WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jensen Ackles on "Captain America" Rumors

Posted: October 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jensen Ackles on "Captain America" RumorsSubmit Comment
Jensen Ackles (My Bloody Valentine, "Supernatural") was recently answering some questions and addressed the rumor that he's up for the role in Marvel's superhero film "The First Avenger: Captain America."

"It's been brought to my attention that it's online," he said. "I have not gotten a call from my agent, I have not gotten a script, I have not talked to anyone about it. I think it's all a rumor."

Ackles went on to explain that he'll likely never get a role like that. "I'm sure [they'll cast] some big name film actor," he said. "They're not going to pull some dude of the CW and give him Captain America. I'm squashing it now, I know nothing about it."

Click here to read more about "The First Avenger: Captain America."

Source: YouTube


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 6:49:28 PM

I ALREADY know I'll catch hell for this... but, Neil Fifer still has my vote. OK... lay it on me smart-asses! LOL! But he''s already talked to Feige's office about this.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 6:59:18 PM

Not that I'm a big fan or anything, but if the producers ever think of Brad Pitt for this part, they'll quickly realize the pot of gold they may have on their hands...
Peter Parker writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:00:57 PM

BTW, if Brad Pitt ends up playing Captain America, I want money for coming up wit the idea!
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:01:22 PM

I thought of Brad as well PP. I mean (I thought) he was pretty amazing in Troy.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:18:04 PM

Yup, he did a good job with what he could in Troy.
Him playing Captain America sounds like a good idea because he looks the part, the media coverage alone would be incredible, meaning free press for the movie, it would get the chicks' vote and I don't think the hardcore fans would be upset with it either. Hell, they could actually appreciate an A lister being on board! (now I sound like a sales-guy... lol)
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:24:12 PM

Maybe... but you also make sense at the same time (so it works).
Detrimental writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:26:09 PM

Erik Estrada. All the way.
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:28:03 PM

LOL! AGREED!
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:28:27 PM

f*ck D... I'm still laughing over that one!
johnny_boy writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:38:23 PM

what other stuff has he been in? i've seen him in bloody valentine and thought his acting wasn't good. plus i don't see him bein captain america
nope.com writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 8:15:27 PM

at least he knows he's on a crap network, good for him. Now I actually want him to get the role
Peter Parker writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 8:26:07 PM

@nope.com: Exactly! It's cool to see an actor who's down to earth and realistic.

Eliza Dushku could learn a few things with Ackles!
Barney Stinson writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 9:21:07 PM

Jensen is awesome in Supernatural, one of my favorite shows. Although imo he wouldn't be good for the role.
coldplayesence writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 10:44:32 PM

How could that happen? he's almost a midget!!
johnny_boy writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 11:00:50 PM

why not just have chris pine do it? hes young and from what i hear is a good actor.just blonde him up a little, get him in more shape then it could probaly happen.
pocolachristian writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 11:11:12 PM

Chuck Norris all the way.
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 11:44:54 PM

NO to Chuck Norris... sorry.

Captain America's objective was to battle the German military force... not to wipe the entire German population from the face of the planet forever.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 12:18:13 AM

Jensen Ackles is fantastic on Supernatural, which really is one of the best shows on television. I would be delighted if he got the part.
rabid writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 12:49:09 AM

I could see him playing a good Cap. Whoever they're casting, I bet they already have someone in mind.
outofshadow writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 12:51:24 AM

I don't think they'll go with a big name. If you have to do an avengers, Downey and Samuel L jackson will cost enough. I think thats why Hemsworth had a big shot at Thor, his salary demands arn't as high.
totallyawesomedude writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:55:13 AM

he could for sure pull it off
biniwoo writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:32:58 AM

I think Chris Pine would be perfect for the role



vwkombi writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 3:01:47 AM

I am down with Ackles or Pine as CA, and having an cheaper actor for the Avengers means that more money will go to the other aspects of the film.

Granted though, i don't read comic books and am basing my choices purely of other media depicting CA.
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 3:32:04 AM

Jensen Ackles, Brad Pitt, Chris Evans or Nathan Fillion.

Those are my choices. Wild card goes to Tom Jane.

There has been some sh*t going around about a Ben Ryan guy. Found a link of him, no idea who he is.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3136/2597088118_909bb330ec.jpg
MartyMCfly83 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 3:56:23 AM

Coldplay he is 6'1! Not exactly a midget
Casanova writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 4:45:51 AM

I think Jensen would make a good captain. And Supernatural is a great show. And many big rolles are given to small actors like Shia in the 1 Transformers movie and Chris Pine in the Star Treck movie
GlasgowHero writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 5:46:06 AM

Jensen is pretty good in supernatural, my bloody valentine was a washout - probably down to bad writing/editing more than eckles talent. Brad Pitt has been batted about for five years to do the role. He's not right for it though. I think you guys hit the nail on the head with chris pine. And thomas jane is an incredible actor - the mist alone shows what he's capable of. But I don't know if he'd be right for the part though. I think a film like this works best though when you don't really know the actors so you can forget abit about all the tabloid sh*t you read. I mean oceans 11,12,13 who was honestly watching a bunch of characters doing a heist. We were watching brad pitt muck about with george clooney.

End of the day - Chris Pine is a good shout but i don't know whether you could dye those eyebrows.

Patrick Wilson gets my vote!
inkstewer writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:26:44 AM

yes yes Chris pine or patrick wilson i agree.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:47:41 AM

Brad Pitt is only good in offbeat roles, Chris Pine is stuck in the Star Trek-franchise, so neither of them. Chris Evans, Thomas Jane and Patrick Wilson are good choices, but Nathan Fillion is the man. I like Ryan Reynolds, but would've rather seen Fillion in Green Lantern. He's one of the most underrated actors in Hollywood, so he really deserves a good part. He would make a kick-ass Captain America.
ACTIONFIGURE writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 8:22:16 AM

It would be great to have him as Capt. America...Better than that Tobey f*cker doin' Web-head.
warlord writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:25:35 AM

the costume would have to have a upgrade
mattcl23 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:26:11 AM

Patrick Wilson is a good idea. But if Brad Pitt was to get the lead, this movie would be pretty insane. What about Dolph Lundgren, too old?
NatG83 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 12:06:32 PM

mattcl23: I like Dulph, but he really didn't bring Punisher to life at all.

I like Brad Pitt, but he's not right for this. It would make for a good movie, but you could already expect $20 million in salary for him to sign on for an action flick.

Fillion is the man. And he doesn't have the financial demand that Pitt comes with. Provided Pitt might have a great draw with audiences, the fact it's a Marvel hero will give this movie a running start.
Trip Maverick writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 12:56:44 PM

Hes good for TV and light hearted movies. He'd be good in action movies but hes not an A lister. At least he knows his place.
rabid writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:08:24 PM

All of those suggestions are too old. Steve Rogers is about twenty when he becomes Captain America. Even by the end of the war when he gets frozen, he should be in his late twenties. It's got to be a young actor.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:24:28 PM

How tall is Jensen? He's always the stunted actor when he's around Jared. lol
Skywalker121289 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:35:34 PM

Holy Crap! He's 6'1!
Skywalker121289 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 1:41:28 PM

Maybe Jared just enjoys the occasional steriod?
jsoto127 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:28:26 PM

HOPE THAT S JUST A RUOMOR
xXxRORSCHACHxXx writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 3:40:24 PM

That show is the only one worth watching on the CW.
lawman writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 4:21:19 PM

CHUCK NORRIS's d*ck HAS A TOE NAIL!
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 4:38:15 PM

What did someone post of CN here (or elsewhere)?

'Chuck Norris doesn't walk on water. He swims through land!'

Priceless!
roseredscare writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 8:16:42 PM

I'd love to see Jensen Ackles in a decent movie for once. He's fantastic on Supernatural as Dean Winchester. Very under rated and when the show is done this year, I hope he makes a name for himself. He deserves it.

LOL at the picture of Dean posted in the story. He wasn't a happy camper at that point.
GlasgowHero writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 5:15:50 AM

Maybe they are all a little too old. But if you look at rewrites - 'ultimates', or even some of the originals, Cap is always kinda mid thirties. I think it'd be a mistake to have him any younger than late twenties. Nathan Fillion is a great actor - but I don't think his face fits the role.

If you want young... maybe josh duhamel? or How about Channing Tatum? I still think Patrick Wilson is a good shout though.

But hey, while we make informed decisions over Casting for the future of childhood favourites becoming movie franchises... we're over looking a small factor. Marvel have a new daddy - and I'd imagine they've got their own Cap' in mind. Anyone wanna place a bet on Zac Efron?
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 9:42:56 AM

It better be a rumor because Matthew McConaughey is Captain America.
GlasgowHero writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 8:17:41 PM

McConaughey should stick to rom coms
Peter Parker writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 8:25:55 PM

Captain America himself... David Hasselhoff!!!!
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 9:16:51 PM

How could you not vote for The Hoff after this testament to his... manliness?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJQVlVHsFF8&feature=player_embedded
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 9:17:17 PM

Honestly... I've sh*t better video than that!
Peter Parker writes:
on October 17th, 2009 at 10:04:29 PM

Holly sh*t! You're right! After carefully reviewing this treasury, I realize my mistake. Captain America isn't his thing. With that amazing flying he does on the clip... I say he was born to play Superman!!! lol
thefilmguy1984 writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 1:06:34 AM

Jensen Ackles wasn't my first thought for Captain America but I know he could pull it off. I definitely don't question his ability to command a big movie. Anyone who has seen him on Supernatural can see that he has great on screen charisma and talent. He can perfectly balance humor and drama and not a lot of actors can pull them both off with as much natural ease as he does. Forget Shia Lebouf and Robert Patterson. Ackles makes those guys look like they are acting in school plays. I can't understand how someone like Lebouf keeps getting all of these big movies when he only is about a quarter as talented as Jensen Ackles.

There really are some very under utilized and talented actors from television that deserve big breaks like Ackles. People like Dylan Walsh, Michael C. Hall, Michael Rosenbaum, Michael Chiklis, and the whole cast of Lost just to name a few. They are just as talented, and in some cases more so, as these actors that the studios like using constantly like Tom Cruise. Utilizing some of these great television actors will save production costs and bring something fresh to the cinema world. Enough with these actors who have egos that jump out of the screen. Let's give someone like Jensen Ackles a chance. He is a big star just waiting for someone to give him a big break.

Oh and coldplayesence, Ackles is hardly a midget. He is 6'1 so I don't know what you consider tall. You may think that he looks short because he is usually seen next to Jared Padalecki who is about 6'4. Ackles is certainly a good height to play a super hero.
Eben1277 writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 3:57:54 AM

Brad Pitt Should Play Lion-O in Thundercats... along with vin diesel and hugh jackman and that kate beckinsale (?i'm guessing she's the chick in the fake trailer, i couldn't place who it was)... in know this has nothing to do with captain a, but ranger was talking about pitt in troy, and it made me think of it.
Ranger writes:
on October 18th, 2009 at 4:56:51 AM

@PeterParker - clearly that Hoff vid. is the WORST one on uTube!
Mudders writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 12:50:31 AM

george clooney!!

im drunk

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved