WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Independence Day" Sequel Waiting for Will Smith

Posted: October 12th, 2009 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Independence Day" Sequel Waiting for Will SmithSubmit Comment
When "Independence Day" hit theaters back in 1996, it quickly became the hit of the summer, eventually grossing over $800 million in worldwide ticket sales. And even though everyone expected a sequel, it was only in 2004 that director Roland Emmerich started to consider it seriously by putting together an outline for a script.

20th Century Fox kept being patient, stating that they're more than happy to develop the second installment if Emmerich was on board. So now that Emmerich is promoting "2012," LatinoReview had the chance to find out about "Independence Day 2."

"[Writer] Dean Devlin and I are still set to make a sequel, likely because we've found some sort of idea and we approached Fox and Fox has not quite figured out how to incorporate Dean's and my deal, and Will (Smith's) deal," said Emmerich. "Will wants to do it in some sort of a package they can live with. So it's just been in negations now since forever, and naturally Fox says 'Why don't you do it without Will Smith?' I said Will is essential for us, for this movie and actually for the audience too. And, so, it's in limbo and lately the studios are fighting. Like gross players, and Will is a gross player and is probably the only gross player right now who's worth his gross. So we'll see what happens. I would love to do it."

Emmerich added that he is ready to go as soon as all the legal stuff is worked out and confirmed that he has a story. "Oh yeah! There's a story. There's a very really good great story, a very cool one."

Source: LatinoReview


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KalVicious writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 6:39:15 PM

They also need Jeff Goldblum, and maybe Bill Pullman.
masKritic writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 6:42:01 PM

You NEED Goldblum and Pullman.
OneTime writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 6:46:06 PM

will smith wont do this.
Barney Stinson writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 6:49:47 PM

You definitely need Smith, Goldblum, and Pullman. I absolutely love Independence Day. Of course it's a not an amazing movie but I can watch it over and over again.
matternm58 writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 6:55:59 PM

Maybe Pullman as a cameo or as a senator or something he obviously can't be a president for 13 years. lol
Ranger writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 7:13:42 PM

f*ck waiting for Will. I'll do it!

Oh, and Beyonce gave Rob Patz. and Efron AIDS.

bale01289 writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 7:28:15 PM

I say f*ck Goldblum, Pullman, and Big Willie....let's get back Randy Quaid! Find out that he actually didn't die, got abducted and raped for 15yrs, now he's back and ready to kick some ass and take names!
Ranger writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 7:29:03 PM

But... he has to wear diapers because the ass-raping was extensive.
bale01289 writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 7:38:18 PM

Sad thing about our comments is that it is more original than anything Hollywood has come up with in the past 5 years. We should be paid!
Peter Parker writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 8:20:33 PM

There goes the White House again...
DoucheNozzle writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 8:23:51 PM

Hmmm, go do BB 3 first, Will. I guess it would be okay to get a sequel, but how can they top the f*cking White House being blown to pieces? Ah well, that's Hollywood for ya...
nope.com writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 8:40:06 PM

as long as I get more "welcome to Earth" then knocking an alien out I'm all for it
JonDrama writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 9:40:43 PM

Yea, they better have Goldblum...
I say do the entire flick with goldblum, pullman, Adam Baldwin and Judd Hirsch... blowing up sh*t whilst smoking cigars.. cameo from big willie, with quaid back from the dead..
also Vivica A. Fox as a full blown prostitute this time while her son turned out to be a crack dealer...
otis writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 10:23:32 PM

I don't see why Goldblum would have any problem doing this. He's down to gag cameos on The Colbert Report and is desperately trying to promote his whatever role on Law and Order.
Pullman is another issue.
Ranger writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 10:36:24 PM

Pullman. It's not his name. It's what he does.
lost_addict writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 10:55:00 PM

drop pullman and goldblum...they are too old,bring some fresh meat and new aliens
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 11:08:54 PM

What f*ck Jeff Goldblum man...nah i kid

Seriously as a young kids i used to have action figures frok this movie, i had the fighter jet, alien ship, two aliens, Pullman, goldbluma nd smith action figures. thats right goldblum ahd an action figure, go figure

Hope the story is that they come back to just to f*ck up the earth one more time!
Ranger writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 11:26:44 PM

As I remember the end of the first one was that there wasn't much Earth left to save. So... ummm, what do they plan to defend this next time around... Lohan's wrists?
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on October 12th, 2009 at 11:52:40 PM

Great, I can't get ENOUGH of Emmerich's anti-american movies!
IRONDAN writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 12:13:16 AM

I hope the movie stays on earth and isn't a mission to go find there planet and blow sh*t up there.... or give there computers more viruses or whatever
Mudders writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 12:29:18 AM

I HOPE THIS HAPPENS...THE CGI WILL BE TEN TIMES BETTER...HOPE THE ALIENS WIN
TeemSelami writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 12:29:54 AM

QUAID?
lokopr writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 1:05:40 AM

i hope he doesnt kill the movie with the cgi =/
telur writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 1:24:51 AM

Boring news. It not gonna happen.
Ted Mosby writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 3:04:21 AM

Goldblum and WILL ... or no go
Jensama writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 3:11:08 AM

Oh yeah. Finally some good sh*t.
Fabian writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 3:15:57 AM

I agree, Smith and Goldbloom are essential. How about Vivica Fox? :P
thedotsays writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:47:15 AM

For Fox to say "Why don't you do it without Smith?" speaks volumes to how f*cking stupid they are. Why wouldn't you? Smith is pure box office summer blockbuster gold.
Johnny Neat writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 8:34:26 AM

Oh dear god no!!!!!
Charlie9 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 9:07:21 AM

Fox looked like a bit of a fatty recently on curb, and Hollywood won't employ a fatty as the lead lady. I'm up for the film as long as it's as cheesy as the first. And while they're at it, why not Con Air 2??
warlord writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 9:36:02 AM

will smith is a cinima c*ck block
KindredMac writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 11:21:41 AM

The story was written a loooooong time ago. It goes that while we are trying to rebuild the Earth, that there were more ships on their way through our solar system at the time of the ending of the first film. They send ground forces down to ferret out the survivors and decimate anything that is left.

I could see Pullman still being President. Why not? All forms of government as we knew it were gone at that point. So why not let the man in charge of the greatest offensive of the battle stay in charge until everything is rebuilt? Smith could then play the head of the new global military that has been working on creating hybrid technology with Goldblum to be ready for another wave of attacks.
synthetic1985 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 1:16:23 PM

'very really good great story, a very cool one'...not as cool as the 1st...simple as that
LastActionHero writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 2:01:27 PM

Smith will probably demand that his stupid kid stars in the movie.
tolgaboy writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 4:51:58 PM

hope so
JD92 writes:
on October 13th, 2009 at 7:40:35 PM

Really hope this happens, Independence Day has been one of my fav's for a long time now.
Ranger writes:
on October 14th, 2009 at 5:37:35 AM

Sure. But what would be the story? Earth was pretty much laid to waste by the end of the first one.
KalVicious writes:
on October 15th, 2009 at 2:35:20 PM

Well, Hollywood did bring "The Dark Knight", which was pretty original, I think. :)

Anyways, the Aliens should win in this one, and bring on "Independence Day 3". It all depends on the writing, though, of course.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved