WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Paramount Considering "Paranormal Activity" Sequel

Posted: October 25th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Paramount Considering "Paranormal Activity" SequelSubmit Comment
"Paranormal Activity" may not catch up to the results of "The Blair Witch Project," but it has been an enormous success, having already grossed over $60 million domestically on a $15,000 budget. It is on track to make over $100 million and has easily become the most profitable film for Paramount Pictures.

As a result, the studio is now actively considering producing a sequel. Since Paramount only owns domestic rights to "Paranormal," a sequel will give it a chance to have worldwide rights.

But Paramount is not ignoring the fact that "The Blair Witch Project" sequel only earned $26 million domestically on a $15 million budget. The original took in $140 million on a $60,000 budget.

Click here to read our "Paranormal Activity" review.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dddarne writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 10:26:39 PM

I hate this idea, someone on bloody disgusting did have the idea of looking into her past and end it with the house burning down. Which might not be to bad.
WV-Films writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:34:25 AM

If they make the sequel for $15,000, I say go ahead.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:37:36 AM

Sounds good to me. At this point, I'll watch anything that strays from the basic Hollywood horror formula.
aarttyst writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:38:07 AM

good ideal dddarne it still won't be as good as the first. just leave it alone. learn from blair witch
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:44:03 AM

You know, one reason I can appreciate films like this or older horror films like the original TCM is because the film quality is blurrier and indistince. That can add alot of fright elelment to a film. In real life, the dark is DARK. When the film looks too slick and polished my subconscious knows everything is phony. But watching a 16mm film like Texas
Chainsaw Massacre alone in the dark, I can really get pulled in. Paranormal Activity gave me the same feeling.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:55:20 AM

Hollywood...YOU have a problem.

Admitting you have one is the first step, good god, think of something that's not a sequel or a remake for Christ's sake
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 2:38:11 AM

sorry...but even as young as i was when it came out...blair witch didn't even scare me...i mean at the end there was a person standing in the corner lol...so that's supposed to be scary?...yea that wasn't worth my 6 bucks...well, at least i think movie ticket prices were around that price back at that time....and now i'm hearing paranormal activity isn't even all that scary...and that the best parts in the movie are pretty much on the trailer....just judging on that...i don't think it's worth my time yet
Stuntastic writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:36:42 AM

It all comes down to money. Of course since it's making so much a sequel would b inevitable.

@ WV I agree that if they stick to the same premise for the same amount it might work, hell next time they may just shoot the film using an iPhone 3Gs to save even more on the budget
ian_918 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:51:20 AM

Im for it. As long as they dont do something stupid like have katie show up or something..but then again.. its hollywood so its f*cked.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 11:57:34 AM

hollywood is a game...if you can't play it...don't try it(talking about making good performances, especially on great movies)...i don't think paranormal activity is THAT great...just a decent horror flick better than blair witch project
Flav writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:15:44 PM

Why? its the exact replica of the first. No one will watch. This is what happened to Blair Bitch Project, it become saturated.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 1:34:31 PM

Actually Blair Witch had one of the more original sequels I can recall. It wasn't a great film, but all the backwards magic and freaky game you could play with the dvd... all pretty cool.
EvilDeadAlex writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 4:17:20 PM

This film worked so well the way it was made, if they make a sequel in a similar fashion, from a home video point of view then go ahead and make it. Only thing would be making it different and believable like paranormal, which I think will be a very difficult task.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 6:00:08 PM

I made my previous post before seeing the movie, now with that being said it was just alright. I just didn't feel like it was the scariest film out there though. It had it's moments and dude portraying Micah was hilarious. With that being said I really hope that they leave well enough alone. Just not as scary as people were making it out to be.
Dealey writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 8:33:18 PM

I really liked this movie, very much, but I think a sequel would suck balls. Just because something makes money doesn't mean we need a f*ckin sequel for it. Leave it alone
FBO writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 10:01:53 PM

You don't have a great stand alone movie like this only to ruin it by making a sequel
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:21:44 AM

how does a sequel ruin anything? the original is still intact. Besides, they reshot that ending to plan for sequels.
I actually prefer the original ending that I watched online. It had a much neater resolution.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 12:44:55 AM

@ rabid How was the one online?
rabid writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 2:29:48 AM

Good. It was the exact same except for the ending. I wasn't in as much suspense at the theatre because i was surrounded by people, but watching it alone at home at 3am with all the lights out was pretty creepy.
Stuntastic writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 8:59:31 AM

Hell, I'd b scared too watching it at 3am with no lights on. But I use to b scared to watch Unsolved Mysteries by myself with creeepy ass Robert Stack. I'd b scared someone would drag my ass down the hallway.

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved