WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Deadpool" Spin-Off to Ignore "X-Men Origins: Wolverine"

Posted: October 16th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Deadpool" Spin-Off to Ignore "X-Men Origins: Wolverine"Submit Comment
Empire magazine spoke to producer Lauren Shuler Donner about the upcoming "Deadpool" spin-off, stating that she has no problem with the fact that Ryan Reynolds will be playing The Green Lantern.

"I want to ignore the version of Deadpool that we saw in Wolverine and just start over again. Reboot it. Because this guy talks, obviously, and to muzzle him would be insane," she said. "Wade Wilson is a guy who unfortunately gets cancer, and volunteers for a test that will give him healing powers. He is a bad ass, a wise-cracking mercenary, who will go out and kill anyone for money. But the thing about him is that, underneath it all, sometimes he's not such a bad ass after all. Sometimes he does the right thing."

She continued: "It's going to be a dark, snarky, very funny movie. It's the hardest story to tell, I think. There's no clear cut villain - though you do have great baddies from the comic-books like Black Tom, Slayback, Blind Al and the Weasel. Blind Al is this blind woman in his house, who he abuses and mocks... it's terrible. But you find out that she was a convict who did something terrible and he saved her from execution. So he lets her live in his house and she looks after him, but they both torture each other."

Regarding the status, Donner said: "We're right in the thick of talking to writers right now, and hopefully by November we'll have decided who's going to do it."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:14:17 PM

How can they say it's a great story when the f*cking script isn't even written yet...I f*cking hate Schuler and Fox
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:17:21 PM

Pure FOX to judge a script before it is written, if we are worried that FOX will once again mess with the making of this film, we should pertition to get David Fincher to make it, he is the only dude who can tell FOX to f*ck off!
acslaterson writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:22:54 PM

I hope they don't f*ck this up, most of the recent DP comics have been well written(especially Way on the main book). I think FOX is only distributing and that dumb broad and Marvel are the actual producers, I saw that like six months ago. God, I hope that is true. Then creative control would be handled by Marvel.
acslaterson writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:26:24 PM

Marvel Studios*
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:43:11 PM

@ac,

Fox owns all X-Men and X-Men related Material, not Marvel Studios...and they are going to keep making sh*tty movies so that the rights stay with them and don't revert back to Marvel...God knows Marvel would do it right...
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 8:50:09 PM

At least they're doing something right.

This just may make me stop complaining about a freakazoid movie. But, until I see it...

WHERES MY f*ckING FREAKAZOID MOVIE?!
OneTime writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 9:03:38 PM

sounds stupid.
tryreadingabook writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 9:23:02 PM

i cant believe how much i dont care...
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 9:27:32 PM

This just in:

"eViL.kEv2 to Ignore "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" also"
telur writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:45:15 PM

It's stupid if produser ignore "X-Men Origins: Wolverine", because you can't change movie like comic easily. They should learn from X3
Bob82 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:57:35 PM

I can't believe all the headlines about the "X-Men" spinoffs! The first two were really good movies, but "X-Men 3" was crap, so they brought the best character of that franchise, Wolverine, and made his own movie... wich was even more crap. And now it seems we can expect an unnecessary sequel, then "First Class", the Magneto movie and Deadpool movie, wich ignores "Origines"!!! It's absurd!
CAPTIAN CRITICAL writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 11:22:51 PM

ok you non believers...follow this link to see ryan reynolds in his LANTERN garb...he nails it !!!!
http://www.darkhorizons.com/news/15433/-green-lantern-not-shooting-in-oz
vwkombi writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 11:28:45 PM

Yep, Origins sucked and the Deadpool movie, the next X-men movies and the entire movie going population in general to ignore it as well.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 12:18:34 AM

"ok you non believers...follow this link to see ryan reynolds in his LANTERN garb...he nails it !!!!
http://www.darkhorizons.com/news/15433/-green-lantern-not-shooting-in-oz"

THANKS FOR THE OLD NEWS (AND PHOTOSHOPPED PIC OF REYNOLDS), CAPTAIN CRITICAL
Peter Parker writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 12:25:33 AM

"So he lets her live in his house and she looks after him, but they both torture each other."
Dharma & Greg?
Peter Parker writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 12:32:15 AM

X-Men -> X-Men 2
X-Men 2 -> X-Men 3
X-Men 3 -> Wolverine
Wolverine -> Deadpool / Little X-Men / Wolverine 2 / X-Men 4 / Magneto...

Derailed train?
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 12:45:37 AM

Yeah Captain Critical... that pic is almost as old as Lohan's wrist scars, botox, hair extensions, liver sclerosis and vaginal sores.
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 12:46:28 AM

""So he lets her live in his house and she looks after him, but they both torture each other." --- ahh... MARRIAGE?!
Deathscythe writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 1:05:53 AM

Well put Evil
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 1:13:04 AM

'He is a bad ass, a wise-cracking mercenary, who will go out and kill anyone for money. But the thing about him is that, underneath it all, sometimes he's not such a bad ass after all.'

--- WTF?!
johnny_boy writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 2:16:15 AM

don't think thats a smart move. remember the mortal kombat movie? then the sequel came out ignoring the first 1 pretty much. out of nowhere Sonya had short hair and a whole different outfit, shao khan looked human rather than monsterly at the end of the first. im sure we can all agree that that film sucked, cuz of how it was done and ignoring elements from the first 1. mite as well do the same with Venom if hollywood is gonna be this dumb. and i was very excited to see the deadpool film after he was introduced in XMOW.but guess Fox just wants to play dumb
rabid writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 2:18:54 AM

I don't see any point of rebooting the origin. The real Deadpool origin after Weapon X is kind of lame. And he wasn't insane until Weapon X made him that way, so I didn't really have a problem with how little he spoke.
At least Origins did two things right with the character. They gave a better reason for his insanity than skin cancer, and they gave him teleportation as a power (which in the comics he uses a device he stole from Cable).

I hope they're just saying that to soothe the butthert fanboys who thought Wade Wilson must've been born with a mask on.
Ranma-Irias writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 5:23:18 AM

I don't trust Fox but I trust in Reynolds I'm sure he'll have more to say on the Deadpool script.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 5:45:53 AM

Well, it's nice to hear that they Wolverine sucked, but that doesn't mean you can just ignore liked it never happened. Rebooting isn't the answer to everything, it is not a magic word to make all bad things to go away. It doesn't work like that you stupid motherf***ing, retarded, moneyhorny foxw****s.
lost_addict writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 7:13:21 AM

action speak louder then words...make a good movie first and then talk.we don't want another 'daredevil' or 'catwoman'
warlord writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 11:06:17 AM

why not x-mens origins wolverine. ignored the frist x-men movie why stop here
rabid writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 1:19:37 PM

How did Origins ignore the first X-Men?
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 9:12:06 PM

There was a sign on a city bus driving by in the background that said: 'We're ignoring the X-Men'
That_Genius writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 9:50:05 PM

they better not screw this up or I will sue Fox...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved