WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugh Jackman Might Host the Oscars Again

Posted: October 19th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugh Jackman Might Host the Oscars AgainSubmit Comment
The AMPAS people have been watching their Oscars award show lose more and more viewers each year. This string of lousy TV ratings finally broke when Hugh Jackman hosted in February. Now, they are looking to duplicate the results for the 2010 Oscars.

AMPAS went to Larry Mark and Bill Condon to produce and direct again, but Mark is busy producing a new movie and Condon is prepping his Richard Pryor biopic. So they had to turn down the offer.

DeadlineHollywood is now reporting that AMPAS is looking into the availability of Jackman to host for the second year in a row. No word on whether the Aussie actor will want to do it again, but his people are recommending against it. Stay tuned.

Source: DeadlineHollywood


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 7:26:46 AM

Maybe if AMPAS actually nominated decent films for a change i would be willing to watch it.
dandythelion writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 7:32:50 AM

he wasn't bad.

but he's an actor.i think thats weird. get a stand up comedian or something

but i liked him
Vincent Chase writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 8:18:26 AM

Get Zach Galifinakis to host the Oscars.

/end
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 8:51:35 AM

He was good, did some good numbers, and did a really entertaining show with a small budget! If he does do it again i won't be upset!

But, if he doesn't, yeha go for a comedian......PLEASE MR BILLEY CRYSTAL COME BACK!! Or Neil Patrick Harris
coolguy writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 8:56:20 AM

agree with skippy...get Neil Patrick Harris!!!
Peter Parker writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 10:12:00 AM

The perfect man for the job would be Bruno!
lost_addict writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 10:49:11 AM

did neil patrick harris just stole my f*cking car?
Lodead writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 12:01:44 PM

Neil Patrick Harris will get more viewers!
Ranger writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 12:18:56 PM

@PP - Bruno is too sharp for most of the viewing public... lol.
AJWPProfile writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 12:21:01 PM

I would watch the Oscars anyways(I'm hoping they nominate Woody and Ben for "The Messenger")Why wouldn't they get Patton Oswalt or Aziz Ansari(I could never spell his last name right)
Ranger writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 12:22:21 PM

These awards are overdue for a nipple slip. Maybe grieving Janet will provide the goods, Version 2.0
Blank x2 writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 12:56:07 PM

I'm disappointed, Ranger. The perfect set up for you, and no mention of Gary Coleman for Oscar host. Or Lohan's vagina.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 12:59:50 PM

if it's a comedian you guys want, maybe i should suggest bill murray?
Ranger writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 1:08:00 PM

@Blank - sorry my friend... you're right (only on my first coffee here)!
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 3:25:59 PM

Hugh Jackman was an excellent host, I'd love to see him come back, his opening number last year was great, really funny. There is a drawback that he's not as funny as other hosts, (I don't know why he doesn't host the Tony's anymore) but as for entertainment, the Aussie delivers.

Other hosts: Billy Crystal needs to come back, I can't remember enjoying an Oscar night as much as did during the years he hosted them. Neil Patrick Harris would be great too, he'd do wonders for the ratings, and he was fantastic at the Tony's. I think Sacha Baron Cohen would be great, but he's too politically and socially oriented, someone would probably kill him by evening's end. Also what about Dana Carvey, give the guy some work, I watched a recent standup of his about two weeks ago and I was dying. He's a long shot.

Perfect choice: Kevin Smith. But it'd be so raunchy and vulgar, the guy really has no censor with the sh*t he says, which is unfortunate. I've never laughed as hard as I did at An Evening with Kevin Smith.
ValiaVeweth writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 4:43:25 PM

Hugh Jackman did a great job, but I didn't like the whole style of the Oscars that year. I would love to see NPH host.
AP102390 writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 4:46:14 PM

i have 3 letters for you: NPH

he did really well during the Emmy's this year and i think he could do very well at the Oscars. i hated hugh jackman as host last year and that thing he did with beyonce and anne hathaway was really stupid.Or get Billy Crystal, he may be old but he always did an awesome job.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 4:46:32 PM

I know, the ultimate showman himself... Rod Blagojevich!
McD writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 5:53:43 PM

Kanye West? He'll probably end up on the stage at some point anyway...
Vincent Chase writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 5:57:49 PM

Zach Galifinakis? Anyone?
Ranger writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 5:59:55 PM

@McD - sure, but he'd take the mic away during everyone's acceptance speech!
McD writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 6:05:51 PM

I'm real happy for you, and imma let you finish, but G.I. Joe was one of the greatest films of all time! OF ALL TIME!
McD writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 6:12:01 PM

And Marlon Wayans deserves Best Supporting Actor. I'm just sayin'.
Vincent Chase writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 6:14:36 PM

I wish he would have interrupted Slumdog Millionaire's speech to say Milk was one of the best films of all time.

Because then it would have been true and justified. It's just in my opinion Slumdog was nowhere near a Best Picture film.
Ranger writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 6:16:37 PM

Yeah, that's just a classic example of how political these awards are. They don't want to give Penn anymore attention then they have to... he doesn't 'play the Hollywood game.'
Barney Stinson writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 8:27:35 PM

Barney Stinson approves of NPH hosting the Oscars. I would actually watch it then.
Ranger writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 9:40:48 PM

Barney...

You know you're talking of yourself in the 3rd. person like Flavor Flav... yes?

STOP!
thedudeman69 writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 11:58:46 PM

he needs to get his bisexual ass off of the oscars.
Derp88 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 5:22:48 AM

Wolverine did a good job last year,wouldn't be disapointed if he did it again.
Eben1277 writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 8:44:19 AM

Just as long as they don't get that *sshole from the MTV awards. A less funny comedian would be hard to find. He makes Larry the Cable Guy look like George Carlin.
Ranger writes:
on October 20th, 2009 at 2:59:00 PM

@thedudeman - still laughing over your comment.
Terry writes:
on October 21st, 2009 at 1:42:47 PM

I loved Hugh Jackman. He was charming and the opening number was hilarious. He was funny at Tony Awards so I hope he can show his improvising skills also at the Oscars.
Neil Patrick Harris was good at Emmys but he yelled "TV" all the time. Oscars are about movies and it is about movie stars and movies they make. Nor comedian or a person known only from TV (and only to Americans, Oscars are watched worldwide) wouldn´t probably have such a draw. And I think they already excluded him. I know that only US ratings are important but with some unknown guy hosting it, they will lose a lots of money in the rigths they are selling to other televisions worldwide. There isn´t only US market and the sooner they´ll realize it, the better. Movie production companies fortunately already know since they are getting back their budgets mostly worldwide.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved