WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Jackson's "This Is It" to be Bigger Than "Harry Potter" and "Spider-Man"?

Posted: October 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael JacksonSubmit Comment
Executives at Sony Pictures and concert promoter AEG are openly predicting that Michael Jackson's upcoming "This Is It" film will make a staggering $250 million in its first 5 days in theaters.

Apparently, they are not pulling these numbers out of nowhere. The studio is claiming that the pic has already brought in $65 million in pre-sales, which is $5 million more than it cost to acquire the movie rights.

The online ticketer Fandango is reporting that even though "This Is It" is still two weeks away from hitting theaters, it is already #1 in ticket sales and has been sold out in more than 1,000 locations. "At this point in the film’s sales cycle, 'This Is It' is outpacing 'Harry Potter And The Half Blood Prince,' 'Transformers 2: Revenge Of The Fallen,' and 'Star Trek' as one of our top pre-sellers of the year," said Fandango's COO Rick Butler.

DeadlineHollywood looked into the $250 million prediction by contacting some of its insiders. Here is the response the site received: "I don't know what they're talking about. That would be bigger than 'Spider-Man' and 'Harry Potter.' It's an event, but it's still a movie."

Source: DeadlineHollywood


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 6:46:19 PM

Well i won't be seeing it, didn't really care about MJ before his death, certainly don't care after he died!
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 6:48:07 PM

I don't know about these $ #'s so I won't comment on them.

But since his death, I've watched his Bucharest 'Dangerous' Tour Concert a couple of times.

Now, I'm a HUGE Queen fan, an Elvis fan... etc. And have seen most of their recorded concerts, and I have NEVER seen the reaction MJ gave to his audience since The Beatles. I mean... it was almost a spiritual experience for these people. And I'll concede that MJ even over Queen (in their defense they were a 'Glam Rock' Band), MJ put on the best stage show I had ever seen.

Again, it's usually after they die: Freddie, Elvis and MJ all the media around it reminds you of just how talented these people really were. Thank God they've left us their music.

OK... let the child-diddler comments commence. I put in my 2 cents worth...lol.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 6:55:31 PM

Typical, the dude dies, they expect him to start selling again... That's just sad.

But then again, he was a sad f*ck himself so, what the heck...
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:03:35 PM

He was sad... truly. As were Freddie and Elvis.

Cybill Sheppard (ex poke of Elvis) was interviewed after MJ's death commenting on that level of celebrity and it not being survivable. After seeing MJ's fans reactions during that concert half a world away... I believe that more than ever now.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:19:09 PM

Yeah like people would go ape sh*t when he stepped on stage or at the podium. When he announced the tour, grown ass men crying and reaching out for him. Like music is the strongest art form out there and his music certainly touched the widest range of people out there. He was really incredible as far as his music and entertainment went. I don't know if I'll go see this mainly cause I don't think I'll have the time, but it should be out for more than two weeks I mean it would take a sh*t load of money.
Detrimental writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:20:49 PM

Everyone was told Anakin died too. Look how that turned out. It's all a plot to take over.
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:23:27 PM

I'm an MJ fan, but I'll still await this arrival on DVD.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:33:29 PM

It appears this film is coming for Dark Knight's box office records. MJ and Heath will battle it out from the grave. Or maybe they'll bond over pi-- yeah I'm not gonna go there.
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:47:36 PM

lol.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:50:52 PM

they want their money now i guess. couldn't at least wait a year to go by, which seems more appropriate,rather than a few months.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:57:03 PM

I bet he's still alive, just like Elvis, and they're just kickin' back, chugging down some beers and ass raping little boys...
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:59:44 PM

You left out Freddie!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:59:54 PM

No.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 8:08:16 PM

I think Freddie is ass raping MJ! ehe
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 8:30:40 PM

Oh yeah and

WHERES MY f*ckING FREAKAZOID MOVIE
Deathscythe writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 8:42:35 PM

this is the Freakazoid movie, they just never showed you Freakazoid ass raping little boys. He didn't want you to have to watch. he was weird but not that weird.
rabid writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 9:30:41 PM

It's amazing to see television idolizing that sick bastard. I'm not sure if people actually care or if the media just try to make it look that way to sell crap.
It's kind of creepy looking at that monster mask.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 9:38:09 PM

"this is the Freakazoid movie, they just never showed you Freakazoid ass raping little boys."

for some strange reason, I want to see this episode.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 9:47:44 PM

The numbers don't mean sh*t to me, I just wanna see the movie and get to see MJ perform. I got my tickets, I've had em, and I am psyched. But I'm not surprised that it's reaching these predictions, the movies gonna be in theaters for two weeks only and its the last footage of a late pop star. But it could make 2 bucks I wouldnt care, I just wanna see MJ
AJWPProfile writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 10:02:27 PM

HAHAHAHAHA I wonder if it'll win worst actor for MJ!!!!!!!!! XD!!!!!!! I hope the Razzie voters are paying attention to this movie. XD!!! He's not dead...That's ignorant XD
AP102390 writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 11:31:07 PM

i won't see this movie either. such a stupid concept.
entropyMUSE writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 11:46:39 PM

* pulls out a notebook and settles down on a chair in front of Rabid

So tell me ... When did the bad man in the mask first touch you ?
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 11:55:59 PM

And where... and do you have any pics and/or video of the incident(s)?

TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 12:15:08 AM

Innocent until proven guilty. Or is that not the way the law system works? Oh I forgot this is the internet.
rabid writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 12:46:36 AM

Innocent as long as you have tens of millions to pay off the accusers.

Too bad he died. He could have played Morbius the Living Vampire in SpiderMan 4.
Kid_A writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 3:22:49 AM

It WILL break records and all the other remaining things, because it's the only footage for us fans that was the last of MJ before he passed away. The people that don't care about MJ, they will be hearing from everywhere about this movie and about MJ, because it's a global FACT and no one can ignore it. It's just... big... big enough...
dissident187 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 3:46:41 AM

Had he been alive and the concert a success, we would have been watching this sh*t on MTV behind-the-scenes. So why should his death and a scrapped concert make a difference? No way I'm giving these capitalist pigs my money. Download the DvdRip.
joenobody writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 4:03:09 AM

is mj died?
Kid_A writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 4:22:50 AM

@dissident187: These footages will be, and would be DVDRip, too. This big of a concert series wouldn't be just a concert, without a DVD, even though MJ were to be alive. The point is to watch it on big screen and share that emotion, gratefullness with everyone. If you're going to cinema to see "Transformers 2" and "Harry Potter 6" (I'm not saying you did), which are the first one is about lots of robots destroying the world AGAIN, and the second one with Harry Potter that had been delayed 8 months in order to earn more money from us, MJ's "This Is It" comes just within 3 months after his death. They wouldn't release it long later, because the obvious fact is AEG wanted to balance its deal about the series, and sold it to Sony, which can only make it a movie and show to us. If you still don't give a crap for it, then don't come under this threat and write something (I'm not ordering you, just an offer).
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 4:37:46 AM



@rabid - what if... what IF MJ was as shy as we have heard. Back when $23. mil was lunch money to him. What if he just wanted to avoid court? I personally have a friend. Got stopped in the southern states (small town)... put before a Judge, and his fine was... get ready... all the cash he had in his pocket. So, he paid and was released. Doesn't make him guilty. The next go-round MJ didn't have the cash... goes to court and faces ALL his accusers, on MULTIPLE charges and was acquitted on ALL of them.

Now... accusing someone of 'child molestation' is the WORST thing a person could do. It leaves a stigma attached LONG AFTER any trial, whether the person was acquitted or now. Accusing someone of child molestation is worse that accusing someone of rape. MJ went to court and was acquitted. All the gold-digging, working class parents and EX-employees of MJ's went home with nothing. Was his paying out the $'s the first time a mistake... damn right it was. And I'm sure his people advised him against doing it for this very reason.

I don't know what proof YOU have of his actions, or why you don't believe in justice... but there is NO winning for MJ wth the likes of you that keep persecuting a cleared man that gave every single penny his Dangerous Tour made to Children's Charities around the world (I know... you'll come back saying he was buying off his conscience... LOL, SEE there's no winning with the MJ haters that have NO proof).

I think a kind man was crushed out of existence by the constant sh*t dumped on him that his Father started, and jealous haters (yes... jealous of his fame, and hateful of him for it) continued to lay on his shoulders.

He was the best at what he did, and personally I think we're worse off without the man. He didn't sing about healing the world. He backed it up with his actions (and money). How are you doing towards that effort and at what magnitude... equal to MJ's? No, I didn't think so.

But he's dead now. Time for the torch wielding villagers to take a break and pick their next victim. Because until you have some PROOF (remember... justice and all), I don't want to hear it.

Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 5:19:15 AM

PS: I see Keanu Reeves has been cleared of all charges from that gold-digging, media whore-seeking bitch. No surprise here.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 5:30:25 AM

Man o man... how people make accusations of you when you have money.
LastActionHero writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:10:28 AM

I predict it will do the same as the Tyler Perry garbage.
warlord writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:21:12 AM

OH HORSE-sh*t
Horsemoney5 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:41:10 AM

I respect MJ dont get me wrong... but this is as bad as if the jonas brothers took the record... I feel a movie should have the record not a filmed event... hopefully the only people who go are only the pre sale fanatics
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 12:02:38 PM

Um the Jonas Bros are not cultural icons with 750 million records sold and hundreds of millions of fans.
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:25:10 PM

hahahaha YEAH RIGHT...

If Spike Lee can't get people to see serious concert films- and since Hannah Montana isn't in it- there's no way this thing is going to be huge.
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:31:05 PM

Jackson doesn't have a demographic- just fixated nut fanbase that for some reason exists in droves. Once the initial surge is gone the sales will stop.

The reason Jonas Bros and Miley pull in huge money is because they are targeted at a large age demographic and uphold a good image within that demographic so along with usual crazy teen girls you get HUGE bank from christians who are having their values supported by this manufactured material.

I can't see that huge demographic being tapped by Jackson to make this huge among anyone but the diehard fanbase. Amazing singer or not no one wants to sit awkwardly with their families on a movie night watching an aged pop star with molestation accusations writhing around for an hour and a half.
rabid writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:36:53 PM

Let's see Ranger, you're talking about a man who fit a classic serial pedophile psyche profile, whose father beat him and dressed him like a woman, a man who horded wealth, who thought it was okay to open mouth kiss little boys, who had multiple accusations of child molestation and paid tens of millions in hush money, a man who gave these children porn and alcohol, a man whose child porn collection was confiscated by the police, who admitted, to sleeping with the boys and going on private vacations with them, this man who immediately after the last trial moved to Bahrain where child molestation is accepted, then later fled a trial there to come home where he became an opiate addict and eventually killed himself with a physician's assistance?

Finding proof that he blew some kid is like trying to prove I got head in the back row of the cinema while watching Sleeping With The Enemy when I was 14. There's only two people that were there... But it doesn't mean you can't apply a bit of common sense to the situation.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:49:48 PM

@rabid - all good arguments (seriously).

My point was... he faced his accusers via the judicial system and was set completely free. No proof, no guilt. THAT is how the system works. If he DID anything in line with the RUMORS... how is his being set free even possible?! If you have a better idea for a legal system I'm all for it. Because there are more cracks in the current system than Pamela Anderson's sun-baked face. MJ's reason for fleeing the country was because he believed the cops contaminated his ranch. Funny sounding yes. But I haven't walked a mile in his shoes to judge.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:50:21 PM

@rabid - are you OK then with me calling your a rapist?
rabid writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:50:40 PM

I wonder if they'll deify OJ Simpson when he dies?
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:10:28 PM

There's a guy that should have been locked up. But the white cops wanted so badly to convict a black celeb, they f*cked with the evidence. If they had just done their proper jobs (yes... legally), they would have succeeded.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:12:53 PM

@rabid - you know my comments aren't directed towards you personally... yes? Just your position (and you're certainly entitled to it). We'll just agree to disagree my friend.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:21:40 PM

@Ranger and Rabid: Guys, don't know if you like South Park, or if you've seen this yet, but it cracked me up! Check it out (takes a few seconds to load):

http://tv-video.net/video/html/content_2646.htm
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:37:30 PM

@PP - priceless! lol.
rabid writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:43:01 PM

That was great.
And no Ranger, its the internet. I don't take anything personally.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:53:55 PM

Good stuff.
Trip Maverick writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 5:42:28 PM

Is true I work in a cinema and I was told that the pre bookings were more than any film this year.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 5:53:05 PM

MJ brings in the cash... always. No arguing his talent or his box office draw.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 6:01:46 PM

He doesn't have a demographic because he engrosses the world. He is a global star for people all ages. He was making music since he was 6, he has generations of followers. Michael Jackson stayed relevant musically until he was about 44 years old. That's 38 years of music and if you want to count overall relevancy it was until his death so his reach is incredibly wide. This film isn't like any other music film.

Comparing him to Jonas Bros of Cryus represents complete idiocy
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 6:21:40 PM

Well said.
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 6:58:35 PM

ummm NO- comparing him to Miley or the Jonas Brothers is not pure idiocy. It's an example basic reasoning. No demographic- no cash.

Watchmen pre sales were pretty great too and we all know how that turned out once the diehards were gone.

This exact same man couldn't even get mass viewers for his 'recent' cable TV specials for the same reasons I mentioned. His demographic is gone and no one wants to sit for more than an hour watching the man be soft spoken and creepy when there are music stars who actually support a fanbase successfully such as Miley, Jonas, even the Dixie Chicks for f*ck sakes. Why? Because they are popular.

Ride the dead guy's balls all you want. The surge in sales is only due to the fascination of death- after the opening weekend it's over for this flick. Argue and call me an idiot all you want. I want to see you here on this board trying to have the same argument in 2 weeks. I know for a fact you'll look f*cking stupid.
PrevalentMind writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:00:46 PM

Comparing profits and sales isn't the same as comparing talent- learn how to f*cking read.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:02:03 PM

I wasn't agreeing with the 'idiocy' part PM... just saying I think he's still popular. A resurgence in that because of his death... certainly.

'Ride the dead guy's balls all you want.' - priceless.
thedudeman69 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 11:21:41 PM

if this makes as much as The Dark Knight, I am done with movies.
rabid writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 2:40:23 AM

Normally I'd agree with that, but I think if they are able to whitewash the pedophile issue out of the minds of this generation, his albums will sell forever, like the Beatles or Elvis.
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 5:44:46 PM

And Elvis banged Priscilla before she was of age (who wouldn't?!)... despite her pathetic attempts to deny such things. I saw an interview and her denial was pretty transparent. I don't think she minds the cat (in this case... the p*ssy) getting out of the bag.

As for The Beatles... oh, believe me. I'm sure they tenderized plenty of underage meat.
Mudders writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 12:53:13 AM

couldnt give 2 poos about this one...dead or alive he just didnt do it for me as someone i could sit and watch/listen to in my room or at a party or whatever...just not my cup of tea

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved