WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Paranormal Activity" Beat "Saw 6" on Friday

Posted: October 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Paranormal Activity" Beat "Saw 6" on FridaySubmit Comment
The "Saw" films don't cost much to make and always make an incredible profit. Even "Saw V" earned over $110 million on a $10 million budget. But for the first time, audiences are saying "no" to the "Saw" franchise.

THR is reporting that "Paranormal Activity" has expanded to 1,945 theaters on Friday, ending up in first place with an estimated $7.6 million. During the same day, "Saw VI" took in only $7 million while playing in almost 3,000 theaters. The sixth installment will fall well short of the $30.1 million opening of last year's "Saw V" and could become the lowest grossing film in the franchise (excluding first film).

Meanwhile, the rest of the wide releases are having a hard time attracting an audience. "The Vampire's Assistant" ended up in seventh place on Friday with $2.2 million and "Astro Boy" took eighth with just $1.8 million.

Click here to read our "Paranormal Activity" review.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
aphid regress writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 7:40:03 PM

I'm looking forward to watching Paranormal Activity.
BigUnit writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 7:45:58 PM

Paranormal activity was horrible, the only crazy thing that actualy happend was the one crazy clip that you see in the trailer. dont waste your time and money for this low-budget film. It sucked.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 7:47:12 PM

[sarcasm] BIG SUPRISE I NEVER EXPECTED IT [/sarcasm]
tcu21 writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 7:48:09 PM

somebody explain to me how paranormal activity was scary? seriously it's baffling me, the ONLY scary thing occured in the last minute and a half. other than that it was a door moving back and forth, sheets moving around, and loud noises for an hour and a half. How was that movie scary, terrifying, or interesting? I read something about people not being able to sleep after seeing it, the only way I'll lose sleep over that is because it's insulting that the director is making millions off a crap movie.
BigUnit writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 7:52:29 PM

@tcu21- my point exactly.
warriors187 writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 7:57:13 PM

I liked it! The creepiest parts to me were the subtle ones...(ex. Standing next to the bed for hours,) And the brilliant way they filmed it made PA believable. Its not like in Cloverfield ("Oh sh*t! The statue of libertys head just landed feet away from me! Lets Film it!). If the first scene in PA had the man filming a ghost physically attacking him and kept the camera rolling, i would have probably turned it off after that. The movie has good pacing.
CyberpunkCentral writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 8:16:29 PM

Manga/Anime + Hollywood = FLOP!
LegacyAR writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 8:25:46 PM

Paranormal Activity was awesome! Every single person I know that's seen it, loves it. Of course you're not going to like a movie if you go into it thinking that its stupid. Maybe you should actually get a girlfriend, take her to the movie and just enjoy it, instead of going by yourself and being stupid about it.
BigUnit writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 8:49:16 PM

@LegacyAR - thats what Couples Retreats for. And my gf fell asleep she thought the movie was so dumb fyi.
tcu21 writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 10:16:05 PM

I went into Paranormal Activity totally excited by what I had heard and ready to be scared sh*tless and I got the crap fest in return. There is some value in the idea of subtly building suspense in a movie but PA just didn't do it. Most people in the theater I was in were laughing by the end SPOILER ALERT: like when she was being dragged down the hallway. It just becomes redundant after a while and the director has to do more than what he did to keep people interested. Plus the main characters were pretty dumb, let's not call the person that can help us?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 11:54:25 PM

I agree with Unit and TCU. I'm not saying the film was horrible or anything but I don't see why people were so scared and what not.
FBO writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 11:55:53 PM

Movies with nothing but gore are not scary, they are pathetic attempts to freak people out. I hope they make more movies like Paranormal Activity. Smart and original in scriptwriting. Maybe Hollyboner should start hiring more guys from the gaming industry, seeing as they create better story lines than movie writters do.

@Big Unit - Out of personal curiosity which film do you think is the best scary movie in the past ten years?
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 11:57:31 PM

It's a one trick pony to the harshest extent. I even grabbed the screener after the theater experienced didn't work and saw there was a different ending (which isn't as good as the theatrical one but I digress) and it still didn't get me. Pitch black room, noise canceling headphones, the whole deal, still nada. My friends who I saw it with, especially the girls, however, were pissing their pants in the theater. All the horror flicks I've sat through, must have built up some sort of immunity or something lol.
FBO writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 12:02:46 AM

Oh and by the way, I hope TCU gets a BCS bowl game... WAY better than Boise St
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 12:19:56 AM

Paranormal Activity was great, but I may have an advantage because I saw it without reading any reviews and only hearing from two friends that it was any good. It doesnt really get scary till the last 20 minutes, but it shows the director's effective pacing and it does have undoubtedly creepy moments throughout. Technically, the film is brilliant, better than Quarantine, Cloverfield, Diary of the Dead and especially Blair Witch Project. The Saw films are just going downhill, the last one I liked was Saw III but I'm gonna say that that had something to do with the fact that Leigh Wannell returned to write that one and it's twist was almost as good as the first Saw. People would rather go out and see a better fan and criticaly reviewed horror film than the 6th sequel is a "horror" franchise that is well past it's prime.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 12:25:18 AM

Thank Christ. Now studios will be less afraid to actually put original horror movies in theatres on Halloween. Die, Saw franchise, you retarded aborted fetus of a "movie" series. Whether or not you liked PA, you guys should be happy an ORIGINAL horror film defeated a sequel in a horrible film franchise. Just seems weird how much backlash it seems to be getting, considering people on here always demand more original movies. I don't know, I'm happy for PA, it shows an original film can be successful in an industry of remakes, reboots, name brand franchises, and other sh*t. Hopefully I can be able to go to a horror film in theatres next Halloween that's not part of the Saw series. Good for PA.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 12:38:01 AM

I'm happy the film is doing well and I'm happy for the director but that doesn't mean I'm willing to give it undeserved praise. I mean its technically sound, especially for 15 grand too, guy is a monster with After Effects or whatever he used, I just didn't think it was really scary. It's obviously very effective on some. I don't think its technically superior to Cloverfield though, and I'm not even a huge fan of that film. But when you compare budgets (Cloverfield is low budget for big profile movies) PA certainly shines even brighter.
aarttyst writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 1:08:33 AM

I watched paranormal activity online, it's supposedly different than the ones shown in theaters. I only pay to see certain movies. anywho, with that said it was entertaining. the ending I saw was the one where she got shot by police. the only thing that freaked me out was when she got dragged outta the bed and down the hall.
But just so I can address the topic of this article... the saw franchise much like the final destination franchise sucked after the first one.
lost_addict writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 1:40:13 AM

make rocky vs.jigsaw next year
rabid writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 2:02:04 AM

I watched the online version. I thought it was poretty decent for the type of film it was. It was definitely suspenseful.
I plan on going to see it at the theatre this week, since i heard the version in theatres has a totally different ending.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 2:50:10 AM

DarkKnight, I totally get what you're saying. I said "whether you liked it or not" for a reason because I was just saying that we should be happy that it pissed upon the corpse of the Saw series, and was a successful original horror film, not because you or I feel it is the greatest thing ever. I personally thought it was an okay flick, one that was creepy, but ultimately not that scary, yet I have a great respect for it and its success. That's all, I didn't say you had to love it, man.
Lander writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 4:04:18 AM

f*ck you Paranormal Activity. Saw is the best. f*ck yeah.
BigUnit writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 7:20:22 AM

@FBO - thats easy, Session 9, i guess 28 days later, Jeepers Creepers 1, the Ring (first one, not the second), The Others i guess was kinda freaky, but we are talking about scary movies here so the movie that most likely freaked me out the most was the sixth sense but then again that was 11 years ago and you asked for 10. As for Paranormal Activity type style movies, Blair Witch and (even) Cloverfeild were all better, but thats just my opinion...
rabid writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 12:52:09 PM

I'd rather watch fifty Paranormal/Cloverfield/Blair Witches than sit through another retarded Saw fiasco.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 12:53:56 PM

don't forget 'the hills have eyes' remake, well the first one anyway....i haven't even seen paranormal activity still...and i'm still thinking even the hills have eyes remake is scarier...that movie had me grasping my arm rests wondering what will happen to the characters...last movie that ever did that to me was 'scream'...but now 'scream' is just funny to me...mainly because of matthew lillard...and as for 'saw 6'...didn't see it, but i heard about jigsaw's 'grand scheme' for this one...and it didn't even sound like it went further into jigsaw's grand scheme...just sounded like another lame excuse for a movie
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 1:22:12 PM

"rabid writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 12:52:09 PM
I'd rather watch fifty Paranormal/Cloverfield/Blair Witches than sit through another retarded Saw fiasco."

QUOTE FOR f*ckING TRUTH!

And yes Nozzle I get you man.
Tizzle writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 1:58:04 PM

How to enjoy PA:

Buy a ticket. Sit in the front row. Watch the audience. It's better than any movie I've seen in awhile. People are ridiculous haha. And yeah, I'm glad this low budget flick is destroying saw, and everything else for that matter.
holtlt writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 3:58:39 PM

Actually, this SAW was way better than most of the others, my opinion that this is the second best of the franchise
FBO writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 4:37:16 PM

@Big Unit - So you're down with the visually grotesque films, that would explain why PA doesn't work for you. I understand your position better now. Thank you

I'll be honest I didn't like any Saw movie. They don't affect me after the movie, you know. And like I said before, when I turn my head cuz I don't want to see someone die in some twisted way well then that's a sign that I am not scared. But when I am rivited to the story and I can't turn my head well then someone is doing something right.
BigUnit writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 5:50:44 PM

Well you know there isnt to many movies out there like PA, I didnt even bother to go see quarantine, and i just feel Blair Witch was the last movie i could watch with that style, the problem i had with PA is there in like one fricken room the whole time. Also this has nothing to do with PA but ive never been into those gory horror flicks that are big on torture, idk not my thing.. stoped watching Saw movies at number III. lol
SuluNakamura writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 3:39:21 PM

Good. Saw is a horrible franchise.
inf.carnage writes:
on November 3rd, 2009 at 9:54:39 PM

I think it's a little weird for someone who doesn't like grotesque death scenes would use the joker for his avatar.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved