WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"X-Men: First Class" to be Similar to "Harry Potter" Films

Posted: October 16th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"X-Men: First Class" to be Similar to "Harry Potter" FilmsSubmit Comment
Empire magazine spoke to producer Lauren Shuler Donner about the upcoming "X-Men: First Class" movie, which will focus on the young Scott, young Jean and young Beast.

"We want it to be like the recent, darker Harry Potter [films]. It should not be a kiddie movie - we're in the X-Men world so you can't suddenly change the tone," she said. "The First Class comics are funnier than any other comics I've read. Basically in each one the kids are fighting strange villains, sometimes it's aliens, sometimes it's monsters. I want to get a flavour of that world. There's also still an element of friction between the mutants and the outside world. Remember that this will be set way back before anyone knew mutants existed."

She continued: "Right now the script is not done - we're not where we want to be yet. We want to make this a franchise, following these kids at the school, so the casting of the child actors will be all-important."

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:11:57 PM

You aint gonna make people happy if you say 'We are going to make it look like the latest Harry potter films!'
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:36:28 PM

Yeah... I just lost my Expendables boner.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:39:43 PM

Anyone ever figure out why these superheros all have to be muscular?

I mean... Cyclops could be built like Rosie (I lick canoe) O'Donnell and still kick ass, yes?
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:43:01 PM

I agree with you Ranger there. Also why are all the girls made to look like barbies all the time.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:58:30 PM

OK... (double-standard here) - the Barbie girls I can live with... lol.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 8:46:25 PM

Now it's time to look into 20th century fox's studios:

Fox exec: "OUR MOVIES f*ckING SUCK"

Another fox exec: "WHAT ABOUT XMEN"

fox exec: "THEY SUCK TOO BUT THEY MAKE MONEY"

Another fox exec: "THEN LETS SPIN OFF THE sh*t OUT OF IT"

fox exec: "YEA BECAUSE NOBODY GETS TIRED OF sh*tTY SEQUELS AND PREQUELS TO sh*tTY MOVIES, RIGHT? RIGHT?!"

2 years later

Ex fox exec: "WELL FOX FINALLY WENT UNDER, AT LEAST I HAVE ALL 245676213456898634235 XMEN MOVIES"
CCBlev writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 8:50:07 PM

Jesus christ, hey make it more like saved by the bell, if your gonna make it
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 9:11:16 PM

"We're in the X-Men world so you can't suddenly change the tone."

No, but you can take all the continuity and origins and shove a giant f*cking dildo right up their asses, huh?
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 9:14:56 PM

The only way this movie, or any other X-Movie could work, is to get someone who's actually read or written the comics to have a major influence on them. My vote - Joss Whedon. Probably the best creative force "X-Men" had since Claremont
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 9:16:37 PM

Ranger, I know you're an old school fan, so if you haven't read his stuff yet, do yourself a favor and check out the trade paperbacks
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:30:21 PM

Will do. Nice to see you know who Chris Claremont is. I was reading the X-Men in the John Byrne / Terry Austin's days. John actually drew me Iron Man right in front of me at a comic shop. He was pissed to see he gave him 5 fingers and a thumb on one hand. Oh well... it was a great drawing.
Detrimental writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:49:02 PM

X-Men: Rugrats. It'd be glorious. Think about it @ Fox.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 11:52:20 PM

'we want to make this a franchise'...yea because there's nothing more fun than killing off a franchise while making money off of it, and then making more sequels and prequels, because they think they are so much more important than anybody else in the world, that only their ideas are considered worthy...but the problem is, they're only convincing themselves that their ideas are the only worthy ones...so as far as i'm concerned, x-men franchise can kiss my ass until i see that x-men 4 is being made...with apocalypse of course
flaggingmoose writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 4:51:00 AM

"The casting of the child actors will be all-important"?? Why the f*ck is Tim Poc*ck set up to be Cyclops then? God dayum he was sh*t in Wolverine.

btw, obvious solution to making an X-MEN film MAKE IT LIKE HARRY POTTER.....f*cking great. Just makes so much sense. You will have to give Xavier a beard and a cloak and make that mof*cker dumbledore.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 5:35:35 AM

Awesome! Harry Pottering the X-Men is a fantastic idea. Probably the best thing to happen to comic books since the casting of Schwarzenegger as Mr Freeze.

Go Fox, you're the greatest!
GlasgowHero writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 7:35:08 AM

*groans*... somebody call the cliche cops. So they want the film to be successful? Harry Potter is a bit of an embarrassment. Yeah, the books are pretty awesome. But the only reason the films work is they're using the best british actors from stage and screen. Apart from that the screenplay is a butchered, child-friendly, funny-for-the-kids monstosity, and the 'all important' casting of the children have left us with two out of three wooden emotionless husks for every potter installment. I mean, granted, america tends to do a much better job when casting younger actors because the country is set up with stage schools etc. But c'mon - to say you're gonna make xmen, one of the best loved comics, into a potter-esque 'franchise'. Bullsh*t buddy. Focus on making a single decent xmen movie. There's been a glut of producer-driven crap for long enough. Wolverine should've been incredible. ach... damn, i'm off topic.

Ranger - c'mon man, superheroes need to be in peak performance because they've gotta have stamina, and physical prowess outside of their powers. I mean, the blob - charming though he is - is never gonna be a figure head or leader. And as for the chicks - that's just maths. Tits and Ass sell comics.

Evil Kev - most sensible comment i've heard in a while. Would be great to see whedon and claremont making a difference to the films.

Personally, I think they've all but killed the franchise of marvel. There's many great films gonna be coming out - and no doubt avengers will be incredible - especially if they cast cap right. But I would love to see an Authority film. i mean, watchmen was cracking - not too sure i liked the ending compared with the original. But give me an Authority film or band of brothers style miniseries and I'll be one happy camper.

Charlie9 writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 7:41:09 AM

"We want it to be like the recent, darker Harry Potter [films]." At first I was hoping this might be a comment lost in translation but ominously it doesn't seem that way. I think I'm gonna give up on all future X-Men releases, and then one of them might pleasantly surprise me
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 12:57:45 PM

every time i watch the 90s x-men cartoon, with apocalypse, just looks so much better than the movies...i mean just imagine what that would look like on a big screen if translated into a movie with bad ass cgi...too bad FOX is too dumb
rabid writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 2:23:21 PM

Ranger, there are plenty of fat and ugly X-Men. The main team has to stay in top shape, but all the other kids are just students. In the school you can find kids that are pimply, gangly, obese, or just plain ugly.
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 5:41:31 PM

Oh... I knew that Rabid. But even the main team... I'm still a lot hard pressed to figure out why Cyclops needs muscles to adjust his visor to fire?!
Luminus writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 5:45:29 PM

@ Ranger and Cd_Smith0 muscular and Barbie comment: This is fantasy. How else are they supposed to look? Like you? You can't fight crime every day and look like Fat Albert. People who work out look good. Deal with it.
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 6:08:00 PM

I wouldn't judge my appearance too harshly pencil-neck. I could snap you over my head like a f*cking twig. 'Like you'... lol. Go suck your momma's d*ck.
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 6:10:08 PM

@Luminus - 'Eliza Dushku did some AMAZING work on both the Buffy and Angel series. Was this site always filled will juvenile slander?' --- look who's watching Buffy and Angel... the He-Man of WP, because neither of those shows are juvenile. No... they're 'artsy!'

LOL!
Randal Graves writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 10:00:20 PM

Fox forgets the greatest rule when making comic book movies. Respect The Characters! They trash everyone but wolverine.
rabid writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 4:07:36 AM

I watched Buffy and Angel. Both series were excellent. Dushku would make a decent WW, but Charisma Carpenter could do better.
Ranger writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 4:34:41 AM

@GlasgowHero - 'Tits and Ass sell comics.'

No argument here.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved