WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paramount Considering "Paranormal Activity" Sequel

Posted: October 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paramount Considering "Paranormal Activity" SequelSubmit Comment
"Paranormal Activity" may not catch up to the results of "The Blair Witch Project," but it has been an enormous success, having already grossed over $60 million domestically on a $15,000 budget. It is on track to make over $100 million and has easily become the most profitable film for Paramount Pictures.

As a result, the studio is now actively considering producing a sequel. Since Paramount only owns domestic rights to "Paranormal," a sequel will give it a chance to have worldwide rights.

But Paramount is not ignoring the fact that "The Blair Witch Project" sequel only earned $26 million domestically on a $15 million budget. The original took in $140 million on a $60,000 budget.

Click here to read our "Paranormal Activity" review.

Source: LA Times

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dddarne writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 10:26:39 PM

I hate this idea, someone on bloody disgusting did have the idea of looking into her past and end it with the house burning down. Which might not be to bad.
WV-Films writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:34:25 AM

If they make the sequel for $15,000, I say go ahead.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:37:36 AM

Sounds good to me. At this point, I'll watch anything that strays from the basic Hollywood horror formula.
aarttyst writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:38:07 AM

good ideal dddarne it still won't be as good as the first. just leave it alone. learn from blair witch
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:44:03 AM

You know, one reason I can appreciate films like this or older horror films like the original TCM is because the film quality is blurrier and indistince. That can add alot of fright elelment to a film. In real life, the dark is DARK. When the film looks too slick and polished my subconscious knows everything is phony. But watching a 16mm film like Texas
Chainsaw Massacre alone in the dark, I can really get pulled in. Paranormal Activity gave me the same feeling.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:55:20 AM

Hollywood...YOU have a problem.

Admitting you have one is the first step, good god, think of something that's not a sequel or a remake for Christ's sake
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 2:38:11 AM

sorry...but even as young as i was when it came out...blair witch didn't even scare me...i mean at the end there was a person standing in the corner lol...so that's supposed to be scary?...yea that wasn't worth my 6 bucks...well, at least i think movie ticket prices were around that price back at that time....and now i'm hearing paranormal activity isn't even all that scary...and that the best parts in the movie are pretty much on the trailer....just judging on that...i don't think it's worth my time yet
Stuntastic writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:36:42 AM

It all comes down to money. Of course since it's making so much a sequel would b inevitable.

@ WV I agree that if they stick to the same premise for the same amount it might work, hell next time they may just shoot the film using an iPhone 3Gs to save even more on the budget
ian_918 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:51:20 AM

Im for it. As long as they dont do something stupid like have katie show up or something..but then again.. its hollywood so its f*cked.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:57:34 AM

hollywood is a game...if you can't play it...don't try it(talking about making good performances, especially on great movies)...i don't think paranormal activity is THAT great...just a decent horror flick better than blair witch project
Flav writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:15:44 PM

Why? its the exact replica of the first. No one will watch. This is what happened to Blair Bitch Project, it become saturated.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:34:31 PM

Actually Blair Witch had one of the more original sequels I can recall. It wasn't a great film, but all the backwards magic and freaky game you could play with the dvd... all pretty cool.
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 4:17:20 PM

This film worked so well the way it was made, if they make a sequel in a similar fashion, from a home video point of view then go ahead and make it. Only thing would be making it different and believable like paranormal, which I think will be a very difficult task.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 6:00:08 PM

I made my previous post before seeing the movie, now with that being said it was just alright. I just didn't feel like it was the scariest film out there though. It had it's moments and dude portraying Micah was hilarious. With that being said I really hope that they leave well enough alone. Just not as scary as people were making it out to be.
Dealey writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:33:18 PM

I really liked this movie, very much, but I think a sequel would suck balls. Just because something makes money doesn't mean we need a f*ckin sequel for it. Leave it alone
FBO writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 10:01:53 PM

You don't have a great stand alone movie like this only to ruin it by making a sequel
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:21:44 AM

how does a sequel ruin anything? the original is still intact. Besides, they reshot that ending to plan for sequels.
I actually prefer the original ending that I watched online. It had a much neater resolution.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:44:55 AM

@ rabid How was the one online?
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 2:29:48 AM

Good. It was the exact same except for the ending. I wasn't in as much suspense at the theatre because i was surrounded by people, but watching it alone at home at 3am with all the lights out was pretty creepy.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:59:31 AM

Hell, I'd b scared too watching it at 3am with no lights on. But I use to b scared to watch Unsolved Mysteries by myself with creeepy ass Robert Stack. I'd b scared someone would drag my ass down the hallway.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced

Official "X-Men: Apocalypse" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Chris Evans Wants to Play Captain America After His Marvel Contract Expires

"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved