WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ian McKellen on "The Hobbit" and "Magneto"

Posted: October 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ian McKellen on "The Hobbit" and "Magneto"Submit Comment
Empire magazine caught up with actor Ian McKellen at the San Sebastian Film Festival to talk about "The Hobbit" prequels and the long-rumored "Magneto" spin-off.

"The scripts for the two films will be delivered very soon," he said about "The Hobbit." "Then they'll be budgeted, and then they'll be cast. And they'll be going when they've always said they would be, which is next spring March or April. Guillermo even told me at one point, 'We're going to film for 383 days.'"

There has been talk of other "Lord of the Rings" cast member returning for the prequels, but McKellen is unsure how that can happen. "Unfortunately, there won't be many of the actors going back," he said. "Unless they're going to put masks on and be disguised as dwarves! Andy Serkis is, at the moment, I think, the only other actor who's doing this film."

McKellen also touched on "X-Men Origins: Magneto," stating that he has been waiting to read the script for a while, but has yet to see anything. "There's meant to be a Magneto script floating around, but I've not read it, so I suspect it wouldn't involve me," he said. "I think it would be about the younger Magneto, and the most I could hope for would be to top and tail that. They can't have someone whose face is as lined as mine any longer!"

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:31:10 PM

"Ian McKellen on "The Hobbit""

:D

"and "Magneto""

:@
Detrimental writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:32:54 PM

Hey Jordan. Hey Kyle. I don't know if the Hobbit will the j*zz. But I hope it will.

EVERYONE knows Magneto will be the j*zziest though.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:38:36 PM

He looks like he may die of old age before the movies are even finished...
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:53:05 PM

The movies LOTR's and X-Men benefited greatly from this man's presence. He's a class-act. People like this you wish could live forever.

And Lohan is a skank.
BigUnit writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:57:37 PM

cant believe hes gay but not only that, he is into males between the ages of 20 and 24.... Rolls his parts in acting tho
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:59:25 PM

TMI - BU.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:24:22 PM

20th Century Fakes in association with F-U Brett Ratner Studios
Present
X-Men Origins: Magneto

A film by Bryan Singer and not the douche Brett Ratner
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:26:54 PM

So I realised that 'Romeo & Juliet' is the 1500's equivalent to 'Titanic':

-It's about two superficial idiots
-Panders to female audiences
-The secondary characters were more interesting than the leads
-And I was happy when the main characters died.
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:32:10 PM

How is that any different than Gary Coleman's marriage?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:41:07 PM

They haven't made a movie or stageplay about it yet.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 9:51:11 PM

Not sure, but I don't think Sir Ian has read all the Tolkien books. Sarumon is mentioned in "The Hobbit" and Elrond has a pretty major role as well. There are probably a bunch of other characters that I can't remember that were in there. Also, since they're throwing in some stuff from the other books (Sylmarillian, Lost Tales) and appendix's, they could easily have room for Aragorn and Legolas, even if they are just cameos.
Ari Gold writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:41:15 PM

Check this out before it gets deleted!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BhHL3lhBn5A

3mins of The Expendables promo!!
Mudders writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 1:05:10 AM

Ian McKellen-"I think it would be about the younger Magneto, and the most I could hope for would be to top and tail that..." cant get any more gay than that
RickyGabrielBird writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 4:53:02 AM

As much as I believe Jackman is meant to be Wolverine, I also believe the same of McKellen with Magneto.

His presence is epic in films.
warlord writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 10:39:48 AM

damn peter parker thats harsh!!!!
NatG83 writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 10:39:54 AM

With all the other dumb stuff they've done with X-men, and given the capability of McKellan, I bet he could play a teenager.

All joking aside, they need to have this guy in some part of the film. And I hope they don't screw it up...well, screw it up TOO much.
rabid writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 1:30:01 PM

Time to recast Magneto. Whenever he got too old in the comics, they would regress him to infancy or replace him with a younger clone.
rabid writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 1:31:33 PM

I really hope he's nowhere to be seen in the next X movie. He's a boring character, and they've used him as the villain for three films. Move on. Next villain.
georgecostanza writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 6:51:51 PM

The Hobbit's taking too damn long

My nerdy self is getting impatient
seveltoto writes:
on November 11th, 2017 at 6:26:44 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved