WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Foster is a Hitman in Jason Statham's "Mechanic" Remake

Posted: October 15th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben Foster is a Hitman in Jason StathamSubmit Comment
It was recently reported that Jason Statham (Transporter) will star in the remake Charles Bronson's 1972 film "The Mechanic," about a highly skilled and massively detached hitman who finds himself training the son of one of his victims.

Now, Variety has learned that Ben Foster (3:10 to Yuma) and Donald Sutherland (The Italian Job) will join Statham. Foster will play Steve McKenna, the young man who becomes an apprentice to a hitman (Statham). Sutherland will play the role of Foster's father and Statham's handler.

The new film is being directed by Simon West (Con Air) and is set to go into production in the coming weeks in New Orleans.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kurskij writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 7:06:35 AM

Two words: f*ck Yeah!
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 11:25:08 AM

Okay, that is f*cking awesome!!! Ben Foster is one smooth motherf*cker, even though he doesn't star in films that are worthy of his talent, he still manages to bring some class and his own brand of badass to the proceedings. Now, I own and love the original The Mechanic, it's a great B action movie, but I also love Con Air for all its retarded, testosterone drenched glory. Foster and Jason Statham playing hitmen will be an awesome sight to behold, so I'll forgive this film for being a remake for this moment due to my love of the casting. Hopefully, West can balance the retarded glory of Con Air with some of the grit of the original. Ben Foster is the man, that is all. Oh, they got Don Sutherland also, cool beans...
c-prime writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 11:33:37 AM

I wish I could get as enthused for this as you are, DoucheNozzle, but I see Simon West helming as too much of a liability for the film. (I really, really hate "Con Air".) Even with casting this good, I think the overall production will be too bogged down by misdirection to succeed. Remember, he also directed "When A Stranger Calls", a movie so forgettable that I don't know why I remembered it just now.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 11:52:22 AM

Yeah, I said "retarded glory" for a reason, I know the film sucks, but I find it too stupid/fun to hate. "Put the bunny in the box!!!" Come on, you've got to appreciate a line like that. But really, I wouldn't have chosen West to helm, but that's how things turned out, so I'm cautiously hoping for the best. Yeah, I know he directed Tomb Raider *shudders* and such, but I hope that his mind is in the right place. Also, an insider of the production of the film says the script is pretty good, so that should hopefully be a plus. I probably would have chosen Michael Mann or such to direct, but I don't have influence in Tinseltown, C-Prime.
rabid writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 1:54:17 PM

yes, sounds like a good film to me.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 3:01:35 PM

have you all gone crazy ConAir was brilliant. and this looks pretty cool.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 3:11:43 PM

the hitman plot is so overused. Don't get me wrong, hitmen are badass, but movies based on them usually suck.
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 4:17:48 PM

Yeah, Osiris, Le Samurai and The Killer are terrible films. ;)
JD92 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 12:23:27 AM

FIANALLY!! news just made my day, always good to hear Ben Foster getting some new roles and as always he should be perfect for this one.
dissident187 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 4:07:37 AM

I'd say perfect casting. As much as I love the original Mechanic, Bronson and Statham, I still was a bit hesitant about Statham in the role of Bishop. But Ben Foster in Jan-Michael Vincent's role is perfect casting.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 7:40:07 AM

You can never go wrong with casting Foster. He pretty much owned every film he's in, although I haven't seen Pandorum. X-Men: The Last Stand doesn't count.
Keyser Soze writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 8:56:27 AM

Ben Foster was awesome in Hostage!
jsoto127 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 2:34:02 PM

GOOD IDEA!!!
Mudders writes:
on October 19th, 2009 at 12:39:02 AM

im not a huge fan of remakes .... butthis sounds just too good to pass up ... lets hope hollywood can change my ways or im gonna end up not watching alot of films

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved