WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sam Raimi on the Villains in "Spider-Man 4"

Posted: October 13th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sam Raimi on the Villains in "Spider-Man 4"Submit Comment
MTV News caught up with director Sam Raimi to talk about the villains fans can expect to appear in his upcoming fourth "Spider-Man" movie, which will go in front of the cameras in March.

He started off by saying that he can't reveal much, but was interested in finding out what villains the fans would want to see. The site mentioned the Lizard and Carnage. "I love the Lizard," replied Raimi. "There's a great story there in the Marvel comic books about Dr. Connors. I'm less familiar with Carnage."

Raimi went on to say that screenwriter Gary Ross is still working on the script and that the choice of villain will come down to which character is the most appropriate for Peter Parker's growth.

"What we're trying to do right now is really understand the journey Peter is going to go on this time and have the villain maybe be a counter to that growth, something that he has to overcome," he said. "Or maybe he has to grow in a way to overcome the villain. We're trying this right now; we're trying to choose a villain based on who would be the proper counter to that growth, so we really have dramatic conflict."

Click here to read more about "Spider-Man 4."

Source: MTV News

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 5:23:39 AM

I'd love to see a studio with the balls to just ignore a movie and remake Spider-Man 3...just like totally throw the print out from there vault and start over...
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 5:34:36 AM

Lizard, and get the actor who plays Conners to play the Lizard. I think the actor has earned the right!
VDODSON writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:12:06 AM

Carnage would be too much for Spidey to handle, he had a hard enough time with Venom.
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:44:57 AM

Mary Jane is too much for Spiderman to handle.
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:45:45 AM

Make the villain The Lizard all fricken ready! Dr. Connor has been around since the first Spidey movie for God's sake!
johnny_boy writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:55:54 AM

lizards in it.what better to counter his growth as a person than a good friend who is stuck turning into a lizard.the lizard is long over-due and can be done so good with creepy elements coming from raimi. just no carnage. if raimi aint familiar with the villain,cut him out.we don't want venom happening all oved again.
vwkombi writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:43:30 AM

God i hope he simply just does The Lizard this time.

Then i hope he puts him in the movie.
thedotsays writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:49:54 AM

I say go with Lizard and if he can pull it off, let Campbell try to buff up for Kraven. Or if he can't Mysterio.
dissident187 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:56:03 AM

Morbius. Spiderman does need a sci-fi/supernatural feel.
whoever writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 8:01:32 AM

If you have Morbius you also need Blade to make an appearance!!!
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 8:36:53 AM

Under his criteria Carnage & The Lizard make sense. Unless the go with the Vulture trying to marry Aunt May. LOL. Personally pick one villain and go from there. But yeah, isn't The Lizard up next to bat considering all the cameos?
Peter Parker writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 8:39:24 AM

The Kingpin!!!!
warlord writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 9:31:24 AM

it should have kraven the hunter two
KindredMac writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 9:54:49 AM

I'm getting a little sick of how every villain seems to be a friend of Parker's before becoming a villain... That said though I think Lizard should be up to bat next. However wouldn't a Kraven played by Mickey Rourke be bad-ass on screen???
scarface85 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 9:58:52 AM

yeah remake spd3
lost_addict writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:06:38 AM

so will peter finally get laid in this sequel?
bluemeenie writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:16:49 AM

I said this exact same thing about a year ago- I know how Rami thinks- and what he likes about Spidey's character. Lizard is perfect villian that dealt with changing or altering who you are. He's tried to get rid of the suit- not being Spidey- if he was able to change into a tougher Spidey or not a Spidey at all any longer- through chemistry...Remember when Peter Parker used to be into chemistry??? The Lizard is great for that. He was trying to regrow his arm...Spidey's conflict of course could conincide with MJ- either wanting him to be stronger for her and marry her- or not Spidey any longer and marry her.
Rami should forget the whole film though- if there's not a wedding in it somehow.
Horsemoney5 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:24:34 AM

Dr. Connors is a great choice he has been in all three movies and if he turns on parker it would be a good spin ... carnage will fail like venom kinda did!
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:43:41 AM

For bloody hell sake, why don't these bums just admit that the bloody villains are

Lizard & Roderick Kingsley

jeez, those are the official villains, according to the 41page 2nd screenplay redraft by David Lindsey Abataire.

Raimi just stop dragging this crap on.

anyone wants to read the 41 page draft send me an email at
IRONDAN writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:45:13 AM

as long as there is one villain we... the last one had to much. maybe start the movie with him finishing off a "mission fighting off a villain like shocker or rhino (a villain with a cool power but i sh*tty storyline for a good action scene) just to show that spider-man has been busy and then work in the origin of the lizard keep it simple and for god sake make this one fun and exciting and not long and goofy like the last one
GreenEggsandHamit writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 11:27:21 AM

Lizard all the way! Besides isn't Dr. Connors appeared in all the movies? Maybe bruce Campbell could return as Ash and Kill Everybody...starting with Dunst...Groovy...
NatG83 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 11:29:44 AM

Like many others whom have posted, I've been patiently waiting for Dylan Baker to get the chance to transform Connors into Lizard. I think the Carnage story arc would take at least two movies. They need to build another Venom (Connors still has part of the alien from the third film) for that story. Also, I think this movie is really going to be the foundation to whether or not the series will continue to succeed. Frankly, if we get another Spiderman 3, I'm going to lose interest.
Snarebeast writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 12:54:49 PM

You know, I don't think I'd want be a friend, acquaintance, lab partner...actually I don't think I'd want to know Peter Parker at all because I know at some point I'm going to have a horrible accident and I'll turn into a villain. For a minute I thought that Sandman was the exception but they even altered that for the movie.

If they're going to keep with that pattern then they might as well do the Lizard. The poor guy has been waiting for his chance.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 12:54:57 PM

carnage could be brought in....that's where venom could team up with spidey....there's really no skill involved in thinking and imagining all of that the right way...but to stay on the safe side...lizard would need the time and concentration the most...better yet, if venom is to be brought in to help spidey fight carnage, recast venom...but if i had it my way, i'd save venom and carnage for the 5th spiderman...4th should only have lizard
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 1:27:11 PM

@ Synthetic

I doubt they are bringing Venom back, they can easily introduce Carnage, via the symbiote sample, if at some point it also blends with Peter Parker / Spiderman's blood via a fight in the lab with Lizard which leads to the sewers.
Then the blood merge could explain why Carnage is red, because he has parts of Spideys DNA.

But i reckon Venom is dead he ain't coming back and its highly unlikely the spin-off will get off the ground, just like the Silver Surfer movie
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 1:41:48 PM

well whatever the case....that picture of spidey fighting the lizard looks pretty grand...if raimi can't pull off that same disturbing look...i'd be more than disappointed...if somebody better than topher grace was cast for venom, as well as making venom look 3 or 4 times bigger than spiderman's build, as well as not making peter parker have emo hair when the venom was on him, spiderman 3 wouldn't have been as terrible....at least we know that raimi and fans would love to see lizard...so that gives me a glimpse that spiderman 4 will be a whole lot better than 3
rabid writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 1:56:26 PM

Carnage was a worthless throw away villain. Just focus on the Lizard and Kraven, Sam Raimi. No more symbiote crap.
J.A.Ottley writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 1:57:43 PM

True that pic is pretty grand i agree.

The 2nd scrpt draft to Spidey 4 was awful the dialogue was quite cheesy.
But hopefully Gary Ross can change that, since it wasn't completed.

Also we need to remember this Spidey is going to have a follow-up sequel since James Vanderbilt's story spans for 2 films.

A nice one would be Lizard for this one with the rise of Roderick Kingsley for Spidey 4.

Then for Spidey 5, the fall of Roderick Kingsley and the coming of HobGoblin with another villain maybe Mysterio or Carnage.

2 movies give lots of room for development with these characters.

Spidey 3 was only a major disappointment because Venom was brought in the last few drafts, he was never meant to be in 3, it was just meant to be the symbiote and then Venom for Spidey 4, but fan outcry and producer demands called for Venom, henceforth his little screentime.
Peter Parker writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 2:31:48 PM

@J.A.Ottley: Great additions to the debate.
I personally think he dropped the ball with Spider-Man 3 because the audience was forced to settle for little. Sam Raimi had so much he could have done with SM3, with the story and the villains, that it's inevitable to wonder how much better the movie could have been if he had done a better job.
the_chosen_one writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 4:04:38 PM

I've always been a huge Spidey fan, but 3 was terrible. Find a way to bring Venom back. Other than that, Lizard, Mysterio, or maybe even Shocker might be cool. Carnage would be great if the movies weren't so kid-friendly, they wouldn't be able to do him any justice.
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 4:27:38 PM

@the_chosen_one - nice post. See... that's what I like about comics... they're timeless. If your age is correct in your profile (mine isn't on mine... don't know how it got to be that... it just is), it's nice to see younger people embrace the same characters: superheros and villains that I did (100 years ago). It's nice you sited The Lizard and Mysterio as villains see (I agree). Some would figure younger people would want to see the newer baddies. Nice to see comics do what they do best... and stay timeless (in some regards).
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 6:00:51 PM

on October 13th, 2009 at 8:24:15 PM

on October 13th, 2009 at 8:44:04 PM

everyone knows the spidey legend every film thus far has began SLOW..how did spidey 2 begin?..peter parker delivering a pizza. dumb.dull. this is spider friggin man!!!!

THIS TIME..begin spidy 4 with a 10 minute bond-like pre-opening credit adventure...i say a knock down dragout battle w/ spidey agianst THE RHINO and THE VULTURE..which would wrap up what ever story that was..w/ spidey victorious in the end. then the opening credits.

THE VILLIANS: for spidey 4 should NOT be carnage or the lizard. i mean what is carnage? a red venom. and what is the lizard? a velociraptor in a lab jacket..we've all seen jurassic park..nothing new there.

I SAY: have spidey in a situation where he needs the help of a guest superhero. i mean this is the stuff we wanna see..we wanna see superheros ..superpower..supervillians.

MARY JANE: we don't care about her. kirsten dunst ain't even worth fighting over. if she is a part of this movie. pls recast her.

THE TITLE: spider-man 4 is dull. THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN. now that's a title!!

eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 9:30:36 PM

Agreed, Captian. When the first movie came out and it was just named "Spider-man", I hoped that the sequels would follow the titles of the comics, ie: "The Amazing", The Spectacular", "Web Of", "The Sensational", etc. Much better than just throwing a number up there. I also agree with everybody that wants Raimi to cut out all the bullsh*t this time around. No pizza delivering, no crazy yet kindhearted Russian slumlord, and for the love of all things holy, no f*cking song and dance numbers from PP and MJ! And how old is Tobey Maguire now anyways? He's 34 now and 36 when part 4 comes out and he'll still be playing a 20 year old. Please, please, please, finish this series and let's get on with a new one. Raimi did some great things but it's just about time to let some new blood take a stab at it.
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:01:15 PM

I wouldn't mind throwing one into that kind, lean, Landlord's daughter. Kiki Drunkst walks in and catches them. Peter offers her to join in. She's give's that Princess (kick her in the c*nt) look she has... Peter tells her to f*ck off... he webs up the Landlord's daughter to the ceiling... then out come the candles and hot wax!

That_Genius writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:41:37 PM

See they messed up why'd they kill off Venom like what the hell was that...they could have followed the storyline of the comics...and had venom just be separated from his suit instead of being killed...and then they could have had him sent off to Rykers and then the symbiote finds its way back to him and then Carnage comes about...that way we could have both Venom and Carnage in the movie...(except they'd have to replace Topher...although I don't think anyone would mind...)
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 10:44:38 PM

@That_Genius - good point. Just another example of how Raimi is f*cking this all up.
rabid writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 11:52:57 PM

Venom's not dead. Spidey villains never really die. Except Kraven, but that's his own fault.
Whatver they have to do to prep it, I want the Sinister Six in Spiderman 6. Have them crash Pete and MJ's wedding.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 3:55:05 AM

great idea...bring in lots of the villains like in the 90s cartoon...then crash peter parker and mj's wedding, with will ferrel as a guest wedding crasher lol
Ranger writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 5:31:07 AM

MA... THE MEATLOAF... f*ck!
telur writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 6:25:34 AM

Spider-Man 3 is like X-Men 3 or The Mummy 3
mattcl23 writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 2:52:29 PM

It has to be the lizard. They've poked at it enough. Connor's is long over due. This seems like the only logical direction to go in. JUST MAKE UP FOR SPIDEY 3!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved