WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Where the Wild Things Are" Dominates Box Office

Posted: October 18th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Where the Wild Things Are" Dominates Box OfficeSubmit Comment
The Spike Jonze-directed "Where the Wild Things Are" adaptation earned an estimated $32 million at the domestic box office. It is on track to make back its massive $100 million budget.

Taking a distant second place is the crime thriller "Law Abiding Citizen," starring Gerard Butler and Jamie Fox. The new film took in over $21 million, which is almost half of its $50 million budget.

The other wide opener of the weekend was the horror/thriller "The Stepfather," which debuted softly with $12.3 million in fifth place.

Paramount's expansion of "Paranormal Activity" into wide release went abnormally well as the low-budget ghost story brought in a mind-bending $20.2 million from just 760 theaters to take third place. "Paranormal" has now earned a total of $33.7 million, and will get a further expansion Friday.

Click here to read our "Where the Wild Things Are" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Fixxer35 writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 7:34:01 PM

No surprise here.
Makidian writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 8:53:43 PM

Went to see Paranormal Activity last night and it was sold outat our theater, I actually think they oversold some seats. It takes a lot to actual scare me, I get startled kinda easy but to scare me to the point that I am fearful is hard. Paranormal Activity scared the sh*t out of me, it was terrifying and everyone needs to see it. At this point I don't know why Paramount won't push it to 1500+ screens because it will crush the competition for the weekend. It would kill Saw 6 easy, but they must be trying to give it the longest legs it can possibly have to keep selling out shows because the per screen avg. is just insane. I can't wait to see the guy's next flick about Area 51.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 9:25:27 PM

fixxer nice avatar
Bonzaitri writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 10:29:05 PM

Let the wild rumpus start!
GambleBDJ writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 10:34:39 PM

paranormal activity was great. but to me they f'cked the ending up bad. there was so many things they could have done with tht flick but they say f*ck the story lets scare the audience. best part of the film was the footprints. loved the fact it wasnt a human-looking but beast-looking. wild things was f*ckin awesome and stepfather is a waste of film. thts my opinion anyways.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 11:02:47 PM

Glad to see Paranormal Activity is continuing it's surprise hit rampage. I saw the film a week ago just after it's preliminary expansion to 160 theaters. I saw it on a whim with a friend of mine and we were not disappointed in the slightest, in fact it was a great surprise. A lot of chills, and great scares in the last 20 minutes. On its way to being my generation's Blair Witch Project (just without sucking complete ass). I still have to see Where the Wild Things are, I passed on an opportunity to see it when my dad brought up the option of going to see the Coen's "A Serious Man" which is undoubtedly the best film of the year, an even greater surprise than Paranormal Activity. I hope that starts to get a wider release because it's truly fantastic, a flawless Coen bros film, their best in 10 years easy.
c-prime writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 11:07:57 PM

I was immensely disappointed with "Where the Wild Things Are". I went in expecting one of the best films of the year and came out extremely underwhelmed. Visuals and voice acting were top-notch, but the writing was immensely erratic. I could hardly identify one cohesive story in the whole thing to link all the unfolding events together. It could've been so much better.

On a higher note, I saw the Coen's "A Serious Man" which was good. Their most oddball movie yet, in my opinion. It kinda made up for "Wild Things" being a failure.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 11:23:49 PM

Two horror buffs I'm friends with have told me negative things about Paranormal. All the casual folks say its so scary which I find interesting. I gotta get to seeing it.
FFantasy1984 writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 12:00:00 AM

I actually wondered how good Where the Wild Things Are would be. I loved the book growing up, but given that it is a short kids book, I wondered how good it would be. The book wasn't long enough to make into a full length movie so a lot of it has to be made up for the movie as opposed to the book. Which is what they did with The Polar Express and it ruined it, if you ever read the book.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 1:36:56 AM

Where the Wild Things Are was awesome, definitely lived up to my expectations!
Bonzaitri writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 1:54:04 AM

I enjoyed Where The Wild Things Are. Spike Jonze put alot of thought and creativity into that one, and the cast is pretty awesome.
stevepoots writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 2:14:55 AM

amazing movie.. every scene with the wild things had a hidden message i felt. i loved every minute of it
Flav writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 5:50:10 AM

It was a good movie, I expected more though. Paranormal still riding the "HYPE" wagon.... I didn't like it. Maybe because I don't get scared that easily.
The Dini writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 10:26:28 AM

My wife made me go see this movie because she loved the books when she was little. I thought it was actually pretty good..... I only saw half of it due to me checking my phone every 5 minutes for fantasy football updates! She tried to bitch, but what did she expect?! ITS SUNDAY AFTERNOON!!!
NatG83 writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 11:49:13 AM

I really didn't care at all about "Where the Wild Things Are" until I saw the cast for the voices. That impressed me. I'm not willing to see it in the theater until someone really sells me on it.

Paranormal Activity was impressive, and I am not into horror movies. If you haven't seen it, it's worth the $10 ticket

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved