WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Talks "Stargate" Sequel

Posted: October 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Talks "Stargate" SequelSubmit Comment
The story of "Stargate" has been complicated by the numerous TV shows, so much, that it may be difficult to develop a sequel to Roland Emmerich's 1994 movie that stars Kurt Russell. But Emmerich is still considering it.

"Whew, it's a tough one," Emmerich told Sci-Fi Wire. "I mean, I constantly keep talking about it with [writer] Dean [Devlin], too. I mean, we also keep talking about an 'Independence Day' sequel, but it's just such a tough thing to do these days."

Three years ago, Devlin said: "We would just continue the mythology of the movie and finish that out. When we created the original Stargate, we always envisioned it as a trilogy. We're going to try to not tread on [TV series'] stories."

For now, Emmerich is not sure how a sequel can be made and will likely never move forward with a big budget follow-up. But he hasn't completely given up hope.

Source: Sci-Fi Wire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:29:28 PM

He can talk about shutting up.
Detrimental writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:37:34 PM

Not everyone can pull a Star Trek. Stargate is going to have to accept that.
JonDrama writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:39:55 PM

2012 must be f*cking sh*t if he's talking about doing sequels to his past flicks...
He'll be going on about the Godzilla sequel next..
God help us
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:12:31 PM

@Spooky - LOL!
IRONDAN writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:13:42 PM

i love the kurt russell movie but the franchise is really the tv shows now they missed the chance to make a movie... they even use the same characters as the show.... but they add a L or something like that...

it would never work
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:20:31 PM

Is it me or is Emmerich just bloody fing every where his like a Twilight fan, for bleeding sakes.

His announced 4 projects in one week, this guy is stoopid.

The shakespeare one
Independence Day 2
Stargate 2
&
worse of all he wants to touch Assimov's Foundation saga....

Roland Emmerich GTFO
Ari Gold writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:11:33 PM

Well put spook.
JaCKsWaS7eDL1Fe writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:32:07 PM

lol godzilla set itself up for a sequel....i like how he said its so tough...since hollywood is so against sequels.

tell ya what california, fly me out there, give me some money, ill take much less than these idiots...and ill give u a dozen original scripts in a year or two
Mudders writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 12:56:04 AM

its a bit late now...the tv shows have taken it to a different level and time has taken its toll on this sequel...be good to see Spader and Russell reprise their roles,but cant see this moving on any further
kmccarney88 writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 1:21:27 AM

Actually, Stargate is something I would really like to see get a sequel but I wouldn't want Ronald Emmerich to be the one to direct it. The guy is not a very talented director, he does carnage, mass hysteria, large scale destruction and end of the world scenarios quite well, but thats about it.
I would really like to see a more talented director take this franchise and give it a slightly fresh spin, while still staying true to the original. My personal choice would be Gore Verbinski....
Why? Mainly because his visual style is amazing, he's already proved he can do big blockbusters well as long as there is a good story and we haven't seen him tackle something like this in the sci-fi genre before. Plus, his schedule supposedly just opened up because he is not doing Bioshock or Pirates 4 anymore.

Give Independence Day 2 to Emmerich but give Stargate 2 to someone else. I wonder if they would want Kurt Russell to come back? I personally think that would be a bit much, but who know?

Oh and lastly, forget about the stupid f*ckin tv show, talk about a waste of time. If they end up making a sequel it should be based off of the original movie's mythology only.

I guess only time will tell with this one.
lost_addict writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 10:50:14 AM

wow!!!would that be the first acting gig for the fag from 'crying game' since stargate 1?
rabid writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 1:46:38 PM

The new Stargate tv series SGU is actually pretty good. They squeezed all the cheesiness out of it, and it's pretty grim.
Rich k writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 4:03:09 PM

a sequel to this movie would be cool, but it is basically impossible to make a sequel, the alien dies the thing blew up, just impossilbe. sorry if i ruined the movie for some people.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved