they dont do something stupid like have katie show up or something..but then again.. its hollywood so its f*cked.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:57:34 AM

hollywood is a game...if you can't play it...don't try it(talking about making good performances, especially on great movies)...i don't think paranormal activity is THAT great...just a decent horror flick better than blair witch project
Flav writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:15:44 PM

Why? its the exact replica of the first. No one will watch. This is what happened to Blair Bitch Project, it become saturated.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:34:31 PM

Actually Blair Witch had one of the more original sequels I can recall. It wasn't a great film, but all the backwards magic and freaky game you could play with the dvd... all pretty cool.
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 4:17:20 PM

This film worked so well the way it was made, if they make a sequel in a similar fashion, from a home video point of view then go ahead and make it. Only thing would be making it different and believable like paranormal, which I think will be a very difficult task.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 6:00:08 PM

I made my previous post before seeing the movie, now with that being said it was just alright. I just didn't feel like it was the scariest film out there though. It had it's moments and dude portraying Micah was hilarious. With that being said I really hope that they leave well enough alone. Just not as scary as people were making it out to be.
Dealey writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:33:18 PM

I really liked this movie, very much, but I think a sequel would suck balls. Just because something makes money doesn't mean we need a f*ckin sequel for it. Leave it alone
FBO writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 10:01:53 PM

You don't have a great stand alone movie like this only to ruin it by making a sequel
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:21:44 AM

how does a sequel ruin anything? the original is still intact. Besides, they reshot that ending to plan for sequels.
I actually prefer the original ending that I watched online. It had a much neater resolution.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:44:55 AM

@ rabid How was the one online?
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 2:29:48 AM

Good. It was the exact same except for the ending. I wasn't in as much suspense at the theatre because i was surrounded by people, but watching it alone at home at 3am with all the lights out was pretty creepy.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:59:31 AM

Hell, I'd b scared too watching it at 3am with no lights on. But I use to b scared to watch Unsolved Mysteries by myself with creeepy ass Robert Stack. I'd b scared someone would drag my ass down the hallway.

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved