WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Batman and Robin" is the Most Important Comic Book Movie

Posted: October 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Batman and Robin" is the Most Important Comic Book MovieSubmit Comment
You read the title correctly, that's what many believe, especially Marvel head Kevin Feige. But how could the worst "Batman" movie that almost destroyed the superhero genre can be important?

"That may be the most important comic-book movie ever made," Feige told LA Times. "It was so bad that it demanded a new way of doing things. It created the opportunity to do 'X-Men' and 'Spider-Man,' adaptations that respected the source material and adaptations that were not campy."

Akiva Goldsman (A Beautiful Mind, I Am Legend), who wrote and produced "Batman and Robin," admitted that there were some flaws with the movie. "What got lost in 'Batman & Robin' is the emotions aren't real," he said. "The worst thing to do with a serious comic book is to make it a cartoon. I'm still answering for that movie with some people."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
warriors187 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:04:27 AM

Worst movie of all time?????? ahhhh, "Batman and Robin" has got to be close.....
warriors187 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:05:50 AM

"I'm still answering for that movie with some people." as you should be. Omega Man was better than I am Legend :)
telur writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:07:26 AM

It's stupid, X-Men and Spider-Man will have same result whatever Batman & Robin succeed or not, because it's marvel. Still DC not learn from Batman & Robin, because you can see at Catwoman and Superman Returns
WV-Films writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:21:31 AM

I know I'm going to get my ass handed to me on this one, but I don't think Batman & Robin is that bad. There's really nothing wrong with the movie. Yes it's corny, and cheesy, and slap stick predictable, but technically it follows all the rules of film making just fine. The narrative and the act structure are all intact, and the plot is progressive regardless of how lame it may seem at times.
wonderBOY writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:24:49 AM

Catwoman is worse at least batman and robin had a bat credit card
flaggingmoose writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:28:57 AM

This movie is hilaaaarious. It's great to watch just to laugh at all of Arnie's cold/ice puns.
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:48:20 AM

@warriors - you're right about The Omega Man being better.

As for Feige and his comments - does this mean we'll start seeing nipples on Storm (not plastic ones... but take it up a notch... cut out those parts of her uniform and let's see Halle's real nipples).
nope.com writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:34:42 AM

lol Akiva Goldsmam "some flaws"???
johnny_boy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 5:31:04 AM

u know u failed as a director when your movie is the most important in its genre for all the wrong reasons Joel whatever-your-lastname-is, give it up
The Dini writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 7:26:12 AM

As long as there are nipples on the suits and ice skate boots, i will be happy!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 7:30:35 AM

It's true.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 7:32:05 AM

"and Superman Returns"

WHY IN THE f*ck DOES EVERYBODY HAVE A STICK UP THEIR ASS ABOUT THIS MOVIE?!

It was f*cking good, faggots.
vagos1268 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 7:42:15 AM

i like the movie.schwarzenegger is the best and i miss him i'd like to see him in batman movie again...or any movie..
Eben1277 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 8:21:30 AM

Schumacher has made at least 2 good movies, DC Cab and Tigerland. But he still deserves to die for B&M. Even though Arnold was the saving grace of that movir. And Alicia Silverstone in that suit. George Clooney was well cast as bruce wayne too, since anyone could be batman behind that mask.
makingcircles writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:13:24 AM

@SpookyC - With all due respect...Superman Returns was completely flawed and wasted a perfectly good opportunity to reboot Supes for the masses. It's not like is was the worst movie of all time or anything but as a Superman movie is definitely ranks among Superman 4: Quest for Peace and Batman and Robin. All of those are "enjoyable" movies I suppose because you can take them for what they are but it's frustrating as a Superman fan to watch Returns because it's just a let down.

As far as Batman and Robin...Holy Rusted Metal that movie blows.
Kill-the-director writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:18:33 AM

WHAT???? Hulk and catwoman aren't the worst???
PulpAddiction writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:00:26 AM

@SpookyCupcakes

I give every movie its due props, even sh*t like Daredevil or Spiderman 3, rather than just throw it in the trash. But Superman Returns, was a waste of f*ckin money. It sucked. Ever watch Justice League? That's Superman. I don't wanna see him do a whole bunch of bullsh*t little things and have the climax be him gettin stabbed with a shard of Kryptonite. And that was after he picked up a mountain of it... wtf? And Superman is too skinny. Why are the movie Wolverine and Batman bigger than him? sh*t- Joker was bigger.
lawman writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:25:38 AM

@ RANGER, I though Omega man was really good too but I was still partial to the original. Omega man did good at remaking it though. And I am Legend was'nt that bad really.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:30:59 AM

For once, I'm with Spooky. In fact, Watchmen, Spidey 1 and 3, Wolverine, Catwoman, Daredevil, and Batman 3 and 4 are all ten times worse than Superman Returns.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:41:18 AM

Sorry I forgot, SR is also better than both Hulk movies, all 3 Punisher films, X3, Elecktra, Spawn, Matrix Revolution, Wanted, d*ck Tracy, Blade Trinity, GI Joe, and of course Tranformers. Compared to these films Superman Returns is award winning material!
rabid writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 12:45:21 PM

Worst comic movie of all time? Batman and Robin is at least better than Superman Returns, but not nearly so bad as Catwoman, which itself was not as bad as Steel.
makingcircles writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 12:51:46 PM

@SACdaddy There was nothing wrong with Spidey 1 except Green Goblin looked retarded...okay..and the webs coming out of his arms instead of homemade webshooters...okay...and Kirsten Dunst as MJ...but crap...good otherwise...better than SR.
SR was equally as bad as Wolverine, Daredevil, Batman 3 and 4, Spawn, and Elektra for sure. All those movies should be destroyed, melted down and made into porta-potties.
I don't see the appeal you have for SR...I really don't. Can't understand it. Why don't you explain why you feel that is such a good movie.
For once, I'm with Spooky. In fact, Watchmen, Spidey 1 and 3, Wolverine, Catwoman, Daredevil, and Batman 3 and 4 are all ten times worse than Superman Returns.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:41:18 AM
Sorry I forgot, SR is also better than both Hulk movies, all 3 Punisher films, X3, Elecktra, Spawn, Matrix Revolution, Wanted, d*ck Tracy, Blade Trinity, GI Joe, and of course Tranformers. Compared to these films Superman Returns is award winning material!
makingcircles writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 12:53:02 PM

oops...I left SACs comments at the end of mine...ignore those. I just pasted them so that I didn't have to keep scrolling down for reference.
rabid writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:16:43 PM

I'd watch all those films ten times a piece before I ever try to watch Superman Returns again. Even Elektra is a better film than SR.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:53:19 PM

@MC: btw, big fan of your avartar. Anyway, you have to realize that I and probably Spooky have made our argument for Superman Returns countless times before on this website. Whenever, it comes up now I choose to just support the one other guy that seems to like the film but I don't get into details. Since you asked I'll narrow it down to this:

I liked how much of the comic character and the film character the movie embraced. Bullets bouncing off his eyes, catching 747s at the ballpark like fly balls, benchpressing entire islands, hovering over the planet from space and listening to the entire world speak, now thats Superman! But flying around with Lois and getting kicked around at work is Supes too! Lots of critics say that there wasn't enough of this in the movie and that the film concentrated too much on humanizing the character. They also say it was too long. I tend to disagree simply because I was looking for a real film when I saw it not just a comic book movie. I loved the fact that Supes was dealing with a lot of sh*t that all of us deal with everyday. Now you can't make a good comic book movie without having your title character dealing with similar sh*t. Spidey's got problems with his girl and his job, Xmen got problems fitting in, and Batman can't pull himself away from his work! It allows you to identify with the character an make hime morre realistic. SR was no different, and all of these films were just as long or longer (new Batman films put me to sleep everytime!). While I'll never say its a great film, its definitely not a bad one.
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:56:19 PM

@Supes Returns - I've posted before things I liked about it. Singer is a comic fan (the Studio that didn't wait for his return from Supes to do X3... they should all die).

Supes Returns - lifted the Mustang exactly as seen on Action Comics 1938 (Supes first appearance).

As his title 'Planet Mover' - he did lift a continent.

Took a bullet to the eye (after coming in at light speed to intercept bullets from a mini-gun).

Routh had BIG shoes to fill. He was humble, played a good nerdy Clark... etc.

Could it have been better... sure. But I don't ever see many comments as to HOW. My 2 icks for the flick:

1. Supes constant wasted time for having a wet spot for moody Lois (as Peter's for MJ in Spidey).
2. Supes and Clark comes back at the same time after 5 years and NO ONE puts it together? What... is there a f*cking gas leak in Metropolis?

Otherwise, Supes Returns is WAY BETTER than Supes 3 or 4 (as another posted on here). Are you kidding me? I've just seen bit of both of those in the past week as they were running them on TV. I love Christopher Reeve. And he was essentially contractually forced to do one of those because he wanted to do another movie with the same studio that wasn't Supes... etc. But Supes Return is head and shoulders above 3 & 4 (again... that's not really a compliment) - but I like several on here liked the movie.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:57:39 PM

man, sorry for the typos towards the end there.
Snarebeast writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 3:22:02 PM

Superman Returns isn't that bad. It's not great, but it's not bad. Definitely could've been better. When compared to 3 and 4 I think it's miles better.

As for Batman & Robin, it's a good representation of 60s era Batman. Too bad 60s era Batman sucks.
makingcircles writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 3:49:12 PM

Okay SACDaddy...your points are fairly well taken. I am curious to know what your all time favorite (mainstream) superhero movie is?
I guess for me SR just had to many lows that out weighed the highs. Superman had a kid, Lex Luther was a little campy when I wanted more sinister (albeit he was less campy than Hackman...but Hackman worked well that way...I digress), Kate Bosworth was just a poor choice for Lois...completely not believable, story was week and could have been a lot better.
@Ranger...I mean, I like stuff like the visage of Superman carrying the car....but at the same time I believe Singer spent too much time making mini-superman shrines like this throughout the movie instead of concentrating on story and substance. Even the bullet to the eyeball scene. It's like a little kid has all these cool-ass Superman posters in his room and tries to tie them all in with a lame story. Singer put the cart before the horse in my humble opinion. So...while I respect both of your opinions (Ranger and Sacdaddy), I just don't see how you can dismiss all of the errors in this movie that ultimately make it a failure.
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 6:01:25 PM

@MC - your points are well-taken. Could it have been better... certainly.

We need Hollywood to take Supes SERIOUSLY (HOLLYWOOD... ARE YOU f*ckING LISTENING?!?!). Drop the wet-spot thing for Lois. Have a planet-wide battle (or solar system wide) battle with a baddie. Have Supes move planets, fly through the sun to clean his costume, etc. Enough f*cking Lex, enough Lois... GET ON WITH IT MAN!!!! As I have posted before, someone on here has mentioned there is a multi-film Supes story out there in the world... dark(ish) (ie: 'realistic'?) whereby it ends with Supes being the last survivor on Earth and he must leave.

THAT is the stuff Supes is made up of.

I'm just a comic collector from WAY back. So I'm just happy to see Supes on the Big Screen (as I was with Reeves... albeit on Mario Puzo's 1&2), so I'm less critical judging Superhero movies than maybe I should be.

Routh I thought was a gem. Singer brought some nostalgia into the flick. Spacey was good (again, I'm so sick of the Lex character already), the jumbo jet scene was stellar... and other things. But Hollywood either seems to no care, too lazy (ie: won't research Supes as to what he can do), or whatever. We have yet to see them do up Supes like Nolan has done Batman.
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 6:02:42 PM

Hey... Superman against SkyNet AND The Matrix!

There we go!!!
thedotsays writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 9:25:48 PM

Anyone who claims this as the worst superhero movie has not been witness to the occular ass-raping that was Captain America.
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 1:21:46 AM

I own that. It's right up there With David Hasselhoff's Nick Fury.
Ranger writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 2:33:55 AM

@thedot - how about you never mention that Captain America movie ever again on here, and we all chip in and buy you a new car?!
LastActionHero writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 9:48:52 AM

Nothing with Arnold can be the worst movie of all time. Although Around the World in 80 Days does come close. But he only has a cameo in that so it don't count.
KirkLazerus writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 11:47:48 AM

almost every superhero movie sucks, except batman, batman returns,batman begins,dark knight, Iron Man and the first superman movie the rest blow ass x-men 1 2 3, spiderman 1 2 3,catwoman, daredevil superman returns, hulk 1 and the reboot origins, all punishers, batman forever and batman and robin,the nick fury one,watchmen,elektra and I can't think of more
TeemSelami writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 1:58:18 PM

at least we can all agree ghostrider is better than all movies previously mentioned.
LastActionHero writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 3:08:42 PM

Ugh Ghost Rider, more Nic Cage garbage. Ok Nic, in this shot I want you to have a dumbfounded look on your face. Good. Again.
thedotsays writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 8:51:19 PM

@Ranger, sorry man, the world needs to know. SOYLENT GREEN IS THE OLD CAPTAIN AMERICA MOVIE!!!!!
tucsonkid writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 11:30:16 AM

@warriors187 , I'm sorry but OMEGA MAN SUCKED BALLS, I AM LEGEND WAS DONE MUCH BETTER, OMEGA MAN WAS ONLY BETTER IF YOU WERE AN ADULT AT THE TIME IT CAME OUT, WHICH WOULD DATE YOURSELF.
darkraven28 writes:
on October 27th, 2009 at 4:10:53 PM

Akiva, you will still be answering for that movie if you should be allowed into the kingdom of Heaven.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved