WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

George Lucas Working on New "Star Wars" Trilogy?

Posted: October 22nd, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
George Lucas Working on New "Star Wars" Trilogy?Submit Comment
James Cameron's "Avatar" is getting so much hype that George Lucas is now actually considering making an entirely new "Star Wars" trilogy in 3D. We already talked about Lucas converting his old "Star Wars" film to 3D for a theatrical re-release, but this news is not about that. This is about a completely new trilogy.

According to MarketSaw, which claims that this information is from an extremely reliable and connected source, Lucas will not be directing the new films, only producing. Instead, he is trying to get his buddies Steven Spielberg and Francis Ford Coppola to take over the helming duties.

After hearing of this rumor, AICN went straight to Lucasfilm, and here is the answer their received: "Lucasfilm is not currently working on a 3D version of the Star Wars movies."

That answer doesn't surprise me, since a studio will never announce anything until they are certain that it will happen. MarketSaw claims that at this point, the new "Star Wars" trilogy is simply being discussed at Lucasfilm. Stay tuned.

Source: MarketSaw


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
coldplayesence writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:16:41 AM

No f*cking way...
Snarebeast writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:21:15 AM

If George really wants to make a new Star Wars trilogy, what he needs to do is tell his storyline to other writers, let them say "...okay great, but here's what we wanna do", and then hire someone else to make it. Preferably someone who wouldn't say "I dunno, green screen?" whenever someone asks the location of a scene.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:21:50 AM

Is Lucas really that much in debt?? or cant think of other movie ideas???
ilovemovies82 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:22:24 AM

Lucas is not a bad director. But he's not that good of a writer. He's good at creating worlds but not very good at writing dialog. So hopefully he won't be writing it himself.
Ranger writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:26:04 AM

Folks... I (honestly) heard (since 1977) from somewhere that there was always intended to be 9 movies.

But we ALL sure as hell know that after the first Star Wars ('77) that George did NOT have the other two movies even thought of. Why... DUH... because Luke wanted to drive a tongue down his sister throat just as much as Han did.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:29:36 AM

Why won't Lucas find a nice and cold place under a rock somewhere?
lost_addict writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:44:00 AM

jabba de lucas working?pfff...come on...he can barely get out of his bed nowdays...
Ranger writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:47:16 AM

Only if his catheter falls out.
nope.com writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:54:59 AM

please.. just drop the thing already Lucas you already killed it with the second trilogy AND a sh*tty animated film.
Popcorn101 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:58:52 AM

just make a damn star wars:knights of the old republic movie, ill pay 20$ to see that!
Ranger writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:58:53 AM

Well said!
Ranger writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:59:39 AM

Whoops... my comment was towards nope.com


Randal Graves writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:59:54 AM

Lucas can do whatever he wants. in ten years if he wants to remake return of the jedi and have the empire win, good for him. i'm still gonna watch it.
Shan writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 2:01:38 AM

No real need to do this. The expanded universe (comics, games, novels) deals with what happens after episode VI anyways, so even if he does make a new trilogy, people will know what's going to happen. Or he completely changes it, and makes everything else canon material.

DON'T DO IT GEORGE!!!
vaodsi writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 2:34:27 AM

uhm.. yeah.. keep lucas away from the script writing and the director's chair and i am one happy camper... throw in coppola and spielberg and i am PSYCHED!
i HATED the new trilogy
the direction and dialogue was laughable
"Just being around her again is..... intoxicating..."
But lucas has sunk SUPER low with his new animated cartoon network crap. It's as painful, like watching him cinematically castrate himself. Assuming he had cinematic balls to begin with.... although some of his early stuff was good..... like american graphiti, a new hope, (he didn't direct the other two star wars as we all know)
bacci40 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 3:20:19 AM

if it is done...it must be post the fall of the empire....prequels suck ass
warriors187 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 4:13:33 AM

Anybody read the novel>? I seem to remember that Luke goes to the dark side and kills Leya and Han...i think....Does anyone know if im right or not??
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 5:47:04 AM

Ok, listen i will be exited to see a new triology. But some changes need to be made!

1. Keep green screen to a minimum!! Take the work of Nolan for example, little CGI, more real backdrops and effects.(I make exceptions for space battles and sh*t)
2. NO GREEN SCREEN!!
3. NO BLUE SCREEN!!
4. Do the story either on Kyle Katarn, or the Old Republic!
5. Don't make millions of CGI troopers, instead hire actors to wear the armour!
6. Stick with puppets for the Aliens!
7. Think about hiring Guilmero Del Toro!!!!!!
FrancescaP writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 8:23:13 AM

Somebody please stop this guy before he does more damage.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 8:26:01 AM

f*ck off Lucas.

I would of said yes if he just left it to the films and had not done the massive amount of spin-offs.
Forrest75 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 8:38:26 AM

Who among us have not had visions of Harrison, Mark and Carrie reprising their characters as 60 year olds - teaching a new generation? When I heard about the three trilogies decades ago I always thought this would be interesting to see. Better hurry - them kids AIN'T gettin any younger.
scarface85 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 9:05:45 AM

omg omg omg omg omg
rabid writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 9:15:11 AM

good. Do it while all the original actors are still around. The story gets pretty interesting once Luke and Han's kids come into the picture.
Horsemoney5 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 9:27:33 AM

There are a lot of good stories with in the star wars universe. The problem is do you have it go along with th existing movies or do you have no connections at all and just start fresh...
Osiris3eagle writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 9:34:24 AM

There was no question there would be new Star Wars movies, it's such a big cash cow. There's no way Fox and Lucas would pass up the chance for another billion dollar pay day.
KindredMac writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 9:47:19 AM

OK..
A) Luke does turn to the Dark Side to try to stop the reborn Palpatine, but
B) He does not kill everyone like someone said.... however,
C) Jacen Solo does become a Sith Lord and kills Mara Jade.

However I would really like to see Lucas take a new trilogy either into the future that we focus on the new Republic and Luke as the Grand Master of the Jedi Council or we take it to Old Republic time frame with the Sith War.

But agreed... Lucas CANNOT direct or write the new trilogy.
KindredMac writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 9:48:15 AM

PS.... 3D? God No.... Hollywood needs to stop thinking that every movie needs to be in 3D.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 9:49:17 AM

I'm still always surprised too here how much people hate the new trilogy. Its not just devoted SW dorks either. Its pretty much everybody! Except, of course, me. Ok, I'm not a complete idiot, I had the same problems with Anakin and Jar Jar as everbody. But I always thought that McGregor, Sam Jackson, Liam Neeson, the and Yoda helped balance the force a little bit if you know what I mean. I wished the story would have moved a little faster, but I had no problem with it. By time Episode 3 came around Lucas had perfected the digital FX and had created some pretty cool sets (loved the finale on the volcanic planet). In the long run Episode 3 was the only thing I cared about anyway, and I think it was Lucas's best work next to Empire. The sheer amount of murder and destruction (can't believe he showed Anakin killing children!) in that film has always impressed me. But mostly it was the tension Lucas managed to create in the build up to Anakin's turn that really bolstered my opinion of him as a director. Throw in the best light saber scenes in the series (maybe the best sword fight ever filmed) and the brutal dismembering and burning of Vader, and you've got the second best installment of the entire series! As for the writing:
"If you're not with me, you are my enemy."
"Only a Sith deals in absolutes. I will do what I must."

"YOU WERE THE CHOSEN ONE! IT WAS SAID THAT YOU WOULD DESTROY THE SITH NOT JOIN THEM...BRING BALANCE TO THE FORCE NOT LEAVE IT IN DARKNESS!"
--"I HATE YOU!"
"You were my brother Anakin. I loved you."
***Classic***
Its not the writing that was the problem. Its Lucas concentration to certain details that is the real issue. Those details never seem to include acting or line delivery. He's not a Cameron, a Spielberg, a Peter Jackson that can get the most out of his actors and his fx department. So getting a director that can juggle the two will be a huge improvement.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 9:50:51 AM

Wow its early! sorry yall "surprised to hear"
xXxRORSCHACHxXx writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 10:01:18 AM

George Lucas has turned to the dark side. He must be stopped!
rocketman writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 10:29:43 AM

George.Do this.
1.More adult for the ORGINAL FANS.
2.less blue/green screen
3.Less cgi characters
4.If you can make a costume then do so,no more crappy cgi Troopers this time
5.No childish Ewoks,Gungans etc..
6.Dark
7.Don't hire the same casting director that you used for the prequles
8.Your idea are cool,your writing/directing are not,so hand over duties to some new blood.
9.Kill off Solo.
10.Get Ridley Scott to direct,Coppola and Spielberg lost it years ago.
11.Bring back the weird noises from EP4,remember all the crazy beeps n stuff in the sandcrawler?more of that sh*t.
12.More emotion,less wood.
13.Respect the fans,we know what we like about Star Wars,you don't.
ie.we love AT-AT's Lightsabers,Darth Maul,action...
we hate your humour,sorry pal but your about as funny as a fart in a space suit.
14.While your about,cut Jar Jar outa the TPM
15.Make it like the first 20 mins of Savin pvt Ryan crossed with Black Hawk Down crossed with the first Star Wars film.
i have so much more but i need to take my dog out,i wil be back
And Remember as far as i'm concerend this is last chance salloon for me,i don't give a sh*t about that clone wars crap i want MY Star Wars that i fell in love with 31 years ago not some toy advert.
warlord writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 10:36:42 AM

WHY?
SACdaddy writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 10:40:41 AM

"sorry pal but you're about as funny as a fart in a space suit." Still laughing my ass off!
"Kill off Solo"? Take it easy Rocketman. Did you run out of weed or something?

You forgot, bring back Luke! He's a much better actor now.
Randal Graves writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 10:41:02 AM

Jesus you're all acting like lucas stole your kid or somthin. this is just a rumor....the rumor has been going around since the first installment of the prequel. say what you want about lucas, but without him there would be no starwars.
rocketman writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 10:57:57 AM

@SACDADDY
Kill off Solo for dramatic impact,like Ford suggeted for ROTJ,i doubt he will return otherwise.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 10:59:08 AM

i heard the continuation trilogy involves luke turning to the dark side and han solo learning the ways of the force...sorry but i think i'll just leave it where it ended on return of the jedi...that, and nothing still compares to the model sets they used to make it look like they were filming stuff in space...creativity was at its peak, at least before cgi ruled everything in star wars
rocketman writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 10:59:20 AM

And Lukes a given,bet he has a beard ala Kenobi too.
NatG83 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 11:22:04 AM

I agree with Skippy Spartan. The Kyle Katurn story is good material.

I see potential in this. Like others have said, Lucas can't be allowed to write the stories, either.
PaintByNumbers writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 12:32:25 PM

@Randall Graves.

1.) I can't help but read your posts in "Randall Style" inside my head.

2.) It's appropriate that you're commenting on a Star Wars topic.
dandythelion writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 12:50:45 PM

nonononononono Lucas SUCKS. Star Wars SUCKS (except maybe the first and Empire).

nonono
victor arroyo writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 1:05:37 PM

writer: g. lucas with guy ritchie (screen play)

director: zack snyder (lucas never again, he is a sh*tty director, great writer duh)

Cast: unknown actors

that would be cool.

PEACE!
halostingray87 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 2:06:35 PM

I agree that Lucas should stay in the Producing role and let someone else direct/write who appreciates the Star Wars universe, but can tell a STORY not just special effects. The new trilogy had a lot of really good elements. But I felt like it relied SO much on the visuals that everything that made the original trilogy so brilliant (an actual Epic storyline) was lacking.

I have actually recently gotten into reading the books that take place after the sixth film (I suggest Thrawn Trilogy for anyone interested, it's awsome). But if this is done right it will be amazing. Of course with how open and big the Star Wars universe is the number of stories they could work off of there really is no telling what they do.
rabid writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 2:09:55 PM

It should be all Lucas. This is his brain child and his legacy. Let him have it all the way til the end. The vultures can pick his bones once he's dead.
halostingray87 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 2:16:41 PM

OK I've been reading some confusion... let me set some things straight. Luke DOES turn to the dark side for a year but get's pulled back my Leia, Han etc. Lando makes frequent re-appearances to help. Also after the sixth film the Empire is severely crippled but not dead. They actually fall into almost a Gorrila War for almost 20 years. Luke begins a new Jedi Academy and starts scouting around the universe for potential Jedi. Luke and Han get married, have twins (boy/girl) and a third child (son) who all become Jedi. Some seriously main character start to die in the Yuuhzon Vong saga (I just started reading that, only in the second book but it's pretty crazy). Luke marries an ex-agent of the former Emperor who turned smuggler and had Jedi potential (she eventually becomes a Master). But it mostly centers on the Solos three Jedi Knight children.
Ranger writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 2:33:06 PM

Obviously a passionate topic... good.

If not only ready posted above, a bit of obscure (and well-known) trivia... Harrison Ford said he's never do Han again... ever... ever (he seemed quite adamant... lol). So however this will go, and they need Han, enter CGI people Ala' Arnie and Terminator Salvation.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 3:37:00 PM

SOMEONE NEEDS TO GIVE LUCAS A ANAL BREACH USING THE ARM THAT WAS CUT OFF THE WAMPA ON HOTH...CHANGE THE f*ckIN' RECORD, LUCAS!!!
Osiris3eagle writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 3:54:48 PM

I don't think any new Star Wars movie should continue where the original trilogy left off. Make it set in the Star Wars universe, but with completely new characters and stories. Adapting the stories from the Knights of the Old Republic games would make awesome movies (if done properly).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 4:19:57 PM

f*ck you, Lucas.
rabid writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 4:42:47 PM

Harrison Ford would play Han Solo again without even thinking twice and he knows it.
acslaterson writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 7:18:16 PM

Luke rebuilding the Jedi order? I would see that in a f*cking heart beat. Recast everyone with younger versions for the first and second and bring back the original cast(Hammil, Ford, etc.) For the third.

George, give your outline to credible writers and collect a pay check. That's all you need to do buddy.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 7:42:43 PM

If he actually makes it, they better not be animated. "Clone Wars" suuuucked.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 7:47:35 PM

I can only imagine Harrison Ford doing Han Solo again... oh, yeah, I can see a wheelchair....
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 7:48:45 PM

But I would love to see a lightsaber fight on wheelchairs... that would be so great.
holtlt writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 10:10:41 PM

Hollywood ain't getting original, but if its about the bad guys, I'm in
japaninmotion writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 11:51:11 PM

the best news ive heard in awhile....not about the star wars movies.....news that he wont direct them....
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 23rd, 2009 at 2:24:44 AM

i actually didn't realize that in skippy's comment....kyle katarn sounds like a great story to navigate into...they could make a movie based on that game, star wars: dark forces....game could be just as good as the movie's storyline
Ranger....Is Gay writes:
on October 23rd, 2009 at 4:14:57 AM

bring in jacen solo!!!!
Dre-EL writes:
on October 23rd, 2009 at 12:14:00 PM

No to messing with the Original Star Wars.

Yes to a new trilogy with new characters and a new menace.
aarttyst writes:
on October 24th, 2009 at 1:42:20 AM

three more star wars movies, if handled correctly.... this s#!% has potential.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 4:03:02 PM

AWWW HELL NO!
DestructionsWombat writes:
on October 28th, 2009 at 7:45:33 PM

NONONONONONONONONONONONONO!
what the f*ck lucas? did phantom menace teach u nothing? u used to be awesome- what the hell happened? please dont do this i still havent forgiven you for indiana jones 4
Goober3000 writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 5:27:35 PM

original star wars AWSOME, new star wars and all the animated series crap SUCKS, even the new CGI stuff added into the original movies SUCKS example the CGI bs they added at Jabba's lair that stupid f*cking disney band crap f*ck!!!!
Goober3000 writes:
on November 1st, 2009 at 5:33:37 PM

the old star wars always had a kind of dark scary world feel to it but now its like lord of the rings in the furture all fluffy and colorful and cute little CGI characters that makes me want to blow my f*cking head off

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved