WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

NASA Fights Back Against "2012" Fear Campaigns

Posted: October 24th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
NASA Fights Back Against "2012" Fear CampaignsSubmit Comment
Is anyone really worried that the world will end in 2012? The answer is "YES," many people are worried. There have been over 200 books and 1,000 websites created to push various doomsday scenarios, and its scaring a large portion of the population. Plus the new "2012" movie is not helping.

Sony Pictures has recently launched a viral campaign, comprising of numerous websites that are meant to look like credible sources of scientific information, all supporting the film's claim that the world will end in three years.

Some of those sites are for a fake institute as well as a fake news website that distributes fake press releases about a fake aerospace company winning government contracts. It all looks legit and people are being fooled into believing that the information is true.

To fight back, NASA scientist David Morrison launched a column, called "Ask An Astrobiologist," to answer questions that people may have. After the first 1,000 questions came in, he realizes that there's real panic out there.

"I think people are really, really worried about the world coming to an end," he said. "Kids are contemplating suicide. Adults tell me they can't sleep and can't stop crying. There are people who are really, really scared."

He added: "I don't have anything against the movie. It's the way it's been marketed and the way it exploits people's fears. People are very gullible. It a sad testimonial that you need NASA to tell you the world's not going to end."

Click here to read more about "2012."

Source: Discovery


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mdp711 writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 7:48:32 AM

The world has been coming to an end in each and every year. Look at movie history and all of the "end of the world" films. This is just hype for promotion. Ever since the debacle of 12-31-99, where the whole world was suppose to shut down, where we all feared for our safety, where I had to be on call for the impending doom, and then absolutely nothing happened. I'm not going to worry about it. The world will not end, humanity may.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 9:20:06 AM

"The world will not end, humanity may. "

It's a f*cking winter solstice.


It's the metaphorical end of one age, and the beginning of another (Aquarius).

Stupid f*cking people and their stupid f*cking fairy tales.
Ari Gold writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 9:31:02 AM

Xenu is coming. Bow before him, or be lobotomized.
rocketman writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 9:41:56 AM

Y2K did this years ago,God hollywood you're soooooo last week.
OneTime writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 9:47:09 AM

its not the end of the world...its the end of the "free" world..humans will cease to have rights as we do now
johnny_boy writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 9:56:07 AM

ok? how the f*ck could the mayans predict when the world is going to end but couldn't predict that the spanish conquering them? notice how there aint any around today. its bullsh*t all the way. if u're any of the pussies who thinks the world will end in 2012, then u must've also thought before the world was going to end in Y2K, which by the way we're still here even after 2012 passes
johnny_boy writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 10:02:27 AM

BTW, does any1 wonder that maybe the mayans didnt have a chance to expand their calendar? like on my cell phone the calendar shows the dates all the way up to the year 2115. doesnt mean the world will end cuz the calendar stops. it just needs to be further expanded at some point
acslaterson writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 10:46:10 AM

Silly bat sh*t crazy religious people, always hoping the wold will end. I saw a poll a couple of years ago that 60% of Christians believe the rapture will happen in their lifetime. They believe in the apocolypse but global warming is a hoax? f*cking jackasses.
lost_addict writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 10:46:57 AM

at least if the world ends we won't have any more "saw" sequels...
warlord writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 11:22:10 AM

GAME OVER MAN GAME OVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 11:28:29 AM

"It a sad testimonial that you need NASA to tell you the world's not going to end."
_______

When tax dollars get funneled by the billions into useless space exploration missions and 'no end' programs, the least you can do for them is tell them they wont die.

OR they might as well funnel those tax billions into finally charting the 70 to 80 percent of the world's oceans that haven't been explored yet.

f*ckin NASA. Put a guy on the moon and it gives ya the chance to bleed a country dry for decades. Invent warp travel or f*ck off. I dont care what poisonous gasses make up Mars' atmosphere- I'm never going- you're never going, NO ONE IS GOING!
Randal Graves writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 11:40:45 AM

If people want fake news they should just watch Fox News.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 11:43:56 AM

I can't wait to see how people react in the days leading up to Dec. 21, 2012. It's going to be hysterical. It'll be just another day for me...might do some Christmas shopping on it.
Whitta writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 11:45:23 AM

Dont you guys realise this is actually the 'twist' in 'Saw 9'. In 2012, Jigsaw's gonna be behind it all, punishing us from all our sinning and wrong-doing.

SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 1:43:50 PM

"might do some Christmas shopping on it."

Good luck getting past all the looters.

My friends birthday is on December 21st, it's gonna be pretty sweet
MoneyHayabusa writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 1:45:59 PM

Im sick of f*cking nancy-footing around people too stupid to figure out sh*t for themselves. Youre really gonna f*cking kill yourself BEFORE the end of the world? Hell if its coming I'm gonna find a good seat to watch from. Grown adults crying? Jesus Christ, get a grip of yourself.

Though I DO find it interesting that the maya knew on 12-21-12 that the supermassive black hole (their so-called dark void) at the center of the galaxy, the sun and earth would align again for the first time in 26,000 years... a sort of 'new year' for our solar system.

My thoughts on it were that it was going to be more of a change in morals and mentality, where technology (and possibly the legalization of psychedelics) would lead to a world order that transcended bullsh*t like nationalism, racism, chain of command, organized religion, war, money, etc. etc. But f*ck, I dunno.
rabid writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 2:07:30 PM

The Mayans studied star movements, but they didnt know much more than that. There is no planetary alignment or galactic alignment set to happen anytime soon.
There is a sort-of alignment that comes every Dec 21st, but it will be off by 6 degrees to the north or by the width of 11 suns.
The alignment of the black hole and the sun and Earth will happen... in the 281st century.
Ranger writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 3:45:51 PM

If time on Earth was to end and we were all wiped-out (and couldn't do a thing about it)... who cares?! I mean... really.
polardeficit writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 3:49:35 PM

i say let them believe it and maybe if we are lucky we can solve some of the over population problems by having them kill themselves
Gates writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 5:05:57 PM

Movie Spoiler Alert:








Lindsey Lohan gets AIDS.........again.


End of spoiler.
nope.com writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 5:19:05 PM

just like people theorized mass panic and something BIG would happen in 2000


NOTHING WILL HAPPEN

Goddammit I live in a world full of retards
mdp711 writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 5:46:12 PM

@Spooky...you're 15? If so my friend, you have much to learn. Of course you'll say, "f*ck you" and all that jazz, but let me tell you, those of us older folk know a thousand times more now then we did when we were young. Perhaps to our disadvantage but true nonetheless.
puturge writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 6:03:27 PM

these are all money trap and crap.. the world is not going to end in 2012 because still Deccal ( A half human, half creature didnt come) and jesus didnt come back and many things the religious books tell about for the end of the world, didnt not happen..

so be in peace nothing will happen..
dhkenobi writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 7:11:56 PM

In response to johnny_boy:

"BTW, does any1 wonder that maybe the mayans didnt have a chance to expand their calendar? like on my cell phone the calendar shows the dates all the way up to the year 2115. doesnt mean the world will end cuz the calendar stops. it just needs to be further expanded at some point"

That's what I've been saying!!!!
darthraige writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 7:55:13 PM

NASA scientist David Morrison: "Kids are contemplating suicide. Adults tell me they can't sleep and can't stop crying. There are people who are really, really scared."

Bunch of pussies! Suck it up, nothing is going to happen.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 8:34:14 PM

On the 21/12/12 iam going to run down my street screaming!

'IT'S ALL OVER PEOPLE,WE DON'T HAVE A PRAYER!!!'

Seriously people are freaking about this way too much, jsut because the calendar stopped at that date it doesn't mean the world will stop. It could just ahve stopped at that date because the Mayans couldn't be f*cking botherd continuing making the calendar!!

So people belive that the world will end, some actually believe that it will signal change! (YES WE CAN) nah not really!

Maybe all technology will fail in the world, and we won't be able to read minkowskis rants anymore, or spookys one liners, or ranger bashing AIDS stricken Lohan! this will be the ulitmate downfall in civilization!

and mdp711 comment
'The world will not end, humanity may.'

one of the best comments ever!
Kara writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 9:06:49 PM

what would we do without NASA....
vwkombi writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 11:05:19 PM

Why the f*ck would you commit suicide before the end of the world? Who wouldn't want to watch Earth get sucked into a black hole and vanish forever or catch fire or get hit by a big ass meteor.

Sit on your roof, crack open a beer, put on "I Don't Want to Set the World on Fire" by The Ink Spots and enjoy the show!


P.S
NASA there is a meteor bigger than the moon heading towards Earth. It's going to destroy the Earth on collision. Trust me, for i am always right.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 11:36:09 PM

"@Spooky...you're 15? If so my friend, you have much to learn. Of course you'll say, "f*ck you" and all that jazz, but let me tell you, those of us older folk know a thousand times more now then we did when we were young. Perhaps to our disadvantage but true nonetheless."

What the f*ck are you going on about?

If you actually believe this sh*t, I advise that you take your own life right now.
metathought writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 12:01:32 AM

but...but, but Woody Harrelson can't be wrong, can he?
aarttyst writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 1:10:17 AM

isn't this the same thing that happened with y2k?
maybe the myans just got tired and didn't feel like continuing the calender? ever thought about that?
Ranger writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 2:43:30 AM

@mdp - I know you went by my profile and the age it also states for me. It is incorrect. I wouldn't go by people's profiles on here for any deep, dark secrets about them.
vwkombi writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 3:26:25 AM

Plus, the mayan calender doesn't actually end in 2012. It's just the end of the 13th Baktun.
minkowski writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 7:12:15 AM

I don't know what's more disheartening. The idiots that believe the world is about to end in the year 2012, or the idiots that think space exploration is a total waste of time.

I don't know how more Luddite you can get, denouncing the expansion of our cosmic knowledge.

But hey, just make sure that guy has a better cell phone every two months. f*ck space.
minkowski writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 7:17:23 AM

Oh, and this debunking isn't from NASA, but from the column of a guy that merely works for NASA. You guys slay me. :|
Tizzle writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 1:11:18 PM

Seriously, NASA? Don't you have better things to do than take care of a bunch of crying idiots? Go shoot another missile at the moon or something. I don't know anyone that thinks this crap is real... if I met someone that truly believed it I'd punch him in the face. Don't give Sony crap for trying to hype up the stupid movie. This movie is being made by the people that said we were going to be attacked by prehistoric monsters and aliens. It's a movie. You don't see John Cusack crying do you??
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 1:50:08 PM

i just think it's silly because they talk about 2012 as if natural disasters would kill life on our planet...that's already been happening since before time was time lol...earthquakes...tornadoes...volcanoes...tsunamis...you name it...sh*t happens constantly...and there's nothing you can do about it...or maybe there is??...the answer is yes, there is something we can do...don't ever take a man's word for it when one says 'the world is going to end' ESPECIALLY when they put a date on it...that's a big no no...just live life and stop worrying about man's predictions...because that's exactly what they are, just predictions...predictions only offer partial truth...some are right and some are wrong...but that doesn't mean they'll be right this time about 2012...why?...because they've been wrong OVER and OVER and OVER again in the past...that's why...we've been told over and over that it will happen...but there's one fact everybody keeps forgetting: nobody knows when or how...and when i say nobody, i'm talking about all of humanity...consider this comment my fight against 2012 fear campaigns...you know why?...because it reminds me of how hitler got power in germany...all the people of the nation were scared after world war 1...so they voted for hitler and then you got all the events that went down in world war 2...on top of that, you got vietnam and the current war we're now in...and what did all those wars accomplish?...not world peace, that's for sure...i just think people need to be better and smarter than the idiots of the past...besides, isn't that what our generation is supposed to do?...ok i'm done ranting
Adamtheflash writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 3:12:12 PM

Mr. Morrison, what you just said is the most completely ridiculous thing I'v ever heard. At no point, in your rambling incoherent response, were you close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone is now dumber for having heard it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul.
BitterPeace910 writes:
on October 25th, 2009 at 8:58:43 PM

I think its all funny to be honest
GeneticalAnomaly writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:08:38 AM

FAGGOTS
skooterz writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 12:14:34 PM

Anyone who believes that the world will come to an end in 2012 by any means but the possibility of nuclear war is an idiot. There aren't going to be any sudden earthquakes that shake the world apart.
rabid writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 2:21:39 PM

After 2012, there shouldn't be any more ridiculous armageddon dates to look forward to. That's pretty much the last one. So all the jehovahs witnesses and apocalyptics will have to face reality.
Strider23 writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 7:36:19 PM

So Excited To See This, It Looks Insanly Incredible
FBO writes:
on October 26th, 2009 at 9:46:59 PM

Another classic example of jocks effing with NASA. As for 2012, here's the low down. An ancient maya nerd named Furbius Aminahjad started doodling durning a test in english class. He wrote month after month til he got a ginormous hand cramp and said to himself; "f*ck it, I'll just say the end of the world happens here." And that's why people believe 2012 is the end of the world.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved