WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Why No Asian Lead Actors in Hollywood?

Posted: October 20th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Why No Asian Lead Actors in Hollywood?Submit Comment
It seems that in America only black, white and Hispanic actors can be cast in leading roles in big budget Hollywood films. While there are many Asian actors, like John Cho (Harold and Kumar, Star Trek) and Ken Watanabe (Batman Begins, Letters from Iwo Jima), they seem to be cast in roles specifically for Asian people or martial arts experts.

There are plenty of Asian people in Hollywood, behind the camera, but not in front. Is it because Americans cannot relate to someone who looks slightly different from them? Would a major movie studio hire Daniel Dae Kim ("Lost") to star in "Cast Away," a $90 million movie?

The funny thing is that Hollywood sometimes won't even cast an Asian person in an Asian role. We're one step away from Wesley Snipes being cast as the lead in a Bruce Lee biopic.

In my opinion, the Asian community needs to start suing and complaining, until they become as well represented in Hollywood as white and black people. And the more Asian actors we get, the more American audiences will be used to it.

Question: Why are Hollywood studios shying away from hiring Asian people for lead roles in their movies?

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 85 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
kickit writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 12:55:28 AM

Considering Asians make up 5% of the population of America, most Americans relate better to someone that's white, black, or even hispanic. Get over it. If you want to see a leading Asian man/lady there's plenty of movies made in Asia.

And what Asian role has been cast with a non-Asian? Stop with the rhetoric.
BobMcBob writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 12:58:17 AM

cuz Asians are stoic machines who hurt the grade curve on tests, and their eyes prevent people from knowing what they're feeling
telur writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:00:54 AM

How about Bulletproof Monk and Romeo Must Die or Ninja Assassins?
LouieDB writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:01:07 AM

Can't cast a lead actor of a certain race if there aren't any lead roles written for someone who's of asian origin. >_> Though, I suppose I haven't read every screenplay in Hollywood, but you can't really call them on that.

"In my opinion, the Asian community needs to start suing and complaining, until they become as well represented in Hollywood as white and black people. And the more Asian actors we get, the more American audiences will be used to it."

Really? Suing Hollywood because they aren't casting enough Asian people in Lead Roles? That's ridiculous. I really don't see the logic behind your argument. Again, I don't know all of the Asian ACTORS in the world, but are there many who have the looks and talent of a Brad Pitt or a Will Smith and speak fleunt English?

I hope no one misinterprets my comment, as I'm not trying to offend anyone and obviously this is just my opinion, but I just don't think it's a race issue, it's just that there haven't been many Asian actors that have the "Total Package" (Pardon the Lex Luger reference >_>) that big Blockbuster films want in a Lead.

...And did you really just compare Daniel Dae Kim to Tom Hanks? I like the guy and all, but really?
IRONDAN writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:04:07 AM

That is a very good point... but in your opening you point out Harold and Kumar which i think is a step in the write direction as the lead is Asian and he's not a kung fu master and he doesn't sell gremlins in his magic shop....

It's going to be a long time until this wrong is corrected. It was a long time before Black actors could get parts that didn't have them playing low brow characters like gangsters and pimps but it is starting to happened.

But the main reason for asian actors to not be getting parts in hollywood is the same reason Indian actors may not travel across the world for. Asia has huge movies being made. their movie industry is just as big in parts of the world as american films and they have parts written for them that are not stuck in action movies.

As for Wesley playing Bruce Lee.... That would be a pretty amazing studio move lol
Ari Gold writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:10:42 AM

@kickit - 'And what Asian role has been cast with a non-Asian?'
alexgi writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:11:17 AM

@telur: You just named movies that require martial arts expertise.

@LouisDB: Black communities always accuse studios of not creating roles for black actors. Asian people need to do the same thing, imo.
warriors187 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:13:31 AM

The Last Samurai starring Tom Cruise? The Mexican starring Brad Pitt? What's next? The last nigga on Earth starring Tom Hanks??
alexgi writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:17:04 AM

@kickit: Take a look at the Dragonball movie. And Keanu Reeves will star in "47 Ronin," which is a Japanese story. Reeves' father is part asian, but Keanu hardly looks it. Why not cast a real Japanese person?
Ari Gold writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:24:05 AM

I didn't get to finish my sh*t because my boss walked in my office.

@alexgi
What you're saying here I think is fine. Asians for Asian roles, but not to be type cast as kung fu experts even though I believe, they tried their best to earn that with all the type of cinema they make.

But I hope you're not demanding that Asians take roles such as James Bond just for f*cks sake.
Ari Gold writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:36:10 AM

What about in the Wolverine movie? Apparently the Asian guy in that was suppose to be a blonde german? Is that okay that he was cast as an Asian?
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:43:00 AM

@Ari - tell you boss to f*ck off whilst you blog!

There are no Asian actors in Hollywood because they're such terrible drivers (playing video games or snapping pics with the digital cameras... doing accounting, whatever) they get into accidents on the way to the studio in the morning and insurance companies have given up insuring Asian actors.

How do you blind an Asian? Put a windshield in front of him.





(now... I just sit back and await the hate mail... lol).
lost_addict writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:45:21 AM

I'm so ronery...
Ari Gold writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:47:22 AM

@Ranger - Lol, I've considered it a few times..
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 1:52:28 AM

lol.
padfootbob writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:01:42 AM

umm... jackie chan?
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:28:59 AM

Jet Li.

Tony Jaa.

Jason Scott Lee.

Alex it correct... they are hired because of their martial art skills.

Sure Hollywood is racist. They hired David Carradine (of course well before tying his balls up and hanging himself) for Kung-Fu instead of Bruce Lee.
alexgi writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:36:06 AM

@Ari Gold: I'm not saying that Asian people should play Captain America and James Bond (like some black actors want), but why not star in films like "Zombieland," "Law Abiding Citizen," "Pandorum" or "Surrogates"?
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:40:03 AM

@alex - ahh Bro... see my comments above about their driving skills.
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:50:27 AM

(I suspect pre and post-posters know I'm kidding... YES?!?!).
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:51:29 AM

I know Hollyweird has been racist my whole life.
Ari Gold writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 5:42:27 AM

@alex - that's more than fine mate, Chow Yun Fat was around for a while. I wonder what happened to him.
whoever writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 5:43:34 AM

Are we going to include Muslims? In many recent movies they have been the new Nazi's when hollywood needs a race to fight against!
BondMcClane007 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 6:19:19 AM

I think its about looks and how society relates to these people. They've gotten over the color thing (for the most part), but its hard to relate to someone who has distinctive physical features different from the majority of society, and Asians have been portrayed as villains and ppl who just dont like the U.S. not that long ago.. mayb thats jus stuck in ppls minds... also, when it comes to looks, it just goes back to the physical features thing.. there are many attractive asian actors/actresses, but i dnt think ppls. are well adjusted to them, and how could they if americans have many other american sex symbols in hollywood... hopefully in the near future though b.c. i think its unfortunate there are a few asian actors out there that know how to act well like Hiroyuki Sanada and Benedict Wong and Rain is pretty decent 2
BondMcClane007 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 6:20:01 AM

******sorry about the essay.. one of the few articles i actually decide 2 comment on
johnny_boy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 7:26:22 AM

the asian community needs to start complaining and suing? come on now. we dont need another group like the blacks or latinos always complaining they dont see enough of their kind in movies or tvs and if they dont add them they must be racist.i remember hearing that the film "21" is a true story with the main character in real life is asian but was cast as a white guy.thats a time to complain.not just cuz theres not enough of your kind on certain things. and to the asian community,for what its worth,stop bitching. alot of u r smart motherf*ckers and have the potential to take over our country cuz u seem so advanced(but im sure u wont cuz though us americans r lazy,when we get off the sofa,we get really mad and will kick ass).if u ever do,then put all the asians u want in tv or movies in america,but u never will.guess the point im trying to make is you r smart and dont stoop so low.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 7:33:37 AM

They won't be soon, Hollywood will start tapping into the Bollywood and Asain markets soon, I mean, you saw the f*cking Oscars last year, I couldn't take all the 'Durka Durka'.
c-prime writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 8:06:28 AM

I think the world would be a much better place without John Cho.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 9:29:13 AM

"Why are Hollywood studios shying away from hiring Asian people for lead roles in their movies?"

Because this is f*cking America where we like our actors tall, handsome, and Australian!:-)

Seriously, how do you make reference to Harold and Kumar (a non kunfu movie starring Asians) in this article and still make the point. The Asian actor is making huge strides in Hollywood now and the people this article mentions along with Margaret Chow, Ziyi Zhang (Geisha), Sandra Oh (Grey's Anatomy), Ken Jeong (The Hangover), Devon Michaels (Sin City), Lucy Lui, and Tim Kang (Rambo, The Mentalist, and countless commercials) are leading the charge. Even the Academy is honoring American made films with mostly Asian casts and leads like Memoirs of a Geisha, Letters From Iwo Jima, and Grand Torino with nominations and awards. With all this, you could actually say Hollywood is on an Asian high right now! Do some research WP!
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 9:44:16 AM

I hate to speak for them but, the only problem my asian friends have with Hollywood now is the miscasting of Chinese and Japanese roles with other asians. They don't like Japanese playing Chinese or vice versa, and they really don't like Koreans being cast for every asian part out there. Hey that's there own prejudice (some historically justified) at work not American racism. If anything, Hollywood might want to try to cast the right nationality for future parts just to please its asian audience, but then you would have to make the same argument for Brits and Aussies playing Americans and vice versa. I think it might be easier to just GET OVER IT!!!
rocketman writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 9:55:06 AM

How many Black,White,Hispanic etc lead actors in Asia?And i don't mean Western films that have been sent over to Japan/China etc i mean Western actors headlining Asian films....
MontoyaWA writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 9:56:38 AM

Hmm... Interesting, I've never thought about this. Are there really any American born Asian actors out there? Cho, is probably the closest thing, and contrary to this story he's pretty successful. Although, I don't believe he's 'leading man' material. Just my opinion.

Let's not act like America is the only place that like to see their own, on the big screen. It's the same in every other country. Not sure Black and Hispanics get the kind of love you imply with the article either. Anglo-Saxons are still king in this country.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:00:02 AM

i also think its all about demographics. right now its alot of white people tuning into tv and movies.thats why theres shows like the hills,gossip girl,the kardashians and girls next door.they're all white themed shows IMO. i remember from like 2002 to about late 2005,the higher demographic then were blacks. thats why we saw so much people trying to be rappers,so many shows and movies that were black and rap music themed. they'll cast whoever long as it matches the right demographic.i know i may be wrong but thats how i see it.
MontoyaWA writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:00:16 AM

'Because this is f*cking America where we like our actors tall, handsome, and Australian!:-)'

LMAO! What he said.
KirkLazerus writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:01:52 AM

Ken Watanabe is bad ass
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:02:59 AM

@ Ranger: Actually Jason Scott Lee was cast in Dragon based purely on his acting ability and looks. He hadn't had a day of martial arts training before making that film. This is also true for Ziyi Zhang (Crouching Tiger) and Rain (Ninja Assassin) who is basically the Justin Timberlake of South Korea. As for Tony Jaa and Jet Li, martial arts is what they do best! You don't draft Adrain Peterson in the NFL to be a waterboy on the sidelines. Same goes for these "actors". Without MA they wouldnt even be big stars in their own countries.
warlord writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:07:12 AM

cuz they cant act
SACdaddy writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:15:17 AM

"Cho not leading man material"

He's already been a leading man in H&K and he's awesome on Flashforward. I know he's not the lead in that show but its a huge part and we all gotta play second fiddle to the Brits (Joseph Fiennes) in Hwood.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:16:58 AM

Why no shrimp in my chicken salad?
Kurskij writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:20:29 AM

Jet Li, Jackie Chan, Chow Yun-Fat?...
robbskittles writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:41:46 AM

so whose the lead actor in "Ninja Assasin"?
lost_addict writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:49:38 AM

i hope george takei doesn't read this...watch your behind...
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:52:29 AM

Yeah bring out the riots!

And while we are on the subject, why does Hollywood cast us British guys as romantics! I assure you we are clearly not.

I shall sue in the name of reality.


rocketman writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 10:56:49 AM

Speak for yourself Ricky...i'm gonna be snapping knicker eastic at 10 paces as soo as i get my teeth fixed.
screamonly writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:02:06 AM

when you are taking about big budget movies basiclly you are considering very limited genres, which are sci fi which the lead here is the story (if there is any) or the visual effects, plus the action genre which defently includes some martial arts performances, the comic genra have allready stablished it self and their leaders always presenting the white american hero and rare different ethnic origins like blade
i think its the asian responsibility to do and promote their own movies and market their own stars globaly
coldplayesence writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:02:52 AM

What about Ken Leung? I mean, he could be in a comedy, he's always saying some funny things in lost.
lawman writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:07:59 AM

The reason there are no Asian leading actors in Hollywood is becasue thier salary demands are too high. We could never pay them with ALL THE TEA!
makingcircles writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:10:03 AM

It's all about fitting the mold...and Asian do not fit the mold of your traditional Hollywood leading mail. It's not about acting chops but it's about a stereotype. I mean...Chow Yun Fat charmed the pants off me in Crouching Tiger but to see him in a romantic comedy or an action movie based in America? I don't think I could get into it. Jackie Chan is a leading man type but he is smart because he made himself more of a novelty by doing his own stunts.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:36:45 AM

I agree that it partially has to do with the small Asian population America has. As stated less than 5% make up the total population, and maybe acting isn't that much of an interest for Asian-Americans.
It doesn't help that native Asian stars don't speak English that well or with a heavy accent, that probably deters studios from casting them. It's also known that some Asian stars are reluctant to go to Hollywood anyways. Jackie Chan has stated numerous times he did the Rush Hour films for the salaries so he could fund projects of his at home. They would hate to ruin their reputation by starring in the sh*t that Hollywood churns out every year.
lawman writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:52:47 AM

MIGHT ALSO BE THEIR SMALL, INEFFECTIVE ASIAN PENIS'S!
Jedimax writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 12:42:32 PM

hmmm... I am going to roll with Asian Americans not necessarily being brought up in America to pursue a serious acting career. So in the Asian's defense... its nice to know that after 1-2 generations of laundromat, delis, and pedicure salons, the average asian in America has a higher chance of highest educational attainment levels, every year grows closer and closer to overcoming whites average income level per year, and on top of it some of their dominate our current technology market, import/export markets, and the current art market. So i guess while Hollywood was or was not discriminating against them, they figured they would do the next best thing and despite their small penises be better at about every other f*cking thing in this world.
rabid writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:22:21 PM

American women-- black, brown or white-- tend to not find asian men attractive. And Hollywood runs on sex appeal.
Asian women have much better luck.
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:46:47 PM

@SAC - re: Jason Scott Lee - I actually remember that (yet forgot). Thx.

"Why are Hollywood studios shying away from hiring Asian people for lead roles in their movies?"

Because this is f*cking America where we like our actors tall, handsome, and Australian!:-)

SAC wins this post.
MontoyaWA writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:47:43 PM

'American women-- black, brown or white-- tend to not find asian men attractive. And Hollywood runs on sex appeal.
Asian women have much better luck.'

Actually this is probably closer to the truth than anything.
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 3:00:04 PM

I've hot glued a few Asian women to my sheets. It was fun.
TheStig writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 5:12:42 PM

Jackie Chan? Chung Yow Fat?
charmed23 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 5:56:50 PM

Ive been wondering the same thing...
Ari Gold writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 6:36:35 PM

'Because this is f*cking America where we like our actors tall, handsome, and Australian!:-)'

Hahaha!! Nice one sac! Made my day!
NatG83 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 6:37:59 PM

Russia is part of Asia, too. Is there a Russian blockbuster actor? I'm sure someone could name one.

Yeah, it's a loop hole.
Tizzle writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 6:47:06 PM

"The Last Samurai starring Tom Cruise? The Mexican starring Brad Pitt? What's next? The last nigga on Earth starring Tom Hanks??"

Yeah those parts are both cast as white guys because thats the point... it's ironic. They are supposed to be white. That's the way these parts were written.

Secondly, I'm sorry but Daniel Dae Kim is not going to be winning any oscars any time soon. (Wait, he hasn't has he?) The really awesome asian actors that I know of are in a lot of martial arts movies because those are the roles written for them. Jet Li is awesome, so is Jackie Chan. When they are kicking ass. But you aren't going to see those guys in a serious dramatic role for obvious reasons.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 7:39:42 PM

who cares? i am in far less movies than asians are why don't they give me a movie too. wah wah wah how can they sue is their a law saying you must have a zipperhead in the lead.
br4d writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 7:50:20 PM

I dont really care about Asian Actors having lead roles in "American" Hollywood movies. To be honest, Im glad that the Asian community has already achieved this much with stars like Daniel Dae Kim, Sandra Oh, Ken Jeong, and dont forget Masi Oka :D

I mean, Its not like we are seeing Brad Pitt cast lead in every Asian movie, i dont expect the same.

But, what i dont wanna see is one of our movies be remade, chopped up, and made into dumb down Irish crap

AND have the movie win Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Film Editing.

come on! best editing!? over Children of Men!?!

f*ck you Scorsese.
defmike writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 8:42:23 PM

Like it stated above, most Asian led films are martial arts films. It's sad that there aren't more Asian led films. But really there is a whole Asian market of films from overseas. So does Hollywood really need to expand?
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 9:14:22 PM

Well erm maybe that is because Asians are just better at everything than the Americans can possibly do.

It explains why they always remake Japanese Horror, ring, grudge, the list is endless.

Old boy an full blast Korean (Asian) film, is technically one of the most best known Independent films of our generation

And well if we had Asians controlling Hollywood, well then they would outshine the Americans.
Jeeja Yanyin & Tony Jaa are 2 top listers

This just says enough

Raging Phoenix
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ejM7ZCEzs5A

Goemon
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_BzNsDvpRY&feature=related

Those 2 just show you how amazing Asians are doing it at the moment, better than Hollywood imo
Goemon is amazing i own that, its just makes Transformers 2 look like child plays or any other action movie released this year

DVD DIVA writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 9:56:36 PM

Bring on the ASIANS!!!! I love love love them!!!!
KingAdash writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 11:00:45 PM

This makes me want to cry a rittle bit, I rove asians.
rabid writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 1:16:17 AM

I like asian chicken salads from Wendy's.
felix559 writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 1:51:56 AM

Because it'd be like Affleck being a lead in Japan, or Tatum starring in Brazil. D_U_M_B.
vwkombi writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 6:51:54 AM

Well, there isn't many white/blacks/hispanics in Asian film? Maybe us white people should start demanding more prominent roles in Asian films.

I don't see why this is a problem. It's just more white guilt. "I'm not racist because i am sucking a black mans d*ck!".
japaninmotion writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 7:54:20 AM

being a person who lives in an asian country...the reason why more Asian lead actors in hollywood is because non asian women dont find them sexy.....plus lets be honest most American women out way an Asian man by a few stone
Ranger writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 12:53:40 PM

They certainly do. More cushion 4 da pushin!
jene4 writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 4:54:20 PM

cuz Asians dont watch movies at the theatre...the DL from home!

jene4 writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 4:55:19 PM

@kickit The Last Airbender is an example to not casting Asians...
KirkLazerus writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 5:41:55 PM

isn't Ken Watanabe the star in Letters from Iwo Jima direected by Clint Eastwood
halostingray87 writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 11:53:04 PM

Isn't Keanu Reeves like half Asian?? So that means an asian dude starred in like 1 1/2 Matrix films... Psh!
jikae writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 3:31:11 AM

As a fellow Asian male, the reason there aren't many leading Asian actors is quite simple. They suck.

If the most prominent Asian actors that the general population can name are Daniel Dae Kim and John Cho, then that is exactly why there aren't any Asian lead actors. The current most "famous" Asian actors just aren't that good right now. Also, if they're any good at acting, they aren't proficient enough at English to be a leading star. (ie: Ken Watanabe, Chow Yun Fat, ect..) I think with the recent popularity of Ken Jeong and various other actors, within the next 5 years or so, you'll start seeing better quality Asian actors coming up and subsequently leading roles.
jikae writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 3:34:40 AM

Oh, and one more thing, coming from a fellow Korean; please don't mention Margaret Cho. She was groundbreaking as an Asian in the field of comedy, but she literally set us Asians back 15 years.
aznperson84 writes:
on October 22nd, 2009 at 8:10:12 AM

because hollywood is racist against asians. it's that pure and simple. the people running it are xenophobic; they're afraid that if they put asians in a powerful light they'll outshine caucasians. so they choose to stereotype / emasculate asian men and make asian women sluts. that's why u never see asian men having sex on screen. where do u think that whole "small penis" rumor started? it's all propaganda and brainwashing at the expense of asians. and based on some of the retarded user comments on here it's obviously working. retarded, brainwashed *ssholes the lot of u.
andrew writes:
on December 4th, 2009 at 7:58:31 PM

For everyone who is saying America isn't the only place that likes to see their own kind in movies like other places in Asia and such are truly showing ignorance. America isn't land of the white, its suppose to be the land of the free which includes ALL ethnicities, not just white, black etc, everyone. Typically movies with asian leads are ones that only require it such as Ninja Assassin, that include intense martial arts.

so thanks for showing ignorance for only wanting to see "americans" on the big screen, even though i was taught americans include everyone living here, not just caucasians and blacks.
coolguy97 writes:
on December 22nd, 2009 at 12:49:30 PM

There have been filmmakers that do try to portray asian actors and actresses to be seen as an American or talk about racism in such films as Dragon the Bruce Lee story, Better Luck Tomorrow, Shanghai Kiss, Harold and Kumar films, etc. What I find really odd is why are there successful asian themed films like The Last Emperor, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Slumdog millionaire, and yet Hollywood still seems reluctant or refuse to cast lead asian actors and actresses even in films that have asian roles like the movie 21, Dragonball Evo, the upcoming Avatar the Last Airbender, the upcoming The Weapon movie with David Henrie? Both Slumdog and Crouching tiger were around $15 million dollar budgets and yet they made over a $100 million dollars here in the U.S. alone (let alone winning some oscars). The Last Emperor won best picture and this was back in the 80's. Why Hollywood WHY??
twinturbo writes:
on April 18th, 2010 at 5:15:26 AM

There are millions of Asians in america who speak perfect english. Many can sing, dance and act..but you will never see it in hollywood movies because the jews and racist white male movie makers dont have too. Why should they, they're white. It's like in the past 50 years, blacks never got positive (sexy, intelligent, ect)leading roles. Until the black started fighting back....
Thats what Asians have to do....by Suing, boycotting, or picketing in front of racist hollywood movies. Whatever it takes for people to understand hollywood is very very racist...if your white you dont notice it. but if your any other race (except black NOW)you see the stereotyping all the time...
Maybe Asian should starts riots, that should get their attention..lol
uberfunction writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 3:14:07 PM

I just need to say. You guys are the dumbest and some of the most uninformed, unintelligent commenters on the web. That being said, the bigger problem in Hollywood is the fact that they import their Asian actors when they should be getting their talent stateside. The problem talent scouts have isn't casting Americans of Asian descent but rather the lack of Asian actors in the field who are Americans (particularly male). For years, Hollywood ignored them and as a result, the talent pool phased out and took careers elsewhere. Thus, importing Asian actors.
uberfunction writes:
on May 4th, 2010 at 3:29:36 PM

And who gives a sh*t if they cast James Bond with an actor of Asian descent. It could happen. I mean they casted an Irish guy as James Bond. I think they should shake up Hollywood, let's make another movie about the 1980 USA Ice Hockey Team but with a cast of Wil Smith, Tony Ja, Daniel Dae Kim, Common, and James Earl Jones as legendary coach Herb Brooks.
coolguy97 writes:
on May 24th, 2010 at 2:16:27 PM

Maybe the lack of Asian Americans in the American entertainment industry could be they were told they can't make it, and there are some who have "I must not be that good" mentality. Many Asian Americans turn to other professions like doctors, scientists, teachers, engineers etc because they feel it's a crap shoot to make it in the American entertainment industry. My sister for one who is asian, gave up trying to be an entertainer, after when she graduated from high school and didn't make it into a very prestigious drama and musical school even though her fellow actors and actresses (who are white from the local theater) made it to that same school. Her fellow actors and actresses were surprised she didn't make it, because she was as good as the white actors or better. The point I'm trying to make is that your ethnicity shouldn't matter if you have a lot of talent and experience, and my sister started singing and dancing at age 7, she was preparing herself to be an entertainer. She did however make it into another prestigious drama and musical school and working on her career as an actress, but there are not many roles available in the U.S., she's thinking of moving to Asia and start from there. I just think Hollywood is missing out on talented people regardless of your race..
Lloydsk writes:
on June 5th, 2010 at 5:37:28 AM

Its true. Its hard to market an asian male to an american audience because we tend to look toward europe for our cultural identity. I did see Hiroshima mon amor which was excellent and the lead actor was incredible sexy viral amazing. I have seen stunning asian american men filled with talent vitality and life who could easily be considered top leading actors if put into a leading part with a leading american actress. But they are not getting that chance. But I dont think this trend is going to continue. There is a lot rising resentment now in hollywood regarding it and i expeect soon it will happen.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved