WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jon Favreau Will NOT Direct "The Avengers"

Posted: October 14th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jon Favreau Will NOT Direct "The Avengers"Submit Comment
MTV News caught up with "Iron Man 2" director Jon Favreau on the set of "Couples Retreat" to find out if he'll return to helm "The Avengers" movie, which will bring together such characters as Iron Man, Thor and Captain America.

"They'll have to [find a different director], because I'm not going to be available," he explained. "It's something I'm being the executive producer on, so I'll definitely have input and a say."

Favreau continued: "You need somebody who has the perspective of all the different franchises to bring them together. I have the myopic vision of just knowing and loving Iron Man."

So now that Favreau is out, this leaves directors Matthew Vaughn (Layer Cake, Kick-Ass) and Louis Leterrier (The Incredible Hulk) still waiting to find out if Marvel will choose one of them. Vaughn was previously attached to helm "Thor," but was forced to drop out.

In addition, Favreau confirmed that Edward Norton will not appear in his "Iron Man" sequel.

Click here to read more about "The Avengers."

Source: MTV News


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 7:44:41 PM

please for the love of god dont f*ck up avengers.
johnny_boy writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 7:45:05 PM

least he knows that a different director is needed to combine all the different hero elements together. i agree. least he'll be involved in it.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 7:52:12 PM

If only Brett f*ckin' Ratner had the same integrity... (sigh)
rabid writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 7:57:57 PM

Vaughn, Vaughn, Vaughn.
Lowryder writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 8:00:20 PM

STAN LEE SHOULD DIRECT!!
BloodyMickJagger writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 8:39:19 PM

i should direct
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 8:57:12 PM

WHERES MY f*ckING FREAKAZOID MOVIE
nope.com writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 9:02:47 PM

so no more one liners? .. good news
Ranger writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 9:36:37 PM

@OneTime - I couldn't have said it better myself. I actually believe The Avengers has some (most) Directors scared to actually touch it. Too many eyes will be on that one.
BigUnit writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 10:25:43 PM

"In addition, Favreau confirmed that Edward Norton will not appear in his "Iron Man" sequel." BOOOOOOOOOO!
whoever writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 11:09:33 PM

I think they should give it to George Miller!
acslaterson writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 12:17:57 AM

This is why I respect Favreau so much, he knows that he has a personal bias with his part of the franchise and is able to step back from it. Take note George Lucas!
Mudders writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 12:38:53 AM

Avengers is way to delicate to just throw it around from director to director....please choose carefully and for the love of god dont do a Bay or Ratner to it!!!
bryan singer?
jj abrahams?
uwe boll? (haha)
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 12:51:41 AM

If either Bay or Ratner gets The Avengers... I swear I'll set their pets on fire!
scarface85 writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 1:25:35 AM

oh
telur writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 2:19:34 AM

ok, now we can get Brett Ratner
biniwoo writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 3:23:10 AM

Please, Uwe Boll.

That would be awesome.
Kara writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 4:39:20 AM

im thinking lets not make the avengers..... its kind of ridiculous to place all of these superheroes in 1 film - even if it did happen in the comic....

Im keen for Incredible Hulk 2 - with Edward obviously....
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 9:34:00 AM

Matthew Vaughn was previously attached to direct everything, but was forced to drop out. Let's not forget kids, he's the reason Bret Ratner cornholed "X3".
lost_addict writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 10:02:43 AM

i hope uwe boll doesn't read WP
gotsghostrider writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 12:47:30 PM

i hope they make a movie on the Marvel Civil War that was an epic comic
rabid writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 1:55:34 PM

It'll be a while. They just made a Civil War video game.
TeemSelami writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 3:11:38 PM

uwe boll 4 sure
telur writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 11:40:35 PM

where are you Boll?
mattcl23 writes:
on October 16th, 2009 at 10:33:47 AM

Damn, I was hoping to see a cameo with Norton in the second Iron Man.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved