WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Marvel Says "Captain America" Will Set Up "The Avengers"

Posted: October 21st, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Marvel Says "Captain America" Will Set Up "The Avengers"Submit Comment
During the Big Apple Comic-Con, Marvel Comics editor-in-chief Joe Quesada hosted a panel and answered some questions about the world of Marvel. He wasn't able to speak of Disney's acquisition of the company, but said a few words about the upcoming "The First Avenger: Captain America" movie.

"I've seen a couple of outlines and an initial screenplay, and it's going to rock everyone's socks off," he said. "It's very unexpected, the kind of movie it is." Quesada added that "Captain America" sets up "The Avengers" in "a fantastic way" and also mentioned that there is an undisclosed wish list of actors to play the superhero.

"Captain America" is directed by Joe Johnston (Jurassic Park III, The Wolfman) and is scheduled to hit theaters on July 22nd, 2011, which is about a year before "The Avengers" is released.

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: ComicBookResources


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
telur writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 3:22:05 AM

it's good idea. So its confirm in the end of Captain America will be cliffhanger and has a title TO BE CONTINUED
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 3:23:28 AM

I thought this was already said? I'm always so confused. Seems like there's a lot of repeat speeches confused for new nowadays in Hollywood.
Ranger writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 3:55:28 AM

Before someone asks me why I didn't post it, I will... Neil Fifer is still my pick. Go with an unknown. I believe he and Marvel have already communicated. This sounds like it's going to be great - as in I have reason to believe (or feel) that they're being careful and authentic with this movie. Sweet!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 3:58:26 AM

Bring in the Hoff as Cap.

On a serious note, how did the guy who directed The Rocketeer get this gig?
johnny_boy writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 4:45:00 AM

they better get started on this sh*t with casting already.thor starts production in january and they both premiere at around the same time
rocketman writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 5:23:11 AM

Can't wait for this film,and the Avengers for that matter,they could film The Ultimates vabatim for me and i would be more than happy.Cap rools and that's coming from a Brit.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 7:38:04 AM

I already read this article before...
warlord writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 9:33:40 AM

not all marvel comics should be made into a movie and this is one
MontoyaWA writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 9:56:29 AM

'not all marvel comics should be made into a movie and this is one'

Definetly agree with that statement. They have to change that costume for the film.
Derp88 writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 10:03:03 AM

GAY
lost_addict writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 10:41:59 AM

"Captain America" is directed by Joe Johnston"

EPIC FAIL
Skywalker121289 writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 11:55:05 AM

Watch your dirty mouth Ricky- The Rocketeer was EPIC.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 12:17:03 PM

I agree that it was epic but more in terms of visuals than actual direction. I would of thought they would approach someone with more of a solid record seeing as this guy really is the poster boy of Marvel.

Although that is just me! Someone who still think 'Dude wheres my car?' is a good film :D
WV-Films writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 12:17:11 PM

Joe Hohnston from Jurassic Park 3? Uhh....can't they find anyone else? I'll do it for free.
rocketman writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 12:37:05 PM

Johnston did design Boba Fett don't forget,the guy can do cool in his sleep and the new trailer for Wolfman looks prety cool...over at AICN
rocketman writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 12:38:50 PM

Just thank your arse Michael Bay is'nt directing.
Goober3000 writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 1:21:29 PM

Oh man the guy who directed Jurassic Park 3 is doing this movie? That's a shame....
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 1:47:15 PM

Niel Fifer is too old. Get someone in his late 20's-early 30's.
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 1:54:15 PM

They have to make him kick someone in the face and scream "Do you think this A stands for France?!?"
Ranger writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 2:39:47 PM

lol.
Lowryder writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 4:08:17 PM

MICHAEL CAINE WILL BE CAPTAIN AMERICA!!
scarface85 writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 4:11:28 PM

will smith as cap am
Skywalker121289 writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 5:09:46 PM

@Ricky- Eh, I'm not so sure I agree with you on that posterboy comment. Spidey has had much more publicity than Cap ever has had, to the point where people begin to use him irreverently AKA Riami took a crap on him. Although Cap has always been one of my favorite Marvel characters, I can't honestly say I know a storyline that isn't his origins, his timetravel, or his death/civilwar. But he HAS been around that long, so the source material is there, even if it is undiscovered my Modern America or... erm, me. I'd think that the Rocketeer has a lot LESS source material, as it was started in the 80s as a comic strip- wouldn't that take MORE direction? Besides, outta all of the movies WPs could mention, JPIII is picked??! That's bullcrap(and so was JPIII)- this guy's done a lot of good stuff, give 'em a chance folks.
Deathscythe writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 7:57:51 PM

JPIII sucked balls, but I don't blame the director I blame the script and the actors for agreeing to that script. I'm hoping for Captain America to be just as good as Ironman but in a different tone.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 8:31:15 PM

Real Title Meaning

"Captain America will set up the Avengers, be watered down tanks to Dizneyz and co, but we know this because we haven't even wrote a script"

Best title EVAAAAAAA

J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 8:37:11 PM

Hmmmm i find the director interesting, clearly Marvel think that Dinosaurs that know how to break necks are cool...

And well since it the same douche that did Wolfman, despite how awesome the film looks, expect a push back date by at least a year.
BigUnit writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 9:52:10 PM

I'm not going to bash Joe Johnston untill i see The Wolfman, than i shall give me opinion

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved