WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nathan Fillion Wants to Star in "Greatest American Hero" Movie

Posted: October 16th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nathan Fillion Wants to Star in "Greatest American Hero" MovieSubmit Comment
Nathan Fillion (Serenity, "Castle") previously expressed interest in starring in the "Green Lantern" film, but was passed over for Ryan Reynolds. Now, Fillion tells IFC that there is another superhero that he would love to portray on the big screen.

"There are so many superheroes out there, I feel like there's none left," he said. "But there is one I think I could handle, and that's a redo of 'The Greatest American Hero'."

"The Greatest American Hero" was an ABC television show that ran from 1981 to 1983, and centered on Ralph Hinkley (William Katt), a teacher who comes into possession of a red alien suit that endows its wearer with superpowers--but not the instruction manual.

"With the technology we have available today for effects, I'd say it's largely the same idea, the same story," explained Fillion. "But the suit would be able to change and morph into whatever it is you needed him to do. So it could become armor, a scuba suit -- you could do that stuff."

This isn't the first time we've heard of "The Greatest American Hero" movie. About a year ago Stephen J Cannell, creator of the TV series, confirmed that a feature film was in the works. It was rumored that director Stephen Herek (Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure, Critters) was onboard to direct.

TV Show Intro:


Source: IFC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
j-man writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:46:17 AM

could be good, fillion deserves more and better roles, not syaing this is one of them, but hes brilliant in everything he does, espeically serenity and cant catch a break IMHO........
j-man writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:46:51 AM

*and he cant catch a break
Deathscythe writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 8:38:10 AM

I agree J-man he makes everything he acts in better just by being there
thedotsays writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 9:21:18 AM

Personally, Castle isn't that great of a show but it would be far worse without him. I'm still stunned the offeres didn't come rolling in after Slither. Drive was better with him but suffered from its premise. His run on Firefly/Serenity is by far his best work.
I think he would have been pretty damn good in the role of Jonah Hex.
lost_addict writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 9:31:19 AM

perfect casting :-)
TRUEMAN writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:58:29 AM

Zzzzzzzzzz suck Boring what a stupod movie!
NatG83 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 11:58:33 AM

I'll never forget seeing Fillion in Slither. The guy really has great range: from drama to comedy, he's solid. And he's got that super-hero look. But, I'm not sure I'd be interested in this film.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 12:18:15 PM

yea Nathan definitely deserves more roles, he's awesome!
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:22:58 PM

This is the only man that could defeat Chuck Norris.
rabid writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:41:53 PM

I definitely want to see him do some sort of comic book role. I really enjoy his acting.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:43:29 PM

William Katt and Robert Culp were great in the TV Series. The ONLY flaw I saw to it was they dragggggged out his knowledge on how to use his powers (smell... SMALLVILLE ANYONE?!?!?!) - AFTER he loses the instruction manual that came with it (LOL!)... also similar timing to TV's 'Enterprise'... getting to use humans in the transporter, etc.

But done RIGHT... this could look a bit campy, light, yet fun (sort of like Hanc*ck before the introduction of Samson's, Delilah storyline that leads to his downfall... ugh!).

I hope they do this movie.
rabid writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:23:39 PM

Didn't John Ritter once play a superhero? It seems like he did for some tv movie.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:32:05 PM

I seem to remember that as well (Ritter as a superhero), but can't remember the name. Long career for that guy.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000615/

He was AMAZING (as was everyone) in SlingBlade.

Ironically he was in a show called: 'I Woke Up Early the Day I Died.' I guess when you're in as many projects as he was... something will come up 'ironic.'
japaninmotion writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 6:53:22 PM

I loved this show when i was a kid....andfallon has the comic timing and super hero looks to pull this off
Sue writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 9:30:02 PM

Fillion would be fabulous in Greatest American Hero - just the right comic timing combined with the looks of a super hero. Perfect.
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 9:41:36 AM

Holy sh*t my 10 year old son would go nuts if this happened.
oklahomaer writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 3:47:07 PM

if they ever make a greatest american hero movie it better f*cking have william katt in it somewhere.
Scrooge McDuck writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 4:20:38 PM

@Rabid - TOO SOON! (lawls)
Ranger writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 7:26:52 PM

@oklahomaer - I'm not usually a fan of these 'loyalty cameos' in movies (Starsky & Hutch. Shatner in the next Star Trek... possibly, etc.). But I agree here. It would be great to see William via a cameo here. He's earned it. I'd like to see Robert Culp as well (on his 5th wife... way to go Bob!). I see he played his Bill Maxwell character on Robot Chicken. He and William were magic together in this series.
Mudders writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 1:00:14 AM

last time i heard about this ALL the cast were getting cameos in it...and Owen Wilson was gonna be asked(but that was like a year ago)...i think Cannell even said he thought Brad Pitt would be good for it.
i really hope they make this and as long as the script stays true to the show itself,i think it will be a winner,i know ill be there!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved